Reviews

Western Wonder from San Francisco

(25)
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 1-10 of 25 Reviews
ARRAN L.
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed July 2017

This is one off the most amazing things I have ever done are tour leader was so much fun, helpful and knowledgeable. The tour was so packed with amazing experiences and brilliant people to travel with. There is nothing that I would change if I was to do this again.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Hit and miss

Reviewed September 2016

I'd already been out travelling alone for a couple of weeks before I joined the trek. The majority of the people in my group had come with friends so it was just awkward and there was a language barrier between myself and the few other people who had travelled alone.
The first day was supposed to be a tour of San Francisco but it was actually a drive over the Golden Gate Bridge to get to the campsite. If you hadn't spent any time in the city before the tour I think you'd be really disappointed with this and that maybe the trek shouldn't be advertised as having a day in San Francisco because it's just not true. We also stopped somewhere in Yosemite to walk to where the are sequoias which was nice. The camp site was fine, we were lucky and got a new set of camping equipment.
Day 2 was spent in Yosemite which was beautiful but really awkward trying to get involved in groups of long time friends.
Day 3 was the drive to Las Vegas. Obviously no one had slept well in the tents but one member of the group decided that no one was allowed to sleep on the bus and was completely unreasonable about turning the music down. The van then ran out of petrol in the middle of death valley even though we had had a rest stop at a gas station maybe 45 minutes before. Just generally a crap day. The hotel you get to stay in in Vegas is really nice and not a hostel as I was expecting. There was a party bus that night with another trek group.
Day 4 was a free day in Vegas which I hired a car for and was great. I decided to leave the trek take the car for the rest of my time away.
Overall I think group travel is too hit and miss to be worth the money. I think you'd have a really good time if you weren't booked into a group which was mainly people who had come together or if you came with your own friends. It was really awkward being the hanger on to groups of friends who had known each other for years but this wouldn't happen if there was actually as many people travelling alone as they make out. The places you get to see are absolutely amazing but as you don't know what kind of group you're going to get it just isn't worth the money. You can hire a car and get a satnav and hostels for much less and not have to awkwardly linger around people you have no reason to include you.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Best experience of my life and met friends for life

Reviewed December 2015

I was so apprehensive about doing a trek america trip.. I couldn't decide whether to do it... the main issue being was I'd never flown by myself let alone fly to the other side of America. I booked 7 weeks before and I'm glad I did as soon as we set off from San Francisco everyone instantly clicked.. it was like we'd known each other for years. Honestly can say it was the best experience of my life. Vegas was just unforgettable especially as it was Halloween, having S'mores round the camp fire.. the campfire itself everything was just incredible. I know it sounds still but I really enjoyed being in the van.. listening to music and looking out the window. And the Grand Canyon, what an experience especially the sunset just incredible. You feel so care free and its the best feeling. Helen our trek leader was also incredible... we didn't have to cook once as she made us lovely meals. Already planning my next trek.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

One of the best holidays EVER!

Reviewed November 2015

I still think about this holiday nearly 10 years on... and have only just booked my next one with Trek America! I have so many fond memories... I went out there on my own, and came back with a load of new friends, who I STILL keep in touch with. Our tour guide was brilliant. Let's hope the next one is just as good, because I don't think much could beat it!

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

A trip that will stay with you for eternity!

Reviewed August 2015

Unbelievable!

One of the most recent, but without a doubt the most memorable experiences of my life! People ask which bit was the best but it's difficult to say because this trek was like 10 holidays in 1!

Seeing and hiking beautiful Yosemite, taking once-in-a-lifetime opportunities like riding in a helicopter over the Grand Canyon, making friends with truly awesome, having epic amounts of fun in Vegas and chilling at the Colorado River with great people - unbeatable.

Our tour leader (Jess Wray) was extremely knowledgeable and got us everywhere in good time and made tonnes of fun for us during the longer drives! Lots of fun had in the van and at the campsites and everyone got on so well.

I'll definitely do another Trek America again!

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Experience of a lifetime!

Reviewed March 2015

I first went on this trek in 2008 and am now going back (but for an extra week this time) 7 years later and I have absolute faith it's going to be just as good. Met fantastic people, saw beautiful things and have memories that are irreplaceable.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Amazing, speechless, exciting, learning, awesome, lovely, wonderful, beautiful, crazy

Reviewed November 2014

This was truly an amazing trip and I don't regret it at all. If I could do this, exact trip again, I wouldn't even think a second about it. I would just do it. It was so much fun and we all got along together. It was freezing during the first nights, in Yosemite and Sierra Nevada, even in Grand Canyon. But why should I complain, we had so much fun anyways and we help each other to take our minds of the cold and laugh instead. Making the best out of everything. So if anyone is thinking about this trip, just go. But I would recommend to go during the spring or the beginning of the summer because of the cold weather we had.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Already looking at booking another!

Reviewed November 2014

Had a fabulous time, met some amazing people and couldn't recommend highly enough! Ideal as a group or solo, with tons of sightseeing packed in and many great memories made.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Best holiday experience ever!

Reviewed September 2014

The western wonder trek was the best holiday I have ever been on! I was amazed at how much we were able to fit in with just a week to do it. We saw so many amazing sights and so many experiences in just one week. We were able to walk over the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco and then set off to our campsite in Yosemite. The campsite was good and in a perfect location with amazing views and only 30 minutes drive from the national park. The tents we slept in were a lot easier to put up than I thought they would be, which was good news as we had more time to go swimming at the campsite. The next day we spent at Yosemite, and did a lot of walking but it was all worth it for the views that we saw. The next day we were off to Vegas and once we arrived at the hotel (which was really good) we had some time to get ready/have food before going on the limo ride to the Vegas sign and belagio fountains. The next day we spent in Vegas doing whatever we wanted, which ended up spending the morning at the pool and then going out to wonder the other hotels/shops/views of Vegas. The next day we drive to the Grand Canyon, and went on the optional helicopter ride over it (definitely recommended) and then we went and had a walk round it to see it from the ground and watched the sunset whilst eating pizza (perfect night). The next day we spent driving to lake Havasu and on the way we took a stop on Route 66 which was a really cool experience. Lake Havasu was amazing and we also took a stop at London bridge. Lake Havasu was also very hot at 45 degrees celcius, so most of us slept outside rather than in the tents. And our final day was in LA where we had a walk down the walk of fame and then headed to the end hotel where we all said good bye to our amazing trek leader! Overall an incredible unforgettable experience which I would definitely recommend to anyone.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Awesome!!

Reviewed August 2014

This by far the most enjoyable and exciting vacation ever. I saw so many beautiful sides of America and I met so many wonderful people. I really loved my group and my tour leader! Go Jonathan ;)
I will definitely book another trek tour!