Reviews

Westerner 2

(110)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 31-40 of 110 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

A lot of fun!

Reviewed March 2015

Was an awesome trip! Saw a lot of beautiful places in west coast and got to meet new people. Our tour guide, Jeremy, took good care of us and we had so much fun with him!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Best Trip ever

Reviewed February 2015

It was my First expierence travelling solo and now I'm planning it to do again on another tour.. The only bad thing is: there is no Trek America in Africa or Europe!
The wohle Adventure was amazing. We've met up before the group even met on the tour on Facebook, so I knew already some people from the group and now we are still in contact and visit each other. You'll make Friends for a Life Time! Our tourguide was cute, funny and made it to the best Trip. I loved camping and helping with the dishes, cooking or build up a tent. I just can recommend it, and People who did 't like it were propably just looking for something else. It's a group camping tour with 13 People and not a private 3 Stars Hotel vacation.. ;) but if you are ready for an adventure - book it! :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

An interesting trip I wouldn't do again

Reviewed December 2014

Okay im going to be completely honest with this review.! ! firstly we didn't see any nightlife in san diego as camp was too far away from everything. This is pretty much the same with every other city.

LA - dont stay in the hotel they recommend- stay in one by the beach then on the last day you can stay there all day.

This trip is too short to fit everything in... especially when you are given jobs like cleaning, packing the van and cooking. I wouldn't of minded if everyone helped but some of the people on the tour just stood there and watched.

I loved Yosemite and the grand canyon because it was easier to get around and the camps were within the sights. Vegas hotel was amazing and a bit of a bonus when you've been lugging luggage around all day and sat on a bus for 10 hours with people who just want to sleep.

Cooking equipment was also a nightmare...plates were cracked, we had no light most nights because they had been smashed. Half the zips on the tents didn't work..felt sorry for one couple who had to sleep in a tent with the zip open and got bitten to death by mosquitos.

I also think for this length of trip there should be 2 trek leaders who help each other. its alot of driving for one person.

Positive notes:
I enjoyed san fran .Alcatraz is a must.
Grand canyon- you have to do the helicopter ride even though its expensive it was amazing.
Yosemite- loved the wildlife and the walks.
trek leader was lovely and she really tried with the group.

I wouldn't do another trek america....unfortunately my experience didn't live up to its expectations. I did email trek and tell them my experience but heard nothing back which is a massive shame as its not cheap!

Reply from TrekAmerica:

Dear Lucy,

We are sorry to hear you did not have the time of your life on the Westerner 2 tour. We have not received any direct feedback from you regarding this tour and would be happy to investigate any issues you wish to raise. Please be sure to state your full name and tour departure date, and send your email to Iain Shiels [email protected]

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Overwhelming Experience, I have fallen in love the landscape.

Reviewed November 2014

It was one of the coolest experiences of my life. After a short time the group came together as a team from different nations. It's a cool mixture of real nature feeling (sleeping under the stars, fly over the Grand Canyon or just hiking through the trails in Yosemite) and the sights in the big cities (San Francisco, Las Vega, Los Angeles).
If you are an open minded person and love it to be active on vacation, I can fully recommend this trip.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Can words describe how amazing this trek is?

Reviewed October 2014

To steal a line from a song this tour has "mountains, it's got rivers, it's got sights that make you shiver". This was my second trek america trip this year as I loved the first so much. Just like the first this trip blew my mind! The USA is a truly beautiful country and what better we to take in in than being driven along scenic roads from the stunning Yosimite to the breath taking coast. camping was the best way to get close to the fantastic scenery at every location. The campsites were all excellent with great shower facilities with plenty of plug sockets if like me you arent 100% into camping and want to use a hair dryer or straightners! With an amazing local guide, Mark Page, my group was truly spoilt. Like most of the trek leaders Mark knew all the secret little stops to break up our journey like the old gold mining town of Oatman or a peculiar Danish down nestled along the way . Mark provided us with excellent advice on the best hangouts and bars. The trips organised as part of the trek were great, in I particular the sunset cruise (although I hear in 2015 its an optional extra its would be worth every penny), sunset in the grand canyon and the hikes. Everyone was encouraged to take part and push themselves. All of the equipment provided by trek america was great. We even got a few additional pieces of equipment not advertised in the broucher that I didn't get the first time around. This was my first ever trip alone and I have to say I'm already planning another. The trek leader makes sure everyone is introduced, invites you to take part and of course there is your 'tentie' a perfect way to make you become friends.

This is an all around excellent trip from the sights you see, the places you visit, the friends you make to the guide and the equipment you really can't go wrong!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

A trip of a lifetime with one hell of a spectacular drive

Reviewed October 2014

This was our honeymoon and we had such a great time. We loved the camping such fun with a good group of you. Hotels could have been a bit better after camping for a few days you did look forward to the hotels ( Do not take Trek Americas advise and book the Kawada hotel in LA is worse then horrible,truly awful )Also our only other negative was that we didn't get much info from our tour guide, we understood she was busy driving but we have both been on trips like this before and our tour guides have given us info on all the things we are seeing and you could tell how much they love this spots and were proud of their country and interested whereas as much as we loved our tour guide, she didn't really seem like she loved these places and we literally had (as a group) to ask lots and lots of questions to build up a story of these places. For the price you pay you expect that.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Trip of a lifetime

Reviewed October 2014

For it being my first solo traveling holiday, it was safe to hay I was nervous before hand.. Within an hour of meeting the group that quickly disappeared. Everything exceeded my expectations.. Las Vegas, wow!!! Came back home with so many great stories and pictures. Was lucky enough to meet so many nice people that I hope to keep in contact with over the years. Great trip, would recommend everyone to do it at least once.. If not, twice ( booking up for another trip next summer ) awesome trip with awesome people, would do it all again tomorrow :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

I'll do it again anytime eyes closed

Reviewed September 2014

This is not a movie or a book that you can tell to your friends/family or that you can read here.
Everybody SHOULD experience this at least once in their life.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Don't dream - go trekamerica

Reviewed September 2014

I can't pick up a highlight, there were too many of them. The group was international and always in a good mood, the tourleader Mike took care of us and created an atmosphere of feeling great, the landscape was amazing. I'm sorry to be home again, but nest year I'll be back on the road with trecamerica.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Unreal overwhelming spectacular carnage life changing spectacular breathtaking exhausting

Reviewed August 2014

Where to Begin, from the outset expectations were blown out of the water with the amazing San Diego beaches and exciting city and nightlife which came from a city none of us had initially expected that much from. To the Grand canyon a breathtaking spectacle that can only be experienced not described. Onto Vegas the highlight for me the part i had been looking forward to most, it didn't disappoint. Only point for Vegas is everyone wants different things from it and make sure at the start of your night your with a group of people who want the same as you, or risk a slow starter of a night or an unfortunate early night rather than partying through till breakfast as it was and should be!

Till this point the Trek was flawless but alas all good things, a minor infection escalating to serious illness requiring my hospitalisation for 3 days messed up the ending of the trek a bit but thanks to a helpful guide amazing people on the tour one of whom dropped out to stay with me! Travel insurance coming through for me (finally justifies that monthly payout trust me) It all worked out ok in the end and the fact that i can say at the end of the 2 weeks even having been in hospital for 3 days and ill for 5 that it was the best 2 weeks of my life shows just how good this trek can be!

Heres hoping everyone manages to have such an awesome group as i was lucky to have, and that noone else has to go through the hospital dramas like i did.

Loading search bar...