Reviews

Westerner 2

(110)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 61-70 of 110 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Absolutely awesome.

Reviewed October 2013

I had the best experience of my life. The other people in my tour group were amazing and the tour guide was utterly brilliant too. It was just the little things that she did such as taking us to hot springs to stare at the stars plus stopping at bakery to buy us breakfast!

This trip is the best trip to get the highlights of everything, something for everyone, the cities to explore such as Las Vegas (if your in to Casinos and partying), San Francisco and also Grand Canyon and Yosemite for hiking and observing the wildlife. I will not say anything else as you will find out when you book on this tour!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Absolutely amazing! Best thing i have ever done!

Reviewed October 2013

This is an absolutely amazing jam packed trip! I can't recommend this enough!! it has been the best 2 weeks of my life so far....
The places we got to see (won't go into too much detail) Grand Canyon - WOW amazing place- the helicopter ride is a must! VEGAS!! - Party central :) jumping from the stratosphere is also a must! San Diego - lovely relaxed beach town perfect way to start the trip! San Fran! - What a city!! GO GIANTS!! Yosemite! - what a beautiful place perfect way to relax after vegas and alot to see and do!

Aswell as these amazing places (and more) the people i experienced this trip with absolutely made it what it was! i have met some amazing friends that i know i will keep for life!!!

Last but definately not least was the tour leader Leah!!!!! without her this trip wouldn't have been as amazing as it was!!!!
THANK YOU TREK AMERICA!!!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

This trip gave me some of the most amazing & unforgettable experiences of my life!

Reviewed September 2013

The Westerner 2 trip far exceeded my expectations. You see the Grand Canyon on the Television and in photos, you know the place is big but nothing can prepare you for the moment you fly by helicopter towards to the South Rim of the canyon, those trees suddenly disappear from under you and you are faced with the most incredible views ever. The helicopter flight was simply brilliant.

The itinerary of Westerner 2 not only gave us the chance to see the Canyon from the sky but we also hiked into the Canyon itself. One of the most unforgettable moments was hiking the Bright Angel Trail and arriving at Plateau Point having hiked all morning into the canyon, the sun beaming down on us and nothing but the mighty Colorado River in front. Yosemite National Park was just as impressive; we spent a day hiking to the top of Nevada Falls where the views were simply breath-taking.

The mixed itinerary is great; we had nights camping followed by the comfortable hotel stays in the cities. Las Vegas was the most action packed two days ever! Roof-top clubs, casinos, roller coasters and from what I can remember of it, Vegas really did live up to its reputation!

I knew the places on this trip would be astounding but what I wasn’t expecting was how good the stops on route were, all down to the knowledge and experience of our trek leader. Scott Mendenhall really made sure we had a holiday of lifetime. The trip has also given me the opportunity to make some amazing new friends from all over the world.

Having been home 2 weeks, I’m already looking forward to the next one so if you are thinking about booking the Westerner 2 then do it, you will have the time of your life.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Incredible. Amazing parks, cities and sights, hikes, swims and views.

Reviewed September 2013

Basically our tour guide (Scott Mendenhal) made it for us. The itinerary already includes the major great sights, Grand Canyon and Yosemite being the crown jewels with Vegas, San Fran and the Colorado river stop coming a close second. These would've been good at any time but some well-tailored hikes in the national parks where he managed to cope with a pretty large difference between abilities and show us sights that are not seen by everyone (after talking to some other groups there was a large difference in how much we saw compared to others) along with interesting knowledge about the areas was the icing on the cake.

However where the guide made even more difference was in the interesting side stops along the journeys; it's unavoidable that there are long drives (8h+) in the USA. They're always going to be a bit boring but with interesting stops, some maybe only 10min long, some stretching to 2hr in the desert dunes, sea lions, white-sand beaches, dolphins surfing, presidential hotels, random food stops, live bands in the middle of the day, film locations, great & bizarre food, salvation mountain, city-wide views, coastal waterfall or elephant seals or lunch in the middle of a river etc. etc.

Then some very well planned nights out that allowed the under 21s to stay with us until nearly midnight without compromising everyone elses night and getting a real and varied flavour of each city. Could not praise the organisation of the trip more.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Amazing!!! Best holiday of my life

Reviewed September 2013

I was so worried at first I was travelling on my own and didn't know what to expect!, The staff at trek america were very helpful in getting my tour arranged and helped me keep calm about the whole thing.

The forum's were a god send I gained advice from previous trekkers and made friends with a few people on my trek. When I arrived we were introduced to the group and tour guide the fun began there!, I made some amazing friends who will always be part of my life.

The places we visited were amazing and I would have never gained the experiences I did if I hadn't uses trek america. The places they took us that you wouldn't know to visit, the knowledge the tour guide shared with us made the trek so much more memorable learning the culture and history whilst having fun!!.

I have never been so sad at the end of a holiday I didn't want it to be over and no other holiday will compare (unless I do another trek of cause) anyone thinking about doing this tour don't think twice DO IT you won't regret it!. Best holiday of my life loved every second!!
Sophie xx

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

The best decision I've made!!

Reviewed September 2013

If you're thinking about doing this tour, then you should do it! It will be the best decision you will make.

