Reviews

Southern BLT from New York

(36)
Average Rating:
4.6 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 21-30 of 36 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

Definitely Worth It!

Reviewed August 2013

I did the Cross Country BLT recently and I have to say it was one of the most enjoyable trips I've taken. The accommodation was good, the group size, only 10, was much better than some of the other tours I've been on with 20 odd passengers. The pace was busy but not so fast as to feel rushed.
I would definitely be interested to revisit some of the please we went to, in particular New York, New Orleans. I'm also keen to do some of the other cities in the US.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

Best 2 weeks ever!

Reviewed July 2013

What amazing value for money! You get to see so so much, it's the perfect way to see America (well some of it anyway). This trip is very flexible, lots of free time to explore, and lots of activities to do. My highlight was the Jeep Tour at Monument Valley. Lots of activities which aren't listed are possible too, for instance we went white water rafting and there was an option to go shooting as well. We also got the options to go to an NBA game and Baseball game. Aswell as a drive in cinema.
Another thing that was really handy, especially for travellers on a budget, was that our tour guide suggested a food kitty where we all put in $80 each which provided for pack lunches and BBQ when we were staying at the cabins. This worked out to be a lot cheaper, although we did get sick of the lunch food by the last week! Although you must be prepared to spend a lot of money eating out every night. There was only two nights where we didn't. Normally the places we went were pretty reasonable, but they end adding up. And nights out were expensive too!
Although saying that, I was on a tight budget and it wasn't hard to stick too it. I probably got by on $30 a day, obviously activities were extra.
Accommodation was mostly great, some really nice hotels and motels, with the occasionally hostel and cabin. The cabins were really fun though. Bring your own sleeping bag for the cabins (or buy a cheap one out there) also stop at a walmart and buy a cheap pillow for the cabins too.
There is a lot of travelling involved, and I was a bit apprehensive about the daily trips in the van, but they were fun. Great time to bond with the group or just relax. Mornings weren't that early, normally leaving around 8:30 each morning and you got in to the routine, and when you have a two-nighter stop you get a lie in. But always make the most of the free breakfasts!
On the tour page it says hiking boots are needed for the Grand Canyon but I personally don't think this is necessary. I wore trainers and was fine!
The only negative about my tour was the Tour Leader. Unfortunately, he was just not enthusiastic and gave us very little direction for our free days, and also caused a lot of drama between the group. I think this is very rare that this happens, but it did sometimes put a downer on the trip. But the trekkies actually got on really well, and I mean, despite having a bad tour leader we still all had the best time ever!
I would seriously recommend this tour, do all the activities you can and take thousands of photos as you shall look back on those 3 weeks as an experience of a lifetime!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

Don't hesistate, it's a once in a lifetime experience

Reviewed June 2013

This trek was one of the best decisions I have ever made.

I had travelled to a couple of the destinations before and am also only 19 so I was originally apprehensive, however once I joined Trek Live and met the other girls I was so excited.

There were six of us, all girls ranging over a span of ages. We started in New York and travelled through so many destinations (looking back I'm overwhelmed by everything we fitted in to such a short space of time!) to LA.

Our tour guide was called Tyler and I couldn't have asked for anything more in a leader. His knowledge on the places we visited and American history was second to none and his lively personality always meant that we were having fun. If ever there was a problem or we had to quickly change our plans he was able to give us alternatives and ensure that we had the best experience of our lives.

The bus was lovely and spacious and we constantly stopped off at other places whilst driving to break up the day and see even more of the US.

I would highly recommend saving up for the optional activities (Grand Canyon Helicopter Ride, Navajo Jeep Tour, Vegas Party Bus, Museums, etc) as they were all incredible and some of the greatest highlights of my tour.

The accommodation consisted of hotels, motels and caverns. The evening in Carlsbad was amazing- we made a campfire, had a BBQ, made smores and really bonded. There were laundry facilities and swimming pools at a lot of the places we stayed.

One really good thing about this tour is the fact that we weren't camping so we usually went out for dinner time, which gave us the opportunity to eat really good food! The southern fried chicken in Memphis was the best! We chose to put into a food kitty which provided our lunches on the tour- we bought loads of fruit, wraps, bagels, crisps and snacks! It was a good idea as we ended up saving lots of money and ate fairly healthily while on the road.

Every place on the tour is so different and you really will have such a good time! I won't explain all the different places because they were all so incredible and you have to experience it for yourself!

