Reviews

Westerner 2

(105)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 1-10 of 105 Reviews
Liam H
Westerner 2

Best way to see West Coast USA!

Reviewed September 2018

My trek tour left June 7th 2018 and was my first time experiencing travelling alone at the age of 18. I highly recommend pre-accommodation with trekamerica. They had us stay at Aloft, the hotel right next to the Fairfield; which in my opinion was much more modern.

My tour guide, Anya, was so incredibly knowledgeable of the geographical locations of each of the cities we visited, I still can't believe it was her first time! As for my trek group, it was fantastic traversing the west coast with a bunch of outdoor-oriented and adventurous souls. Being 18, I was a little nervous that I wouldn't be able to include myself in the activities that the 21+ year olds would be able to do, but my group made sure (when necessary) that we went to bars suitable for all ages and found activities that were also age inclusive.

I could not have asked for a better experience travelling alone in California, Nevada and Arizona. I'm so glad I decided to this tour and I'm so happy with the friends and memories that resulted from me going on it!

If you're heading to work at USA summer camps, I highly recommend booking with these tour providers as the dates they offer for tours can work around camp start/end dates.

HANNAH L.
Westerner 2

More incredible than I ever imagined!

Reviewed September 2018

So you’re gonna read a lot of reviews about how apprehensive people were to book and how glad they were that they did. I read a lot of similar reviews before I booked and was probably as skeptical as you are reading mine but it’s impossible to put into words how utterly incredible this trip is you just have to give it a go and see for yourself! I had the most amazing 2 weeks everywhere we stopped I was convinced it couldn’t get more beautiful and nothing else could surprise me but every time it did! From trekking the Grand Canyon to sailing under the Golden Gate Bridge at sunset I couldnt quite believe I was really there. Our trek leader Steven was so helpful and just felt like one of the group. I made great friends and loved getting to know everyone.

I’ll leave you with a quote I learnt along the way “freedom awaits you on the breeze in the sky, you ask what if I fall but oh my darling what if you fly?” And so if these reviews are to be believed surely that’s worth taking a chance and booking cause I guarantee you’ll be flying the whole time!

Georgie
Westerner 2

BEST 14 DAYS EVER!!

Reviewed September 2018

Where to begin.. I was apprehensive of booking this trip, partly because it would be my first solo flight, partly because of being in an unknown territory! But oh my, I am soooo very pleased I did it! Honestly, from the minute I booked it right away through to the end of the tour to now, I have loved it! Meeting the very best friends ever and being able to share the most magical experiences and adventures with them was just incredible! Being taught and shown around places I would never have even known about by the very best tour leader, just helped to make the adventure magical! I've seen the best sunsets and sunrises, slept under the stars, found the most quaint spots in the most idyllic spots. Conquered fears, achieved things I never thought I would ever do! Hiked longer than I thought I could! And learnt so many things about myself and the world! I know its a cliché, but you really do change when you go travelling and see the world! "Fill your life with adventures, not things. Have stories to tell not things to show." I would 100000000000...% recommend booking a trek America tour- especially a westerner 2 tour! Although its only 14 days, you see soooo much!!!!!!

Charlotte Sloan
view profile
Westerner 2

Unforgettable!

Reviewed August 2018

Had the most amazing trip and made amazing friends! Our trek leader Andrew really made the trip special and stress free! Only wish I could've stayed longer and let the adventure continue!

Katherine
Westerner 2

Absolutely incredible!!!

Reviewed July 2018

I cannot recommend this trip enough, it was the perfect trip and one that I know I will never forget. I met some incredible people and life long memories. The trip takes you across the West Coast and most of the driving is done at night or early in the morning so you still have most of the days to explore and do individual activities if you want. The highlights for me were definitely Vegas, San Diego and Yosemite, All the stops made were completely different giving the trip a variety of experiences from challenging hikes, some painful hangovers and just relaxing on the beach. Some of the activities are rather expensive such as the helicopter tour, but if you want the full experience, I would advise saving so you can afford them all. You wont regret it. I went in June and it was a lovely time of year, make sure you bring lots of sun cream for the treks though! There is a lot of camping involved in the trip, something I wasn't used to, but all the equipment is clean and modern. The assembling of the camp each night really helps the camp bond, and there are lots of chances for late night bonfires!

