Reviews

Westerner 2

(110)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 71-80 of 110 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Best trip EVER!

Reviewed August 2013

I don't even know where to start... This trip was amazing, the people , places and experiences were the best. Its such a great mix of cities and national parks (and camping is no where near as bad as you may think it will be!). Since I got back everyone keeps asking me what was the highlight and I really cant answer because literally everything we did was a highlight.

Our tour leader Will Borchert was great, he really went out of his way to make sure we had the best time. I'm not going to run through everything we did because you would be here all day reading it. What I will say is get booked on as soon as possible. I did the trip for my 30th birthday and it was the best thing I have ever done!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

America shocked and surprised, the perfect holiday cocktail!!

Reviewed August 2013

Great tour leader, great location and we had a great itinerary to follow. The American people we unbelievably welcoming and I couldn't get over how polite and accommodating they were. Every different place we went on this trip was a highlight, that's why it was so good. During the trip we had opportunities to do extra things such as go to a Baseball match in San Diego, which just added to the experience. The whole group threw themselves in head first and we had a great time.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

best trip ever!!

Reviewed August 2013

I guess all the little things made this trip so Special for us, like seeing the elephant seals on the pacific coast, roll down the sand dunes, swim in some hot springs - all thanks to our leader Alex Keim, he was the best!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Once in a lifetime with amazing memories

Reviewed July 2013

Had the most fantastic time on this trip and met some great people, all becoming like a family within days. Our tour guide Brandi was the best and made every second of it exciting. What a brilliant way to see the west coast of America in a short space of time. Eating pizza (for one of the girl's birthday) whilst watching the sunset on Grand Canyon was a definate highlight of my trip.In Las Vegas ask your tour guide if you can eat at Dick's!!! You'll have a wicked time there hehe. I really had the time of my life and would love to do another Trek.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

A total laugh and thrill ride

Reviewed July 2013

As i began my holiday i was a little apprehensive as i do not often get on in groups. However within an hour this had all changed. Our tour leader a man called Scott quickly introduced himself to us all and began us with introductions to each other. I found that this really helped with the trip and allowed us all to connect really quickly as a group. The camp grounds (i have never really camped before this!) were very clean and the tents very easy to set up. Our tour guide quickly showed us how to set these tents up and honestly has encouraged me to try camping again in the future. The scenery and national parks are spectacular! the hikes ranged from very easy to hard in difficulty. Personally i went one mile down into the grand canyon and found that enough for me but the scenes were fantastic and truly breath taking all i can say to anyone even contemplating this trip is to take it! trust me you will love it. The cities are all so different and offer so much to do and see and the national parks are so different and so massive it is hard to even fathom. Take it from me i will be using this company again and i would 100% suggest this tour

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Experiances of alife time!!

Reviewed July 2013

Remembering back to day one of the trip where you nervously appeared in the hotel lobby and make first impressions. You look around waiting to see who you will be living with for the next two weeks. I was greeted by Andrew whom was my tour leader.
The first 2 nights as expected were a lot about meeting the group, remembering names and getting an idea what characters you would be experiencing the trek with. When in a van for so long at one time I guess this is actually quite important! I think we should have done more ice breakers as not all individuals are as confident to start conversations etc. and so it could make the first few days lonely for some if this is not done. I had people from all different countries and backgrounds and you do think will you clash with them, but this wasn’t the case and I’m sure it never is. After the first few days we all got along as though we knew each other for ages.
The places themselves were Amazing Stunning views, interesting differences in great destinations .From the hustle from the city to relaxing in Yosemite, this trip is packed with such a variety but not over loading you with too much. Words can not describe the gran canyon and these are but a few of the places we seen.
Being initially a little nervous to camping due to me having not done it for a few years, it was actually quite luxurious camping. Groups taking turns to cook good meals each night, good camping locations, showers available and decent tents.
After you reach week two you have definitely gotten into a routine of camping and packing and getting on the road you think what was all the fuss about this is easy.
Hands down to our tour guide Andrew terry who had to drive through tiredness and long and windy roads some times in 50 degrees heat, all with a smile on his face and lame jokes to tell (which all kept our spirits up).
He gave us the interesting facts, told us cool stories and managed to take us to amazing places, but overall he could have a laugh and was a fun guide to experience my first trek with- thanks again Andrew!!!!!
For this being my first trek I enjoyed it immensely, anyone who is thinking of doing a trek with trek America especially alone like myself. I would say do it. You will not be disappointed, the whole trip exceeded my expectations and the memories will last for years to come.
I think this tour was great for anyone who is doing a first trek the length of time and great differences in places; it will defiantly make you want to do another.

but unfortunately back to reality it is for me, Until next time.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Awesome places, awesome people, awesome Trek Leader. Just AWESOME!!!

