Reviews

Westerner 2

(110)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 21-30 of 110 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Incredible experience!

Reviewed August 2016

This was my first ever Trek and travelling holiday I've ever done and I loved every single minute of it! We had an amazing tour leader, Sarah Kilbourne, who constantly went that extra mile to make sure we got the most out of the trip and saw everything we wanted to. At first I was unsure whether to book the Trek or wait until I was 21, however, being under 21 did not effect how much I enjoyed the trip at all, there were 3 under 21's in my group and we still had an amazing time, even in Vegas! There were certain things on the itinerary that I didn't think I would be that fussed about, but every single thing exeeded my expectations and I saw and experienced much more than I ever thought I would. By travelling with Trek America you get to see so much more than what you would if you travelled alone, even on long drive days, you stop off in so many amazing places that you wouldn't even know existed. I went as a single traveller but as soon as you get there and meet everyone you no longer feel like your travelling alone, after a day you feel like you've know eachother forever. Travelling with people you have only just met makes the experience 10 times better. I could go on and on but I can't put into words just how good it was! I've been home 4 days and already picked my next Trek.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

MOST AWESOME ROAD TRIP EVER!

Reviewed July 2016

The entire trip was an amazing adventure! Everything from making smore's around the campfire to hiking the Grand Canyon, everything was very well planned, and our tour guide made sure everyone was having a blast! I am so glad that I decided to do this trip, and it was much better and I could ever have imagined :-) We were nine people on my trip from all over the world, and everyone was so nice and made the trip even better!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Good banter good friends

Reviewed March 2016

As this was my third trek with trek America I knew it would be my last as I've seen and done everything in America that I've wanted, and what a great way to end my time with trek America with! I always say west coast is best coast, if you are booking your first trek with these guys id recommend this one as its short and sweet!! I've had some of the best times of my life with Trek America! You won't regret it!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Sunshine, beaches, mountains and cities. Great all-round trip.

Reviewed September 2015

This was my second trip with Trek America, and I picked a great one.

This trip covers all ground really.

You see some lovely beaches in San Diego at the start of the trip. This is pretty much the only beach-time you'll get, so make the most of it!
After the beaches, there's plenty of Hiking around the Grand Canyon and Yosemite National Park. Bring some comfy hiking boots, trail runners or at least trainers with good grip.

This Trek is aimed more on the Active/Hiking side, so there's not loads of time to chill around a pool or beach, there's plenty of walking, hiking and sight-seeing. This trip offers some of the best landscapes and scenery that you could ever want to see.

Vegas is great fun, the Hotel is the Golden Nugget which is on Fremont Street ($20-$25 taxi ride to the strip each way). They host a decent pool party and there's plenty of good gambling spots on Fremont Street. You'll find plenty of $5 Blackjack Tables in Fremont but you'll be hard pressed to find that on the Strip where the limits start at $10-$15.

The whole trip was good fun, we had a great group and awesome Tour Leader - Michelle.

The only main disappointment for me was the San Francisco accommodation and lack of time to explore.
The hotel itself was fine, but the area is called 'The Tenderloin' which is pretty grim. There's little chance you'll want to go out on foot and explore the area due to the crime and the fact that there's nothing to see around the Hotel.
Also, I'd personally advise skipping the China Town tour as it runs for 2-3 hours right in the middle of your free day. I'd suggest getting on the 'Big Bus' tour early in the morning and hopping on-off wherever you like. You can see China Town for yourself, you won't be missing much except for some tea-tasting!
So that's my only gripe with the Westerner 2 - Lack of time in San Francisco and nothing to do in or around the Hotel.
Don't let that put you off though, San Francisco is an amazing place, I only wish I'd not done the included China Town tour and used the whole day to see much more of the City.

With regards to the camping. The campsites are fine, all of the campsites are hard floor/gravel/dirt so it's fairly uncomfortable. I'd suggest bringing a good/thick sleeping mat (if you're worried about being uncomfortable) as the ones provided are pretty weak!
The campsites are good though, a couple of them have a pool or sauna.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Great experience, the best 2 weeks ever!

Reviewed August 2015

Has an amazing 2 weeks travelling around the west coast of America. Met some great people and visited amazing places. I cant even pick out my favourite part, however highlights include sleeping under the stars in Lake Havasu, the party bus in Las Vegas and San Francisco in general. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone - you will not regret it!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Saw so much in 2 weeks!

Reviewed August 2015

My first Trek and first time travelling alone. Great group, made some good friends and our leader Kayla made sure we saw everything and made the experience even better. Saw so much much in so little a time, can't even decide what the best moment was, there were so many! If you're thinking of doing this Trek then definitely go for it.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

The best time of my life so far

Reviewed July 2015

The trip itself is incredible. Not to mention our group bonded so well I had to remind myself I went there alone. The hotels are lovely however the hostel is yosemite was abit lower than expected. Purely because of refurbished bathrooms taking place. Wifi is great to keep friends and family updated, just be patient on the minibus it will work eventually. Overall the places i got to see were breathtaking. I cannot wait to book another trip. Highly recommend a helicopter ride and hike in the grand canyon and also a ride in vegas. Please book alcatraz before you leave as it books up so quickly and its worth the visit. I wish i could of had another day in vegas and san francisco but all in all i had an amaziing time,

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed June 2015

I knew this was going to be good, but it certainly surpassed expectations.
Our tour leader was lovely and always enthusiastic, with good knowledge of the areas we visited and also scheduled some surprises such as going to a baseball game and relaxing in some Californian hot springs!
The group I was with were all very nice and we clicked quickly. You felt like you could do your own thing as well as go off with different people depending on what everyone wanted to do.
We were lucky with beautiful weather nearly every day and despite having never camped before, I loved it! The tents were really easy to put up and we had some delicious food round the campfire. The camp facilities were also good; some better than others but we always had access to good showers and toilets and most had wifi and even places to charge devices.
Definitely give one of trek america's tours a go, it went by so quick but I couldnt have had a better time!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Amazing experience!

Reviewed May 2015

This trek is everything you expect.

Nightlife in Vegas to trekking in Grand Canyon.

I completely enjoyed this tour as the West Coast has everything to offer. Grand Canyon helicopter ride is a must, even though it was expensive, it was definately worth it!
What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas is all I can say!
Yosemite was incredible. Amazing views, amazing walks.
San Francisco was lovely, just wish I had more time there!

Weather was possibly a downside as it went cold at night, but had warm days. I'd personally do this trek in May or June where weather would be a little hotter.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Be prepared to have a great experience!

Reviewed May 2015

I really enjoyed the Westerner 2 from Los Angeles. I got to see the sites that I wanted to see. I would say the bus was a bit smaller than I thought however so if you like to travel in comfort then this may not be the best company to go with. Also, it is a proper camping trip. You will stay in a few hotels but most of the time it will be in tents. Some of the group didn't know this and absolutely hated having limited wi- fi and camping. Regarding wi- fi I think considering the amount of money you do pay Trek should not be so tight and buy two 4G wi- fi routers so everyone can be on the wi- fi at once. Because at the end of the day people are selfish. I have written a blog post detailing, day to day, my experience here.

http://www.becbec.uk/2015/04/trek-america-westerner-2-la-to-la-part-1.html

Loading search bar...