Reviews

Westerner 2 Plus

(47)
Average Rating:
5 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 11-20 of 47 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Westerner 2 BLT 6 july to 19 july

Reviewed April 2016

Westerner 2 BLT 6 july to 19 july

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Four months on and I'm nowhere near over it...

Reviewed January 2016

Going to America had always been a dream of mine. I had first heard of Trek America four years ago whilst at Univeristy. It took me four years to pluck up the courage to book this trek...and I'm so glad I finally did! It's honestly hands down one of the best things I've ever done.

If you're worried about travelling alone, don't be! I heard the expression 'Trek Family' on forums & social media before I went and didn't really get it. However at the end of our trek we really did feel like a family, and we have had reunions since we have arrived home.

Accommodation was not budget in the slightest! I'm a bit of a snob when it comes to travelling, and having never stayed at a hostel before this was something I was really nervous about. We stayed in just two hostels during the trek and both were so much better than what I was expecting! The hotels were top standard too...especially the Golden Nugget in Vegas!!

The trek itself has a great balance of cities/partying and nature. I've ticked SO many things off my bucket list during this trek. This was mainly due to our amazing tour leader, Kayla. She did everything she could to make the trek a trip of a lifetime and for that I will always be so grateful.

In summary, if you are reading this and thinking "should I? shouldn't I?"...just go for it!! You will not regret it! Four months on and I'm still nowhere near getting over this Trek... and in all honesty I don't think I ever will be!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

A real eye opener and amazing trip!

Reviewed July 2015

Don't be fooled into thinking this is your typical holiday trip as there is nothing relaxing about this particular trek. However, you will see the most amazing sights, meet the most amazing people and experience the most amazing times of your life all in two weeks! It's all worth it.

My best friend and I were fortunate enough to have an amazing group of trekkers and the best trek leader (Rachel) which made the trek completely enjoyable, but remember this is completely a luck of the draw element to the Trek America experience. But for me this added to the excitement previous to us starting the trek.

Best parts of the trek for me personally were the surprisingly nice hotels after staying in a few crazy hostels, its all part of the fun!
Worst parts of the trek were the long hours in the van - nobody seems to mention these before you book the trek which seems weird to me as they are a massive part of the trip. They are long and hard but you bond with your fellow trekkers and learn to get on with it. WIFI in the van however needs to be improved as some people use it ALOT more than others.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

So many memories, I want more!!

Reviewed June 2015

This trip was one of th best choices I've ever made. I got to visit so many places I wanted to visit even though I wanted more time in some places (San Fransico) I still got to see lots and was left feeling happy. My most memorable experience will always be walking into the Grand Canyon. Me and one other walked down to Plateau Point which was a 10 hour round trip. I would suggest starting early like we did at 5am as it got soo hot in the afternoon by the time we'd started to walk up the canyon. It's was very challenging but amazing when I look back on it.

There was different choices of activities for everyone and we were all happy with our choices. The hostels/hotels were in great locations to do actives in the day and evening. The hotel in Vegas (golden nugget) wasn't on the strip so we had to get taxis but was nice seeing both sides of Vegas (especially since I turned 21 in Vegas!!). All my group got on great and I felt like I'd known them all for ages and were planning a holiday together this year for anyone who is scared to go on there own. The vans are really cosy with space to move around. Our tour leader Laura was amazing. She had so much knowledge and got involved with us when we went out. Would recommend her to anyone!

But for anyone who is scared to go on their own don't be! Because your together so often you become like family and everyone is so different. If your considering booking this trip DO IT!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Incredible 2 weeks

Reviewed April 2015

Got back from the most amazing trip last week, and wishing i was still there, i really didnt want to leave. For years i wanted to travel the west coast, and i wasn't disappointed, just not sure why i waited so long!!
A met a great group of people and had a fab tour leader in Brian, definitely recommend an organised trip like this as you go places you wouldnt do on your own. We had a group of 12 - 7 girls and 5 boys, with people from the UK, Ireland, Germany, Belgium and China.
It does say budget lodging, but i was pleasantly surprised, the hotels in Laughlin and Vegas were actually amazing casino hotels! Apart from the hostels, i did share a double room with the same person - we got on really well so was nice to feel comfortable every night after a long day!

So the tour, 2 action packed weeks!
Day 1&2 In San Diego definitely try the local food - we had the fish tacos!! Also look out for Ghiridelli's - best ice cream parlour you'll ever try! On our free day there is plenty to do - I went to the Zoo and Balboa park, then headed to Coronado island ( a must). At night took in the sights of the Gaslamp district, which we stayed in the heart of.