Reviewed July 2013

From Day 1, the trek was packed with things to do and places to see. Starting off in LA worked well because every stop afterwards seemed to get better and better, and the group got close really quick. Our Trek Leader, Rosie, made sure we had plenty of time to make some sort of plan for each stop, so that we could book anything extra and get a good price! She was really organised and managed to accommodate pretty much everyone's needs, which was incredible (especially since it was her FIRST TREK as a Trek Leader)!
It was really good being able to meet other trek groups along the way. At almost every stop, we met another trek group and were able to do activities all together; like sunrise and sunset at the Grand Canyon, and the Party Bus in Las Vegas (which made it super cheap!)
Even though it was only two weeks, the amount of stuff that happened in that time made it feel like I'd been away for a month, but it also went too fast towards the end.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Unbelievable experience, I made friends for life. DO ITTTT!

Reviewed July 2013

BEST TWO WEEKS EVER! A trip made for people from all backgrounds. I'm not be outdoorsy but still had an amazing time seeing natural wonders like the Grand Canyon and Yosemite.
Our trek leader was so dedicated, and made eve effort to ensure everyone on the trip was enjoying themselves. I wouldn't hesitate to do it again, I'm already planning my next trek!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

The old cliche 'once in a lifetime spontaneous adventure'

Reviewed July 2013

'Where to begin' is another often used cliché but really when you fill the trip with so many smaller and bigger memories on the different adventure days, it's hard to remember back to day one where you nervously appeared in the hotel lobby and make first impressions.
The first 2 nights as expected were a lot about meeting the group, remembering names and getting an idea what characters you would be experiencing the trek with. When in a van for so long at one time I guess this is actually quite important! I do wish we had done more ice breakers or getting to know one another games as not all individuals are as confident to start conversations etc and so it could make the first few days lonely for some if this is not done.
The places themselves were (here we go) 'out of this world'. Stunning views, interesting differences in weather and great destinations to tick of the 'places to visit' list.
Being initially a little nervous to camp due to my previous Duke of Edinburgh experiences (for those who don't know, it's a 4 day hike camping each night i.e mentally challenging), it was actually quite luxurious camping. Groups taking turns to cook good meals each night, good camping locations, showers available and decent tents that underwent hot and windy weather.
After you reach week two you have definitely gotten into a routine of camping and packing and getting on the road. Hands down to our tour guide who I can imagine had to drive through tiredness and long and windy roads.
I was lucky enough to have a great group and tour guide and we all got on great. The weird thing is as cheesy as it sounds you end up creating a bond (like a pack) and when meeting up with other groups coincidently at various stops you actually become defensive and territorial (I can't think of words to describe what I'm thinking properly) and you discover how close your group has gotten. I'm guessing it's a lot to do with the small memories at a campfire or setting up a tent that create this feeling.
It's great as the relationships you make at trek can last a long time if you want them to. America does have a lot of incredible sights to offer but with the help of a good tour guide and a fun group the overall experience can be made much better- just like mine was.
We were Steve's first ever trek group, although you wouldn't have guessed it! He never told us until the end and his professionalism showed throughout the trip. He once said 'I'm your Tour Leader first, friend second' and right enough as the trip went on and we all got to know him better there was no tour guide/tourist divide. He gave us the interesting facts, told us cool stories and managed to take us to cool places, but overall he could laugh and was a fun guide to experience my first trek with- thanks again Steve!
So there you have it...a rough review from my East Coast travels, great places, food, people, memories but unfortunately back to reality it is. Until next time.

T x

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

the most amazing experience of my life

Reviewed July 2013

This holiday was absolutely amazing and the majority was down to our tour leader Brandi she is epic! The highlights for me was Grand Canyon the helicopter ride was unreal if you can, definitely budget for it. Yosemite trails are fantastic the views are unreal! The only two problems with these two places are they are freezing at night so take thermals (i took my boyfriends once I had them on I was nice and cosy but the first night with out them I was pretty chilly)
We went to Lake Havasu, Colarado River and slept under the stars which was our best night of sleeping watching the sunset and waking up to it rising. There is abit of travellng every other morning but when you get to your next destination it is worth it, it also makes the family you are about to make, i feel like i have known the group i was with for years and I know I have made some really good friends.
I won this trip for me and three friends and definetly did not take it for granted, I will definitely be paying for another trip with this company next year as they are a great company to travel with, you have too do as much as possible so you get the best, we didnt have much to budget on but i promise you the helicopter over the grand canyon is a must out of ever thing. I could keep on telling you my stories but you have to experience it yourself ! definitely a must if you want to see these places!

Loading search bar...