Reviews

Westerner 2

(110)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 51-60 of 110 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

A great experience, probably one of the best holidays i've ever been on!

Reviewed January 2014

The fact that I am writing this review over 3 months after I actually returned to the UK gives testament to how amazing this trip is.

If you want to see a huge amount of the west coast including the less 'touristy' places then this will be brilliant for you, we were there when the Government went on strike so we missed out on Yosemite and the Grand Canyon but the alternatives we were give were brilliant and gave a taste of what we could have seen.

I was a little worried I would get bored in a few places but you are not in any one place long enough to get bored, I would say that if anything the tour moves a little too quickly, for example I would have liked more time in San Francisco and Lake Tahoe but you get a taster and can always go back in the future.

It really is a none stop adventure from cities to desert to mountains, it was amazing!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

AMAZING - a great way to travel the west coast!

Reviewed January 2014

There is no way to say this other then - you gotta try this!
We were a very diverse group but I can truly say that we had an amazing trip!

San Diego was the city i liked to most - relaxing on the beach and surfing - that's the life!

Lake Havasu - sleeping under the starts and night swimming in the lake

Grand Canyon - doing the hike to plateau point - just an amazing experience!

Las Vegas - Party Bus , limo ride and casinos - do I need to say more???

Yosemite - we were lucky because of the forrest fires and had an extra night here... could have spent 14 days and we wouldn't have seen it all!

San Fransisco - Alcatraz is a most - but you need to buy the tickets about 5 days in advance...

Big Sur - what a drive!

LA :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

AMAZING - a great way to travel the west coast!

Reviewed January 2014

There is no way to say this other then - you gotta try this!
We were a very diverse group but I can truly say that we had an amazing trip!

San Diego was the city i liked to most - relaxing on the beach and surfing - that's the life!

Lake Havasu - sleeping under the starts and night swimming in the lake

Grand Canyon - doing the hike to plateau point - just an amazing experience!

Las Vegas - Party Bus , limo ride and casinos - do I need to say more???

Yosemite - we were lucky because of the forrest fires and had an extra night here... could have spent 14 days and we wouldn't have seen it all!

San Fransisco - Alcatraz is a most - but you need to buy the tickets about 5 days in advance...

Big Sur - what a drive!

LA :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

AWESOME !!

Reviewed November 2013

Absolutely brilliant 2 weeks which I will remember for the rest of my days. Great way to explore a good portion of western USA and meet fantastic people ( I even joined Facebook just to keep in contact and share photos ) Had an amazing tour guide Abby who made sure we all got to see and do everything we had hoped to and more besides. If you like the great outdoors, excitement and fun them this is the trip for you. I can not fault it in anyway and have recommended it to most people I know.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

An Adventure with everything I could have hoped for

Reviewed November 2013

The Westerner 2 was incorporated as part of my journey back to the UK, after two years living in Toronto, Canada. I couldn't have imagined a better trip to end my North American adventure - a diverse and captivating two week tour shared with a fantastic, enthusiastic tour leader and a wonderful group of fellow travelers.

The trek enabled us to visit the landmarks and destinations we had all been looking forward to, and thanks to our leader James, we got to discover some extra 'off the beaten track' hideouts, which we would never have experienced had we been travelling separately. The prospect of spending 24/7 with what is essentially a group of strangers is somewhat intense, but everyone gelled immediately and worked really well together throughout the trip. Friendships were quickly formed and I know I am not the only one to feel I have left with some great new friends, who I could not be happier to have shared these amazing experiences with.

I cannot pinpoint a singular highlight, so here are a list of my top experiences during the two weeks:

- Sailing under the Golden Gate Bridge in a catamaran as the sun set on the San Francisco Bay

- The breathtaking scenery at the summit of our hike in Lake Tahoe, and the two nights of camping there (despite the bear warnings!)

- Our Trek America human pyramid at the Las Vegas sign, and singing arm-in-arm to Queen at the Fremont Experience

- Midnight swimming in Bishop's naturally occurring Hot Springs with some delicious cold beers

- Soaring over the edge of the Grand Canyon in a helicopter to catch my first view of the Colorado river

- Spending chilly nights by a warm campfire and sharing stories with my fellow travelers

The experience as a whole was thoroughly enjoyable and definitely provided value for money; a series of highs, with few, if any, lows. Trek America not only took the stress of organization and planning out of the trip, but also brought me into contact with some really interesting people from across the world who energized the overall atmosphere. I have been left with some unforgettable memories, awesome photographs, and a hunger for more exploring as soon as possible.

I highly recommend anyone thinking about participating in a trek to definitely go for it.... I'm already planning my next trip, perhaps I'll see you there!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Most amazing 2wks!

Reviewed November 2013

I was unsure whether to go on another trek America - but I didn't regret a single second! The most amazing 2wks with the greatest new friends.

From hiking in the grand canyon and Yosemite to the party bus in Las Vegas, and sea world in San Diego. The places and activities were so wide ranging.

I love the group cooking and camping experience - the group all bond over this. Also you can't beat smores :)

It was also my birthday whilst there - a birthday I will never forgot - have the greatest 24hrs.

Thanks to everyone involved for giving me the most unforgettable fortnight x

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

An experience of a lifetime that I'll never forget.

Reviewed October 2013

What a couple of weeks! If you're looking to see a good chunk of the Western US without getting bored from staying in one place too long, then this is the trip for you. Our tour guide looked after us really well and made sure I got to do everything I wanted to do. Be prepared to muck in and help out a lot; the more you put into the experience, the more you'll get out of it.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Every day was something special

Reviewed October 2013

This trip was just amazing!
In those two weeks I saw more than in my whole life. Every day was unique, seeing different scenes every day. From deserted landscapes over mountains, canyons til beaches: We had it all. I am not an outdoor-camping kind of person, but it was just fun sitting on the campfire at night, cooking together and even building up the tents and stuff like that was fun! It makes you feel like you are part of the group from the first day on! I don't think you could ever experience that staying just in hotels. It was nice to stay in hotels in Vegas and San Francisco, but we all had more fun togehter at the campsites!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

One word: awesome

Reviewed October 2013

One of the best decisions I've ever made. Great way to explore America! :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

The best two weeks of my life!

Reviewed October 2013

I was a single traveler and really nervous when I first set out for this trip, however as soon as I met the rest of my group and our trek leader, my fears quickly disappeared. The best thing about this trip is that you get to see so much and experience both the hustle and bustle of the cities and the peace and tranquility of the national parks.

Some of my personal highlights were hiking in the Grand Canyon, partying in Las Vegas and jumping off the Stratosphere at 2am, the sunset boat ride and the Alcatraz trip in San Francisco and so much more! All of these places that you visit on this trip are amazing in themselves, but what made it so perfect for me was the people I met.

By the end of the two weeks I felt like we were a family and our trek leader, Leah, couldn't have done anymore for us, she was truly amazing! Overall, I can't recommend this trip highly enough, the places you see and the people you meet are just priceless, they really were the best two weeks of my life!

Loading search bar...