Day 3- Headed to Salvation Mountain, a weird little place in the middle of nowhere, then went for a swim in the Colorado River, and had dinner in Lake Havasu City. Final destination of the day was Laughlin - if you want to gamble, gamble here, a lot cheaper than Vegas. The hotel we stayed in was part of the Casino, so have a dabble :)

Day 4&5 Grand Canyon - a breathtaking sight, you'll never see anything like it. I didnt do the helicopter ride at $279 was a bit much for me, and i have bad travel sickness!! But the view we had on the edge of the Canyon watching the sun go down was pretty special.
The hike the next day was soo tough - i'm not much of a hiker but i did manage a full trail with a crazy incline - the altitude drop was something i wasn't expecting, made it even more difficult. Was a proud moment when you get back to the rim - 5 of the girls stuck together, and everyone on the trail was so encouraging it gets you through. Glad i didn't wear good clothes, the grand canyon dust gets everywear!!

Day 6&7 Time for Vegas. Brian took us down the Strip and then on to a Thrift store - an american must (apparently!). We were staying in Downtown Las Vegas, Fremont Street and the Container Park which i thought was actually cooler than the Strip. The party bus was everything i expected taking in a few Las Vegas must's (wont spoil the surprise).
On our free day some of us went to shoot some guns- very mental, but so glad i did it. The during the day we did some hotel hopping - its insane to think they are hotels! We managed to catch the Bellagio fountains when they started at 3pm, catching the national anthem and Time to say goodbye- goosebumps. At night just spent some more time by the hotel in Fremont Street. Would have like to have seen a show tho.

Day 8 &9 - After a long drive day we reached Yosemite (actually wasnt too bad- Brian kept it entertaining). Yosemite was really pretty and was cool to see a waterfall, but wasn't feeling the trek that day!!

Day 10&11 San Fran - Dont think we could have been luckier with the weather- we had glorious weather with clear skies and warm. Amazing views as we walked over the Grand Canyon. Alot too see in this city, couldnt fit it all in - but did manage Alcatraz, Pier 39, Cable car (soo cool) lombard street, Golden gate ark, painted ladies, mrs doubtfire's house and shopping at union square. Tired feet that day!

Day 12- Heading back down the pacific coast, some breathtaking sights as you travel down highway 1. Look out for the sea lions. We stopped in a cool little place - San Luiz Obispo for the night. Ended the evening in at hot tub in the hotel.

Day 13- Further down the coast - taking in Santa Barbara, and enjoy some sun bathing on the beach, nice to relax after being on the go so much. Celebrated our last night together with a BBQ on the beach at sunset, then a few drinks in the local bars.

Day 14 LA- Made our tour leader Brian take us down the coast via Malibu. Then we had a quick look around Hollywood, and pictures with the Hollywood, before finishing off the tour on the beach at Venice and Santa Monica. We even got to see a music video being filmed.

Saying bye to everyone was really tough, after being so used to being around them for 2 weeks, but we were already talking of a reunion. Anyone who books this tour will have a fab time, and i'm so jealous of you. I was nervous when i booked, but when you start to find out who's going on your trip, you'll definitely be more excited than nervous! I cant wait to book my next one

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

best adventure ive been on, truly awesome

Reviewed October 2014

best 2 weeks of my life. the national parks Yosemite and Grand Canyon were my fav. Vegas didnt disapoint either along with San Diego and San Fran. holiday went 2 fast but always does when you have a good time. if you are thinking about this trip, go and see for yourself, trip of a lifetime as they say. id also like to say huge thanks to Jeremy are trek leader who made this trek possible.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

An amazing experience!

Reviewed October 2014

If you are debating whether or not to go on this trek just do it!! I loved every minute of it, so much to see and do crammed into a short space of time, would have loved to have longer and if you can do! Was gutted to leave but wasn't able to take longer off work.
There is plenty of travel time, but when you get to the end of he journey it is worth very minute of it!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Simply amazing, highly recommended!!!

Reviewed October 2014

Having never done a trek before I was very nervous on landing into LAX the day before the trek. After a couple of hours into the start the following day I don't know why I was even slightly worried! We had an amazing bunch of people and a brilliant Trek leader in Fiona. The whole two weeks was such an awesome experience giving a perfect flavour of each place we visited. The Grand Canyon and Yosemite were the highlights for me but San Francisco and Las Vegas were also brilliant in completely different ways. If you are even slightly considering this trek, book it right now, you will not regret it!! Am already planning to do another trek as a result of this one!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Action packed picturesque adventure.

Reviewed October 2014

14 days of incredible views, activities and food!
I did a variety of once in a life time activities - from shooting in Vegas to a helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon. This trip was indescribable and incredible, you have to experience it to believe it!
Go see the West coast in all its glory. You will not be sorry.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

The best trip ever: one thousand things to experience and remember forever!

Reviewed August 2014

What a memorable experience!!!
Who knew that California is so versatile and has such scenic roads?!
I saw a bears, wales, dolphins, a bob cat, deer, chipmunks, seals - animals which I had only seen at the zoo so far! It was great to get the chance to travel some of the most famous cities in just two weeks. Our leader was lovely and even organised wine tasting for us.
I have really fallen in love with California and will probably travel back there next year. I am also considering the Southerner BLT...decisions, decisions!

Loading search bar...