Reviews

Westerner 3

(37)
Average Rating:
4.7 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 1-10 of 37 Reviews
Nicola M.
Westerner 3

EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME

Reviewed December 2017

Nothing I can say in this review can ever begin to tell you how amazing this trip truly was! From the strangers I travelled around with for 3 weeks to the phenomenal places we were lucky enough to find ourselves in, this was totally unforgettable! Drew, our trek leader, was literally the best I could have hoped for booking onto this trip, he made everything so easy for us and just made everyone so happy! Honestly have never met a more positive or enthusiastic person in my life and I’ll never forget him for making this trip so amazing! I can’t even pick a favourite place because each and every one had something totally different to offer. I have to say though the greatest feeling ever was completing the hikes, it was seeing everyone in our group make it to either the top of a mountain or the bottom of a canyon and sharing that experience with those people, it’s a feeling which can’t be compared to anything else! It’s out of this world!

JESSICA
Westerner 3

This trip will be the highlight of your travels!

Reviewed September 2017

If you're even slightly interested in seeing the West Coast's National Parks, book yourself on this trip immediately! It has such a great mix of parks, cities, and small town stop-offs along the way. Nothing felt rushed, although I could have easily spent way more time in some places, it always felt like we had a good amount of time to see not just the 'highlights' but a bit more.

The hikes were incredible, nothing can prepare you for the beauty you will see. We always had recommendations from our trip leader for which hikes were great to do in a day, which was always helpful if you weren't sure what you wanted to do.

The camping was great, tents super easy to put up/pack down. Cooking meals together and sitting around a campfire means you make better connections with the other people on your trip, instead of all disappearing into your hotel rooms.

Our trip leader Jen is the ultimate MVP. She is down to earth, helpful yet encouraged everyone to dig in and get out of their comfort zones. Special mention to the fact she drove that silly stretch of road between the Grand Canyon campground, and the helicopters, back and forth six times to make sure we made it on a flight. It must have been so frustrating but she was very upbeat and never made us feel guilty for doing so. She was always genuinely searching for ways to make our experience incredible.

BENJAMIN C.
Westerner 3

An incredible adventure that I'm so glad I did.

Reviewed September 2017

This trek had a great variety, from cities like San Francisco and Las Vegas to a variety of national parks such as Yosemite and Zion. I was new to hiking but found each hike to be an incredible experience. I saw sights that no camera would do justice for and pushed myself further than I could have imagined. Climbing Angel's Landing in Zion especially was an unforgettable moment and a real highlight of the journey. You're given free rein to explore the cities at your leisure (although you get good advice from your tour leader on where to go) and you and your trek friends will get into all kinds of adventures together. You will find yourself coming back home with a lot of stories to tell.

Our tour leader was Jen who always looked out for us and went out of her way to set up some amazing surprises for us. She was really knowledgeable and knew a lot about the history of each of our destinations. She was also really great about my allergies, whenever our group had a pizza night or ate out at a restaurant she would always make sure I had a gluten free option sorted. There were a lot of fun and interesting stops off the beaten path and we saw some incredible wildlife at all of the national parks such as chipmunks and elk (and briefly on one of the drives, a bear!)

Saying that I recommend this trip would be a huge understatement. If you're in need of an adventure this trek will not disappoint!

Becky Robinson
Westerner 3

The perfect way to see the west, stress free!

Reviewed September 2017

This was my first trek and it exceeded all expectations! Jen, our tour leader, was incredible - she did so much for us and could probably drive the van and trailer with her eyes closed if she wanted! I was amazed with every place we visited and each day got increasingly better. I made some awesome buddies from all over the world and had so much fun hiking, exploring cities, cooking and camping with them all. The time we spent at each place was just right and I felt like I got to see everything I wanted to, and more! Hiking Angel's Landing in Zion was incredible and staying in Monument Valley was a crazy experience, I would definitely do it all over again.

Jeremy Baynham
Westerner 3

Hands down the best thing I've ever done!

Reviewed September 2017

Attention anyone that is "umming & ahhhing" about doing a Trek............. do it! Hands down the best thing I've ever done. Your tour leader takes care of all the important things and leaves you to enjoy the sights, have fun and make new friends!

