Reviews

Westerner 2

(113)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 51-60 of 113 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

2 weeks of beauty and awesome people

Reviewed April 2014

What a great way to see so much of the West Coast.
I loved the trek, met some great friends and had a fab experience.

This is definitely more of a party tour, budget lodging was good, all clean hotels/ hostels. Saves time packing up tents everyday which means more time exploring.

We had a mixed bag of people who wanted to party and wanted to take the more chilled route.

You have plenty of time to explore on your own so make the most of it, do your research.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

A Dream Come True

Reviewed February 2014

Well..

What an incredible 14 days on my Trek 'Westerner 2' with the amazing Trek America.

I had booked my trek last minute as I was in camp but didn't know how to travel the West Coast in a budge.
But, then I had just remembered Trek America from my agency.

The whole booking process was so easy and the staff were excellent.

So, after 3 long hard months at Summer Camp I was ready for a break.. (Oh wait)..
This wasn't a break, it was "an incredible jam packed dream trek"

An ambition and goal of mine is too always be yourself and travel to experience the world and people.
& I got to do this with Trek America.

So the trek....

I arrived at the Hacienda Hotel in Los Angeles 2 nights before so I could prepare and get to sightsee before the best 2 weeks.
I was nervous but you just cant wait to expect the unexpected in a good way.

So on the 5th September, we all met around 7/8am in the Lobby and all got to know each other by doing an Ice Breaker.
This was a great activity and instantly we all got to know fun facts about each other and have a laugh.

The bond and relationship we all created was great.
There was 9 of us altogether and still, we all talk months after the trip.
You will gain new friendships and learn new ways of people after spending time driving in the van to each location.

As your in the van, it can be a long drive so "its your chance" to experience and get to know and play games with your friends.
The friendship is one of the highlights of the trip and where the laughs and memories were made.

I don't think I need to explain the places we visited but to only say "WOW"
No joke, every place we went to created a new memory and experience that I will take with me in life.

"YOU WILL NOT BE BORED"

You have to accept that you only have 2 weeks, so take in the scenery and amazing views from the big cities to the national parks! It really is a picture.

I think I've said enough haha, but from reading this I can tell you this trek creates true friendships and memories you can take forward in life and appreciate what life can offer you.

Go out and explore & catch this Trek.

I'm happy to be booking the "Atlantic Dream" with Trek America (same dates again as my previous trek) this summer to expand my travels in America and to also be booking with this company due to their excellent Customer Service and services they offer.

Go out and enjoy, you only have one shot in Life. Achieve it!

Thanks to Trek America and their team.
Can't wait to do my other trek this summer with you guys.

Hope you all enjoyed my review and I cant wait to attach my photo's and show you my adventure in the Westerner 2.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Fantastic

Reviewed February 2014

This was my first ever trip to America, and what a way to travel, I saw some of the most amazing sights and experianced things I will never experiance again, LA was superb, San Diego beautiful, Lake Havasu small but stunning, Grand Canyon the most amazing place you will ever see, I reccomend the helicopter ride, Vegas well its the party capital and lived up to be everything i imagined and much more, Yosemitie very beautiful and picturesque, San Fran walking the golden gate bridge is a must as is seeing Alcatraz, and all the other little stops we made where just as amazing and beautiful, the final half a day was spent at Venice beach and Santa Monica and it was the best way to end our trip.

We had a fantastic group all varied nationalitys and our leader made it even more enjoyable, I can def recommend this tour I would do it all again if I could..looking to book for 2015 this time New York to Miami

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

A great experience, probably one of the best holidays i've ever been on!

Reviewed January 2014

The fact that I am writing this review over 3 months after I actually returned to the UK gives testament to how amazing this trip is.

If you want to see a huge amount of the west coast including the less 'touristy' places then this will be brilliant for you, we were there when the Government went on strike so we missed out on Yosemite and the Grand Canyon but the alternatives we were give were brilliant and gave a taste of what we could have seen.

I was a little worried I would get bored in a few places but you are not in any one place long enough to get bored, I would say that if anything the tour moves a little too quickly, for example I would have liked more time in San Francisco and Lake Tahoe but you get a taster and can always go back in the future.

It really is a none stop adventure from cities to desert to mountains, it was amazing!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

AMAZING - a great way to travel the west coast!

Reviewed January 2014

There is no way to say this other then - you gotta try this!
We were a very diverse group but I can truly say that we had an amazing trip!

San Diego was the city i liked to most - relaxing on the beach and surfing - that's the life!