I was a first time traveller and I was doing this trip on my own. It was pretty daunting, I had no reason to worry at all. Our tour guide, Tippy, was amazing. she was so friendly and put everyone at ease instantly. We had a diverse group of travellers and everyone, except for two people were travelling on their own as well, so we were all as nervous as each other. We all got to know each other really quickly and we were able to share some amazing memories together.

Everywhere we went was so different from where we came from, which made everyday exciting. One day we were sleeping under the stars at Lake Havasu and the next we were partying in Las Vegas. From Baseball games in San Diego to hiking at the Grand Canyon. There is no time to get tired!

Nothing will prepare you for the Grand Canyon, it is beyond words. It is the most incredible thing you will see on this trip, so make sure you take lots of pictures!! I highly recommend the helicopter ride, it is a bit pricey, but it is worth every penny!
Las Vegas was another highlight of the trip, I wasn't 21 at the time but I still had an awesome experience, we all had so much fun. There was so much to see and do, it's a place I would definitely return to someday.

The place I was looking forward to the most was San Francisco and it didn't disappoint at all. The Golden Gate bridge is stunning and the sunset cruise is a brilliant opportunity to take loads of pictures of it. There was so much to see there and just not enough time, so make sure you research what you want to see the most, as unfortunately you just can't fit everything in.

Two weeks doesn't seem like a very long time, but on this trip you get the opportunity to see so much. If you are thinking of doing this trip, just do it! You won't regret it for a second. I had the time of my life and I've made some amazing friends along the way.

One girl on our trek summed it up perfectly, 'We met as strangers, but we left as friends'.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Once in a lifetime experience

Reviewed September 2013

The Trek has been more than amazing, we had an amazing group and our trek leader had great knowledge of the places where we went and if she didn't know something she wouldn't hesitate to ask.

Vegas is great! we even had a rooftop party with an incredible view of Vegas! Grand Canyon is super! our trek leader had the amazing idea to let us close our eyes before we would see the Grand Canyon, and it made it much better!

Yosemite is really really beautifull, nice waterfalls and walks.

It really has been a great experience with an even better group, couldn't wish for more and I can suggest this trek to everyone, you won't be let down for sure!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Best two weeks you'll ever have. Even better than freshers week!

Reviewed September 2013

I went on the Westerner 2 camping trip, which was absolutely incredible.

The trip was worth every single penny, it provided such wonderful memories and incredible experiences that i wouldn't have had if i had of driven the route myself.

My tour leader was amazing, she was so helpful and had such great insight into California (she was from LA). The thing i loved most about her was that she would suggest ideas to us when she got to know what things we liked/didn't like etc and that she was also really open to us giving suggestions which was great because then your trip is tailored specifically to what your group likes!

I thought 2 weeks would go so quickly that everything you did would feel like it happened in a blur, but it wasn't like that at all. You spend 2 days mostly at each place which means you aren't putting your tent up and down each day (thank god!) but also that you really get to experience a place properly, rather than having a fleeting visit.

Highlights include:

VEGAS (it definitely did not disappoint, at all!) in particular the party bus before we went out
Yosemite national park- Quite possibly the most beautiful place i have ever been to in my life
San Francisco Sunset Sail- You get to meet other Trek America groups whilst enjoying a rather wet, but BEAUTIFUL sail around Alcatraz and under the golden gate bridge.

All in all, it was the best two weeks of my life. I met some amazing people, and experienced incredible places with them and have genuinely made friends for life.

DO NOT HESITATE. BOOK A TRIP!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

The most unforgettable journey ever!

Reviewed August 2013

My trip began by flying from Finland to Los Angeles via London.I was first time abroad alone,bit scared and excited. I met my tour group next morning at the hotel. There were 3 German girls, 3 Irish guys,1 Dutch girl, 1 girl from Korea and me. First I was wondering how to survive in a country where no one speaks my language but everything started to clear within few days!

In San Diego I visited the famous zoo and we saw a huge fireworks in the evening! At the Colorado river we could sleep without any tents,under the sky full of stars.It was so warm and there were no mosquitos at all!

You can't imagine the size of the Canyon 'til you get there.

We took a party bus tour in Vegas. It was fun! Next morning we went to the shooting range with boys,in the evening to the Stratosphere tower and took all three insane rides in the heat of the city!

Yosemite was incredible too. Took a 7 mile trek on the second day and saw the Giant Sequoias.

San Francisco was nice place too, a bit cold weather but the scenerys were great, including the Golden Gate.We missed the Alcatraz visit because the tickets were sold out.Maybe next time!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Awesome, Vegas, Bellagio, Partybus, Baseball, Budweiser, Coloradoriver, Yosemite, Grandcanyon, WELOVEYOUWILLBORCHERT!!!

Reviewed August 2013

What a FRICKIN amazing experience. First time I have ever done something like this California is magnificent there is so much to do. Great people in our group, excellent tour guide Will Borchert!!!

I would recommend the Westerner2 did so much in 2 weeks you wouldn't believe. Do not hesitate to do it you won't regret it. The best thing I have ever done! Camping was ace, cooking, campfires, motels, partying, chilling out, hiking it has everything.... Same again next year.

Loading search bar...