21 action packed days with a great mixture of cities and National Parks and each day just got better and better! Jen, my tour leader, was fantastic and did everything possible to make the Trek a memorable experience. We had lots of quirky stops while on the road breaks which helps break up the longer drives and creates many funny moments to look back at. My Trek experience was sooooo much more than what the brochure suggested and I can't wait to get back travelling with my fellow trekkers!

ROBERT S.
Westerner 3

Absolutely the best thing I've ever done. Jen is a leg-end

Reviewed September 2017

Crazy action packed 3 weeks, so much value for money. Jen deserves a fat pay rise because she is undoubtedly the best. Drove us back and forth from the helicopter centre at the Grand Canyon 6-7 times over 3 days to make sure we caught a flight up. Interesting taste in country music but can't stop listening to redneck yacht club since I've come back. Coincidentally I have a red neck because I didn't listen about sun cream :S the trip itself was action packed and ticked off everything I wanted to do on the west coast. Luckily all the other trekkers were sound and we all got on which was great. Honestly the best way to see America for the best price, companions and memories. Trek 2k18 I'll be back for you.

Lewisroyl69_66831
Westerner 3

Unforgetable

Reviewed September 2017

ABSOLUTELY INSANE!!!!

This trek is the perfect amount of city tours and national park hikes.

Every destination is just as good as the last, time on the road is short and sweet and the experiences will stay with you for life.

The friends you make are life long and our tour leader done everything in her power to make sure we had a unique exciting experience.

Jen was a perfect leader, taking us to awesome destinations and cool, qwerky places along the way. She gave us a push in the right direction and advice on the best best things to do in her experience but also let us make our own choices and helped us do things catered to our own individual preferences.

Trek is great, this trek is great and our tour leader is great. It honestly feels like magic.

CARLY M.
Westerner 3

Amazing experience

Reviewed March 2017

Great trek with great group of people. Amazing trip for national parks.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Totally amazing didn't want it to end.

Reviewed October 2016

well the west coast didn't disappoint, we started in LA and although the weather was against us for most of the first week we made the most if it. The group was made up of 11 of us. 7 guys and 4 girls and then our tour leader rob.
We had amazing hikes in the national parks. Getting to go to Alcatraz was great too.
As a group we all worked well together and we had such a laugh. It was an experience I will never forget and I have defiantly made friends for life.
This trek was great for smaller driving days and spending two days in most of the parks which was defiantly beneficial to, as we could see lots of things.
It was colder than expected especially at night so having a thick sleeping bag was great though we did have Walmart stops to buy more blankets.
My most memorable night was when a storm hit in lake Powell and we had to abandon our tents for the night and sleep in the bunkhouse, it was such a fun and unexpected turn. We had all eaten our steak dinners and were full, then only to go running around in the dark, wind and rain to save our things and tents.
The group were all quite into taking pictures which worked well as now we can remember it forever!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

So much to see in just 3 weeks!

Reviewed September 2016

This trip truly is the best way to see a good mix of National Parks and cities in western USA. I was slightly worried as I had never been camping before, but it was absolutely fine. You get used to setting up camp, cooking together and how everything is packed away really quickly. I went in August/September, bought a sleeping bag from Walmart for $15 and I was never really cold apart from maybe one night. You might want two use sleeping mats however or bring your own! One of the best nights was the campsite in Monument Valley, where we had the most incredible view, not to mention the clearest starry sky and best sunrise I've ever seen!

I would never have been able to visit all the National Parks on my own as easily as I did with Trek America, as everything is just sorted for you. That was one of the best things, as we would arrive somewhere and then our tour leader would explain what the best things to do were, answered any questions and then we were free to explore. Everything was hassle free and was such an easy way to travel. Expect a lot of driving, but it's the only way to cover so many places and we often just fell asleep in the van!

I'm not a very active person and found the hiking challenging but definitely achievable - climbing to the top of Angel's Landing in Zion was such a personal achievement. You can go at your own place and just admire your amazing surroundings. San Francisco and Las Vegas were the best cities and Yosemite's scenery just blew my mind. Also the night spent at the cowboy camp where I did horse riding the next day was a lot of fun too.

My tour leader was just the best at helping us bond as a group and giving us a load of insider information and took care of so much for us. If you want to see both iconic cities and explore National Parks, then book this trip, it will be the best decision you've ever made - you'll see and do much in such a short amount of time.