The girls and I talk every day and we have already started planning a meet up for the end of the summer back in the UK. We're friends for life. I think no matter who is on your tour you'll get on with them because you've chosen the same tour at the same time of year and you experience so many things together. We all keep in contact with Tyler too via facebook and look back and laugh at all of our photos and videos!

I booked this trip on a whim in my gap year and it was the best decision I've made and worth every single penny (or cent!). The places vary so greatly, the tour leaders are fantastic and you will honestly have some of the best weeks in your entire life.

I wish I could explain how much fun I had on this trip- just remember: age doesn't matter! (most of the time- there were less than a handful of places that the underagers couldn't go while on the trek).

Book it because you won't be disappointed and you'll have friends and memories for life. I'm already looking into my next trek with the company because it was flawless from my first booking to my plane journey home and I had a great time.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

Amazing book it now

Reviewed May 2013

so Almost a year after i miss this trek a lot !!! :) it was amazing the best 3 weeks of my life ! i saved up a while to go on this trip and it didn't disappoint i hope to go on another trek at some point !!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

Most amazing experience of my life!

Reviewed May 2013

The Cross Country BLT was the most amazing trip, well worth the money! We travelled from New York area (although sadly didn't get to see New York) to LA. We saw so many places in between that I never thought I'd see in my lifetime: Nashville, Memphis, New Orleans, Texas... We did so many optional activities that were well worth the extra money you had to pay for example party bus in Vegas, swamp tour in Louisiana, drive in movie theatre, baseball game and Navajo jeep tour. We were a group of 6 girls and we bonded so well we were like a little family, and our tour leader Tyler was like our big brother! Tyler was an amazing tour leader we couldn't have asked for anyone better. We've all made friends for life and memories that will last forever! I'm already planning on doing another trek in the future hopefully it'll live up to this one!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

Amazing Experience, Really Recommend!

Reviewed May 2013

This is a fantastic Trek, heavily recommended for seeing a great part of America. There was only 6 of us in our group which was really nice and cosy. The accommodation was great, except one hostel, apart form that no problem. We had to change tour leaders because the first tour leader had to leave half way through but was interesting getting 2 different points of view of America. It was also a nice experience to sleep in cabins (twice on trip), we had to do our own cooking and cleaning, which was a nice taster of what the camping treks are like. It's cool when we had free days too to do what we wish. We kept bumping into other Trek groups around the country which was fun. I would certainly recommend the helicopter flight across the Grand Canyon, it was awesome! Traveling's addictive, am planning my next one for the same year!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

Epic Adventure.

Reviewed December 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experiance the only negatives were that the 3 weeks flew by really fast and i was the only guy in the group. Our Trek leader Mandy was a good laugh and really added to the experiance. Would 100% reccomend this tour to anyone thinking of giving it a go.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

Non-Stop, Fun , Cultural

Reviewed December 2012

Was Really Really Great fun, There was so much to do every single day, 3 weeks went by so quickly and we visited so many fun places. The only negative I can suggest is perhaps charge a little more money and cut out the kabins in Texas and New mexico as they wern't as fun . Other than that it was all great

Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

A must do, amazing way to see the USA!

Reviewed December 2012

This was my first trek and I cannot even put into words how amazing this experience was! I have only previously been to Florida, but by getting the chance to visit many places across the USA, it showed me how different historically and culturally each place is from one another. You learn so much about each place you visit and I guarantee you will have countless unforgettable memories throughout your trip. You also meet some great people; most of whom I still keep in contact with to this day.
My tour leader was an extremely awesome guy, who put 110% effort into making our trip perfect. For example, our group was hoping to catch a baseball game whilst on our travels and our tour leader made this happen – Washington Nationals VS LA Dodgers was a night I will never forget! There is so much to do and see, this trip will not disappoint anyone, no matter how different your interests are to the others in your group.
Although there is a lot of travelling involved, our journeys were made much more fun by socialising with other group members, having a sing-a-long and even the odd bit of dancing! The accommodation throughout the trip is very good standard for budget lodging, clean, safe and comfortable!
Some of the amazing places you get to visit on this trip include Washington DC, New Orleans, Texas, Monument Valley, Grand Canyon, Vegas and the list continues!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern BLT from New York

Totally fantastic - perfect trip.

Reviewed December 2012

Words can't describe it - the best time I've ever had. Already planning my next one. Everything is taken care of for you, the guide was fantastic and helpful and every place we stopped at was interesting and enjoyable. Thank you Trek!!

Loading search bar...