Lake Havasu - sleeping under the starts and night swimming in the lake

Grand Canyon - doing the hike to plateau point - just an amazing experience!

Las Vegas - Party Bus , limo ride and casinos - do I need to say more???

Yosemite - we were lucky because of the forrest fires and had an extra night here... could have spent 14 days and we wouldn't have seen it all!

San Fransisco - Alcatraz is a most - but you need to buy the tickets about 5 days in advance...

Big Sur - what a drive!

LA :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

AMAZING - a great way to travel the west coast!

Reviewed January 2014

There is no way to say this other then - you gotta try this!
We were a very diverse group but I can truly say that we had an amazing trip!

San Diego was the city i liked to most - relaxing on the beach and surfing - that's the life!

Lake Havasu - sleeping under the starts and night swimming in the lake

Grand Canyon - doing the hike to plateau point - just an amazing experience!

Las Vegas - Party Bus , limo ride and casinos - do I need to say more???

Yosemite - we were lucky because of the forrest fires and had an extra night here... could have spent 14 days and we wouldn't have seen it all!

San Fransisco - Alcatraz is a most - but you need to buy the tickets about 5 days in advance...

Big Sur - what a drive!

LA :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

AWESOME !!

Reviewed November 2013

Absolutely brilliant 2 weeks which I will remember for the rest of my days. Great way to explore a good portion of western USA and meet fantastic people ( I even joined Facebook just to keep in contact and share photos ) Had an amazing tour guide Abby who made sure we all got to see and do everything we had hoped to and more besides. If you like the great outdoors, excitement and fun them this is the trip for you. I can not fault it in anyway and have recommended it to most people I know.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

An Adventure with everything I could have hoped for

Reviewed November 2013

The Westerner 2 was incorporated as part of my journey back to the UK, after two years living in Toronto, Canada. I couldn't have imagined a better trip to end my North American adventure - a diverse and captivating two week tour shared with a fantastic, enthusiastic tour leader and a wonderful group of fellow travelers.

The trek enabled us to visit the landmarks and destinations we had all been looking forward to, and thanks to our leader James, we got to discover some extra 'off the beaten track' hideouts, which we would never have experienced had we been travelling separately. The prospect of spending 24/7 with what is essentially a group of strangers is somewhat intense, but everyone gelled immediately and worked really well together throughout the trip. Friendships were quickly formed and I know I am not the only one to feel I have left with some great new friends, who I could not be happier to have shared these amazing experiences with.

I cannot pinpoint a singular highlight, so here are a list of my top experiences during the two weeks:

- Sailing under the Golden Gate Bridge in a catamaran as the sun set on the San Francisco Bay

- The breathtaking scenery at the summit of our hike in Lake Tahoe, and the two nights of camping there (despite the bear warnings!)

- Our Trek America human pyramid at the Las Vegas sign, and singing arm-in-arm to Queen at the Fremont Experience

- Midnight swimming in Bishop's naturally occurring Hot Springs with some delicious cold beers

- Soaring over the edge of the Grand Canyon in a helicopter to catch my first view of the Colorado river

- Spending chilly nights by a warm campfire and sharing stories with my fellow travelers

The experience as a whole was thoroughly enjoyable and definitely provided value for money; a series of highs, with few, if any, lows. Trek America not only took the stress of organization and planning out of the trip, but also brought me into contact with some really interesting people from across the world who energized the overall atmosphere. I have been left with some unforgettable memories, awesome photographs, and a hunger for more exploring as soon as possible.

I highly recommend anyone thinking about participating in a trek to definitely go for it.... I'm already planning my next trip, perhaps I'll see you there!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Most amazing 2wks!

Reviewed November 2013

I was unsure whether to go on another trek America - but I didn't regret a single second! The most amazing 2wks with the greatest new friends.

From hiking in the grand canyon and Yosemite to the party bus in Las Vegas, and sea world in San Diego. The places and activities were so wide ranging.

I love the group cooking and camping experience - the group all bond over this. Also you can't beat smores :)

It was also my birthday whilst there - a birthday I will never forgot - have the greatest 24hrs.

Thanks to everyone involved for giving me the most unforgettable fortnight x

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

An experience of a lifetime that I'll never forget.

Reviewed October 2013

What a couple of weeks! If you're looking to see a good chunk of the Western US without getting bored from staying in one place too long, then this is the trip for you. Our tour guide looked after us really well and made sure I got to do everything I wanted to do. Be prepared to muck in and help out a lot; the more you put into the experience, the more you'll get out of it.

Loading search bar...