My only warning is that it is an intense trip not leaving much time for a lot of rest if you are not the most active person. But you can catch this up on the mini bus. My group were all really fun and the time in the bus passed very quickly considering how far you go. Also, my tour involved a lot of home cooked breakfasts, lunches and dinners so we didn't have the option to eat at some of the local restaurants that we passed (aside from when we were overnight in the city). But this might be because our tour guide was super healthy!

All in all this was well worth the money. I have some amazing memories that nothing can replace and I thank Trek America so much for that. Don't worry if you are solo traveler, I just called up and ensured I joined a group where everyone booked on their own. By the end of the trip it feels like you have known everyone for a long time.

P.S. Look out for the whale on the San Francisco boat tour at sunset!

tomjmason_136616
Westerner 2

Overwheming Experience!!!

Reviewed July 2018

I travelled from LA around the West Coast from the start of June 2018 and I enjoyed every single minute of this wonderful experience, especially treat myself to fly over The Grand canyon which was brilliant! I felt lucky to travel with fun lovely people who made me feel part of the journey and the camping experience has helped me learned a lot.

I like to thank Brian Eyler who has been an exceptional tour leader especially when I courageously reveal my Autism to him and he though I was an inspiration to everyone during the trip. I wished that memorable journey would never End.

Thank you Trek America for making my money worth while

NOEMI M.
Westerner 2

Adventure, memories for a lifetime

Reviewed April 2018

One of my best decisions so far that I booked this trip instead of travelling alone. I had an awesome 2 weeks with a great group! I experienced an adventure for a lifetime, ticked something from my bucket list literally every day. Thanks for this adventure TrekAmerica, hopefully see you soon!

RLSouthorn
view profile
Westerner 2

Breathtaking.

Reviewed February 2018

My god where do I start? Being a nervous traveller isn't what its all cracked up to be... I was petrified. No this wasn't my first trek, but I was still as scared as the first. It wasn't the meeting new people and visiting new places that bothered me (thats why I wanted to go on the trip) it was the flying part. But hey, if I hadn't have got on that plane, I wouldn't have got into a Helicopter and flew over the Grand Canyon, got stuck in a Sand Dune desert in Arizona in 50 Degree Celsius for 3 hours and would not have experienced Vegas in all of its glory. My god this trip was certainly memorable... even getting stuck in a sand dune desert in Arizona - not planned, but if I had to do it all over again.... I would!!

With massive thanks to Katie, she was an amazing tour leader and she was so loveable!!!!!

FREYA
Westerner 2

Full on, jam packed, full of laughs and adventures!

Reviewed October 2017

Blimey. What an adventure!! Anyone considering this trip needs to book now and go for it. There were so many great moments, I'm not sure where to start!
Our tour leader Tyler was amazing. Such cool dude, even though he was poorly with a cold halfway through and had to miss the ultimate party bus in Vegas! But he made sure he did everything he could to make sure we all got the most out of the trip (illness or no illness). For example, none of our group wanted to go to the San Diego zoo, so he dropped some of us to the beach for surfing (defo recommend surfing here, it was SO much fun!!) and some of us downtown for some exploring.
The van was great, we were a group of 9, which meant we just about had enough extra space to be as comfy as possible for the long drives. Wifi seemed to be unlimited, but slow at times! Loads of charging points, and plenty of essential stops to buy all that yummy American candy haha! We all took turns in sitting up front, playing the tunes, which was great fun.
I wasn't sure how the food situation would work, but it was fine. Everyone gave $10 per day to the tour leader at the beginning and this is used when you all stop off at the supermarket in your teams to buy breakfast, lunch and dinner (teams rotate dinner duties each day). There was leftover in our kitty so all got $5 each at the end, whoop! 2 nights we used the kitty to buy pizza, and the hotel/hostel nights we went out for dinner which was lovely! (not included in the kitty money)
The campsites were fab, one was next to the beautiful Colorado River (where we slept under the stars as it was so hot!), one had a private hot spring hot tub (amazing!) and one by a bay, perfect for swimming. All were absolutely lovely, even if the toilets were a bit gross, but who cares haha! The evening campfires were so magical, all sitting around like a family, with one person on our group playing guitar, so cool! And we got to make S'mores, YUM.
My favourite bits were probably the sunset cruise in San Fran (even though I wasn't initially going to do it because I thought it would be cold and foggy!) but the sunset was absolutely beautiful, and there was food and drink on board, whey! Vegas was the strangest place I've ever been to, but super fun none the less, and singing away in the karaoke bars until 5.30am was such an experience haha! Grand Canyon was incredible. Probably my favourite place of the trip. Myself and 3 others chose to do the Plateau Point trek, the longest of the day treks in the canyon (13 miles). The weather was beautiful, until...we got badly caught in a rain/wind/thunder storm at the bottom of the canyon where a lightening bolt struck the rock we sheltered under!! Crazy, but an adventure...! We walked over 40,000 steps that day.... very proud of #teamlightning! Pizza and sunset over the Canyon that night was well worth it.
Although expensive, it really is worth the money. I had the best time ever, and our group was so lovely, really such wonderful people! No arguments, no fall outs, nothing :)
One little tip, when they recommend pack for all weathers....they mean it! You will go through all sorts of climates and altitudes during the two weeks. Take rain coats, warm clothes, scarves, hats, as well as shorts, sunnies and flip flops!
I've rambled rather a lot in this review...oops! But there is so much to tell! However, I think you should go ahead and book and see for yourselves ;)

