Reviews

Westerner 3

(39)
Average Rating:
4.7 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 21-30 of 39 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Awesome trip, great people, great places

Reviewed August 2014

Really good trip, nice ballance with not too much driving and a good itinary, get to see lots of places and do loads of stuff.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Best of the bests: places, people, cities

Reviewed July 2014

3 weeks passed so fast although it was full of amazing experiences!!
We have visited so many beautiful national parks, went on great hikes, played and talked around the campfire every night, had a house party, went to a baseball match... basically the list of experiences is endless :)
I went alone however, right after the first day I felt like being with a big family where everyone was nice!!
I really recommend this trip! If I had to opportunity to go tomorrow again, I wouldn't think about it...

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Celery takes more energy to burn then it gives off !!!!

Reviewed November 2013

My Trek was incredible from the very first moment i met my room and tent mate at the Hacienda Hotel.... i will add that he arrived at 9.30pm whilst i was sleeping and i opened the door to him just in my boxers... what a way to start off !!!

From start to finish this trek was amazing we had such a mixture of people with different backgrounds and loads of different stories to share and we all got on like a Tent on fire ;) from the very beginning.

There was a new saying or catch phrase everyday hence my summary of the trip and on big highlight is when our Swiss girl Michele called the van a wan and we all song along to "we all live in a big white wan a big white wan a big white wan" and there was many more so seeing as this is a review i won't carry on :)

At the start of the trip i was looking forward to the cities such as Las Vegas, San Diego & San Francisco and they certainly delivered, but what i wasn't expecting is how blown away i would be with all the National Parks and there Beauty and each and everyone of them was unique ..... Canyonland for example the rocks at times looked like mushrooms from Super Mario and i was just expecting him to pop along any minute..... and it was here where we stopped and had lunch and in the distance was our view of the Rocky Mountains, it was so surreal i had to pinch myself and it just seemed to get better with the fantastic view at Zion Angels Landing, Dancing with the Navajo's at Monument Valley to the breathtaking scenery at Yosemite.

This was truly a trip to remember where i saw so much and meet many great people i will stay friends with for the rest of my life. I am certainly going to be booking a trek in the near future and i extremely recommend that you do to

Much Love Jake x

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Another trip, another great time!

Reviewed October 2013

This was my second trip with Trek America, my previous being more city based starting in NY, looping into Canada and coming back down the coast. This trek was quite different, with more of a focus on national parks and rural areas but was certainly no less enjoyable.

The scenery is truly stunning and unique and (despite the governments claim to keeping the areas very natural) there are perfectly well built paths to walk on. The only particularly difficult part to the hiking would be from the weather, where the heat certainly caused us some difficulties in the Gand Canyon for example.

There are some days when the driving was fairly long, in particular the drive from Zion to Yosemite which we called 'van appreciation day' however on the whole, and in comparisons to other trips out there, the driving was not bad. As a word of advice, if you wish to go to Alcatraz in San Francisco it's best to work this out and book tickets at, or near the start of your trip to avoid disappointment (it's perfectly possible to fit this into your time at San Fran because there isn't loads to do there).

For those of you travelling alone and perhaps anxious about travelling with strangers, then from my point of view I would say you have nothing to worry about. As I say, I've done two of these Trek's now and each time the groups have been great despite being vastly different in their composition, you'll have a great time and as they're all complete strangers, loads to talk about!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

A trip to remember!

Reviewed September 2013

When looking back to the trip, it's still hard to grasp how much I've done/experienced during these 3 weeks; simply said it's amazing! It's very hard to even list highlights as you are going from one highlight to the other and in the end it depends on you which spots/activities were the "best of the best".

Obviously I was also doubting before the trip how I gonna handle to spend 3 weeks with 12 strangers and all the camping, driving, hiking, etc...now I can say, nothing easier than that :) The people you'll meet are most likely like-minded and you'll have a super nice time with them. The camping feels natural after a few days and there's no need to be scarred of the hikes, as you can do the ones you like at your own pace!

I can just highly recommend this trip to everyone who's considering the western part of the US as worth-visiting as you'll see great cities but also stunning sceneries in the NPs

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Oh Yeah!! Best Trip Ever!!

Reviewed September 2013

As a single traveler i was slightly worried about meeting a group of strangers and traveling the west coast with them... Thankfully i booked up on this trip anyway as it changed my life for the better! because of this trip i am now addicted to travelling.

The Westerner 3 offers you so much with the all the National Parks and big cities. A huge advantage of this trip is that there isn't much driving time between the stops! (compared to the Southern Sun ect.) Which allows you to spend more time at each place to take as much in as you can.

The Views at the National Parks are unbelievable! I found it very difficult leaving places like Monument Valley, Zion NP and Yosemite NP. I could easily have spent a week in each place attempting different hikes and taking in the views.

The tour guide was excellent! Very efficient and had everything organized for us. He made the trip even better with all his local knowledge and he always knew how to make us laugh and have a good time.

Thanks Trek!!! It was brilliant :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Best Summer of My Life!!

Reviewed September 2013

I can't believe how much we did this summer, bits still keep coming back to me - taking off our blindfolds to find ourselves at the edge of the Grand Canyon, the most amazing club (pool party night!) I've ever been in in Vegas, swimming in the clear warm waters of Lake Powell at sunset, horse riding with the cowboys, mud fight in the Colorado river, some of the most awesome scenery at Bryce Canyon, and the most nerve-wracking but unbelievable trek of my life up to Angel's Landing. I had worried about all the driving but there was so much to see and talk about you didn't even notice it, I'd never camped before but I was actually sad to return to civilisation and hotels, and our trek leader made every day brilliant!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Amazing Sights, Amazing Experience!!!

Reviewed September 2013

When I booked this trek I didn't realise quite how much walking and hiking there was to be involved. Before this trip I was a) not a camper and b) definitely not one to climb mountains! I liked makeup, shopping and staying in hotels....

Well, after meeting my group (and I'm sure like me you'll be amazed at how well everyone gets on within the first 4 hours, everyone is like minded and overall excited to be there!!)
We travelled from LA to San Diego and arrived at our first camp site to build our tents...embrace the tent life, it can be a really fun experience as long as you want it to be! If I can do it, then anyone can. By night 2 putting up the tent was easy and you forget that your lying on the ground (with the aid of an inflatable mat - get one!!)

Each sight we went to, whether it be a national park like the grand canyon or a city like Las Vegas....this trip is well worth doing. The amount of walking is do-able at your own pace, with as many or little stops as you need!

Would do this trip again in a heartbeat!!

Book now!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

AWESOME AND BEST TRIP EVER !!

Reviewed August 2013

I was a little nervous before to do this trek to be the only francophon people of the group and not be able to mingle with people and to travel alone.

But I don't regret a minut to have done this trip.

All was so amazing : between the wonderful landscapes, activities in each places, freedom to plan your day sometimes, and camping life , it was so great!
I was totally disconnected from the real world and my daily life and that's what I found so nice!

Without forget my tour leader, Justin, who made us discovered some wonderful places we never heard about before the trip during a lot of hikes, sunrises and sunsets .

I recommend everyone who hesitate to do a trip with Trek America to do it, you won't regret it , I can assure you!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Packed tour with a lot of highlights of America

Reviewed August 2013

Loved the westerner 3 route- it went to some truly awe inspiring national parks which was a great contrast to the bustling cities of LA and San Francisco. Quite a lot of driving but the places you go to make it totally worth it . If you go to America you may as well spend a decent amount of time there so a 3 week tour is definitely recommended !!

Loading search bar...