Reviews

Westerner 2

(113)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 31-40 of 113 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed June 2015

I knew this was going to be good, but it certainly surpassed expectations.
Our tour leader was lovely and always enthusiastic, with good knowledge of the areas we visited and also scheduled some surprises such as going to a baseball game and relaxing in some Californian hot springs!
The group I was with were all very nice and we clicked quickly. You felt like you could do your own thing as well as go off with different people depending on what everyone wanted to do.
We were lucky with beautiful weather nearly every day and despite having never camped before, I loved it! The tents were really easy to put up and we had some delicious food round the campfire. The camp facilities were also good; some better than others but we always had access to good showers and toilets and most had wifi and even places to charge devices.
Definitely give one of trek america's tours a go, it went by so quick but I couldnt have had a better time!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Amazing experience!

Reviewed May 2015

This trek is everything you expect.

Nightlife in Vegas to trekking in Grand Canyon.

I completely enjoyed this tour as the West Coast has everything to offer. Grand Canyon helicopter ride is a must, even though it was expensive, it was definately worth it!
What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas is all I can say!
Yosemite was incredible. Amazing views, amazing walks.
San Francisco was lovely, just wish I had more time there!

Weather was possibly a downside as it went cold at night, but had warm days. I'd personally do this trek in May or June where weather would be a little hotter.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Be prepared to have a great experience!

Reviewed May 2015

I really enjoyed the Westerner 2 from Los Angeles. I got to see the sites that I wanted to see. I would say the bus was a bit smaller than I thought however so if you like to travel in comfort then this may not be the best company to go with. Also, it is a proper camping trip. You will stay in a few hotels but most of the time it will be in tents. Some of the group didn't know this and absolutely hated having limited wi- fi and camping. Regarding wi- fi I think considering the amount of money you do pay Trek should not be so tight and buy two 4G wi- fi routers so everyone can be on the wi- fi at once. Because at the end of the day people are selfish. I have written a blog post detailing, day to day, my experience here.

http://www.becbec.uk/2015/04/trek-america-westerner-2-la-to-la-part-1.html

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

A lot of fun!

Reviewed March 2015

Was an awesome trip! Saw a lot of beautiful places in west coast and got to meet new people. Our tour guide, Jeremy, took good care of us and we had so much fun with him!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Best Trip ever

Reviewed February 2015

It was my First expierence travelling solo and now I'm planning it to do again on another tour.. The only bad thing is: there is no Trek America in Africa or Europe!
The wohle Adventure was amazing. We've met up before the group even met on the tour on Facebook, so I knew already some people from the group and now we are still in contact and visit each other. You'll make Friends for a Life Time! Our tourguide was cute, funny and made it to the best Trip. I loved camping and helping with the dishes, cooking or build up a tent. I just can recommend it, and People who did 't like it were propably just looking for something else. It's a group camping tour with 13 People and not a private 3 Stars Hotel vacation.. ;) but if you are ready for an adventure - book it! :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

An interesting trip I wouldn't do again

Reviewed December 2014

Okay im going to be completely honest with this review.! ! firstly we didn't see any nightlife in san diego as camp was too far away from everything. This is pretty much the same with every other city.

LA - dont stay in the hotel they recommend- stay in one by the beach then on the last day you can stay there all day.

This trip is too short to fit everything in... especially when you are given jobs like cleaning, packing the van and cooking. I wouldn't of minded if everyone helped but some of the people on the tour just stood there and watched.

I loved Yosemite and the grand canyon because it was easier to get around and the camps were within the sights. Vegas hotel was amazing and a bit of a bonus when you've been lugging luggage around all day and sat on a bus for 10 hours with people who just want to sleep.

Cooking equipment was also a nightmare...plates were cracked, we had no light most nights because they had been smashed. Half the zips on the tents didn't work..felt sorry for one couple who had to sleep in a tent with the zip open and got bitten to death by mosquitos.