FREYA
Westerner 2

Full on, jam packed, full of laughs and adventures!

Reviewed October 2017

Blimey. What an adventure!! Anyone considering this trip needs to book now and go for it. There were so many great moments, I'm not sure where to start!
Our tour leader Tyler was amazing. Such cool dude, even though he was poorly with a cold halfway through and had to miss the ultimate party bus in Vegas! But he made sure he did everything he could to make sure we all got the most out of the trip (illness or no illness). For example, none of our group wanted to go to the San Diego zoo, so he dropped some of us to the beach for surfing (defo recommend surfing here, it was SO much fun!!) and some of us downtown for some exploring.
The van was great, we were a group of 9, which meant we just about had enough extra space to be as comfy as possible for the long drives. Wifi seemed to be unlimited, but slow at times! Loads of charging points, and plenty of essential stops to buy all that yummy American candy haha! We all took turns in sitting up front, playing the tunes, which was great fun.
I wasn't sure how the food situation would work, but it was fine. Everyone gave $10 per day to the tour leader at the beginning and this is used when you all stop off at the supermarket in your teams to buy breakfast, lunch and dinner (teams rotate dinner duties each day). There was leftover in our kitty so all got $5 each at the end, whoop! 2 nights we used the kitty to buy pizza, and the hotel/hostel nights we went out for dinner which was lovely! (not included in the kitty money)
The campsites were fab, one was next to the beautiful Colorado River (where we slept under the stars as it was so hot!), one had a private hot spring hot tub (amazing!) and one by a bay, perfect for swimming. All were absolutely lovely, even if the toilets were a bit gross, but who cares haha! The evening campfires were so magical, all sitting around like a family, with one person on our group playing guitar, so cool! And we got to make S'mores, YUM.
My favourite bits were probably the sunset cruise in San Fran (even though I wasn't initially going to do it because I thought it would be cold and foggy!) but the sunset was absolutely beautiful, and there was food and drink on board, whey! Vegas was the strangest place I've ever been to, but super fun none the less, and singing away in the karaoke bars until 5.30am was such an experience haha! Grand Canyon was incredible. Probably my favourite place of the trip. Myself and 3 others chose to do the Plateau Point trek, the longest of the day treks in the canyon (13 miles). The weather was beautiful, until...we got badly caught in a rain/wind/thunder storm at the bottom of the canyon where a lightening bolt struck the rock we sheltered under!! Crazy, but an adventure...! We walked over 40,000 steps that day.... very proud of #teamlightning! Pizza and sunset over the Canyon that night was well worth it.
Although expensive, it really is worth the money. I had the best time ever, and our group was so lovely, really such wonderful people! No arguments, no fall outs, nothing :)
One little tip, when they recommend pack for all weathers....they mean it! You will go through all sorts of climates and altitudes during the two weeks. Take rain coats, warm clothes, scarves, hats, as well as shorts, sunnies and flip flops!
I've rambled rather a lot in this review...oops! But there is so much to tell! However, I think you should go ahead and book and see for yourselves ;)

Loading search bar...