I also think for this length of trip there should be 2 trek leaders who help each other. its alot of driving for one person.

Positive notes:
I enjoyed san fran .Alcatraz is a must.
Grand canyon- you have to do the helicopter ride even though its expensive it was amazing.
Yosemite- loved the wildlife and the walks.
trek leader was lovely and she really tried with the group.

I wouldn't do another trek america....unfortunately my experience didn't live up to its expectations. I did email trek and tell them my experience but heard nothing back which is a massive shame as its not cheap!

Reply from TrekAmerica:

Dear Lucy,

We are sorry to hear you did not have the time of your life on the Westerner 2 tour. We have not received any direct feedback from you regarding this tour and would be happy to investigate any issues you wish to raise. Please be sure to state your full name and tour departure date, and send your email to Iain Shiels [email protected]

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Overwhelming Experience, I have fallen in love the landscape.

Reviewed November 2014

It was one of the coolest experiences of my life. After a short time the group came together as a team from different nations. It's a cool mixture of real nature feeling (sleeping under the stars, fly over the Grand Canyon or just hiking through the trails in Yosemite) and the sights in the big cities (San Francisco, Las Vega, Los Angeles).
If you are an open minded person and love it to be active on vacation, I can fully recommend this trip.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Can words describe how amazing this trek is?

Reviewed October 2014

To steal a line from a song this tour has "mountains, it's got rivers, it's got sights that make you shiver". This was my second trek america trip this year as I loved the first so much. Just like the first this trip blew my mind! The USA is a truly beautiful country and what better we to take in in than being driven along scenic roads from the stunning Yosimite to the breath taking coast. camping was the best way to get close to the fantastic scenery at every location. The campsites were all excellent with great shower facilities with plenty of plug sockets if like me you arent 100% into camping and want to use a hair dryer or straightners! With an amazing local guide, Mark Page, my group was truly spoilt. Like most of the trek leaders Mark knew all the secret little stops to break up our journey like the old gold mining town of Oatman or a peculiar Danish down nestled along the way . Mark provided us with excellent advice on the best hangouts and bars. The trips organised as part of the trek were great, in I particular the sunset cruise (although I hear in 2015 its an optional extra its would be worth every penny), sunset in the grand canyon and the hikes. Everyone was encouraged to take part and push themselves. All of the equipment provided by trek america was great. We even got a few additional pieces of equipment not advertised in the broucher that I didn't get the first time around. This was my first ever trip alone and I have to say I'm already planning another. The trek leader makes sure everyone is introduced, invites you to take part and of course there is your 'tentie' a perfect way to make you become friends.

This is an all around excellent trip from the sights you see, the places you visit, the friends you make to the guide and the equipment you really can't go wrong!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

A trip of a lifetime with one hell of a spectacular drive

Reviewed October 2014

This was our honeymoon and we had such a great time. We loved the camping such fun with a good group of you. Hotels could have been a bit better after camping for a few days you did look forward to the hotels ( Do not take Trek Americas advise and book the Kawada hotel in LA is worse then horrible,truly awful )Also our only other negative was that we didn't get much info from our tour guide, we understood she was busy driving but we have both been on trips like this before and our tour guides have given us info on all the things we are seeing and you could tell how much they love this spots and were proud of their country and interested whereas as much as we loved our tour guide, she didn't really seem like she loved these places and we literally had (as a group) to ask lots and lots of questions to build up a story of these places. For the price you pay you expect that.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Trip of a lifetime

Reviewed October 2014

For it being my first solo traveling holiday, it was safe to hay I was nervous before hand.. Within an hour of meeting the group that quickly disappeared. Everything exceeded my expectations.. Las Vegas, wow!!! Came back home with so many great stories and pictures. Was lucky enough to meet so many nice people that I hope to keep in contact with over the years. Great trip, would recommend everyone to do it at least once.. If not, twice ( booking up for another trip next summer ) awesome trip with awesome people, would do it all again tomorrow :)

Loading search bar...