Reviews

Northeastern BLT

(38)
Average Rating:
4.6 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 11-20 of 32 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

A very nice experience in wintertime

Reviewed February 2015

I enjoyed this trip very much, it takes you through some beautiful cities and has some great highlights. I really loved Boston and wish we could spend more time there. Stowe is another place I liked a lot, just wish we had more snow.

Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

An amazing experience

Reviewed November 2014

This was the first time I visited North America and was a great introduction to travelling on long distance holidays. I did this trek as I always wanted to visit Niagara Falls and the CN Tower which is a must do on this trip. I met some amazing people in my group despite being a bit nervous before the trek started. Gave a taste of what America and Canada have to offer and will be using Trek America for future holidays to North America.

Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

Absolutely amazingly super fantastically out of this world and then some!!!

Reviewed October 2014

Were to begin!! I landed on Friday the 19th and was able to experience the amazing city of New York before my trek had even started! then on the Saturday I got to meet my group for the first time as we set of on our adventure together starting in buffalo. Our hostel was ok and the drive there was long but fun filled as Garth our tour guide had an awesome road trip play list on the go and it just put every one on a high!!! We got to buffalo and un packed and headed out to pure first of many meals together and it was laughter from beginning to end, finishing off with a few drinks in Allentown and buffalo wings. The next day we took a short drive to Niagara falls, the day started off grey but we were all buzzing and that wouldn't stop us from having an amazing time. We see the beauty that is Niagara falls from top and bottom with the maiden of the mist tour and no picture or words could describe it. All though amazing!!!! Could some it up. After that we had a short stay in Niagara falls canada with a light lunch and a view of the falls from the Canadian side, we hoped back on the bus to Toronto. The Toronto sky line was amazing, like it was just sitting on Lake Ontario and just floating. Once we arrived we got set up in our hostel for the night and had the afternoon to our selfs so we all got a chance to take in the sights and do a bit of shopping. That night Garth reccomended a Korean grill bar as a place to eat and well.... It was AWESOME!!!!!!! All you can eat and you cook the food the way you like it. Again we laughed and had so much fun a few of us headed to the CN tower to see the amazing city of Toronto at night and that in it's self is a wonder to behold. The next morning we set off to Montreal which was a bit of a drive but Garth had it covered with his awesome sound track and stopping and some cool place to eat and stock up on jerky ( oh yeah ). We arrived in a much cooler Montreal and to my amazement we were up the road from the bell centre which I'd brought a ticket for and ice hockey game for the next night. We un packed and our hostel which was class and hit all the right buttons with the whole group. We had another free afternoon so we got our bearings and hit the shops and sights that Montreal had to offer. That night Garth took us to a bar not to far from the hostel and we had an absolute ball the food was flowing and the drinks were flowing and we even tackled the local pub quize (the dirty dozen +1) was our name and we came 9th out of 12 1/2........ I don't know how that worked but it was ace!!!! Day two in Montreal and we hit the shops before we got wet.... Very very wet on the jet boat ride! The whole group laughed from beginning to end and todd the boat guide well Iv never met any one like that in my life he was brilliant and made getting soaked at 60-70mph more enjoyable and I recommend this to every one. That night we had a bite to eat and the rest of the group brought ice hockey tickets and the whole group went and fitted right in with the locals " go HABS go" they won 3-2 by the way, brilliant game. The next day we went back across the boarder to America and traveled to Stowe in Vermont, we stopped of in Burlington were the university of Vermont is and wondered around the town, we also had lunch in a famliy owned diner for over 70 years and the foods still amazing. Then we drove in to Stowe and stopped by an ice rink which we had all to our selfs, every one got stuck in and had ago and it was just fun filled and jokes all afternoon. After getting our skates off we headed to our lodge which was incredible, huge comfy sofas, open fire, pool table and big beds too. We had a littler drive to the Ben and jerrys factory which is just like any tour but with the bonus of ice cream at the end of it. That night we had a quiet night in.... Well not so quiet, we got pizzas and drinks and had an absolute blast even a little sing song on the kareoke ( me and Garth rocked). The next morning in Stowe not feeling too bad I must say we set out to the beautiful mountains of Vermont were personally this was one of my favourite days, we set of in small groups and headed for the top of the mountain after a short journey in a gondola. My group chose the hardes route and we all done our selfs proud at how far we maganed to get and stopped on the mountain ledge for some lunch with the most fantastic views I can describe with words. That night we managed to hit the blue donkey after having stroll though the town of Stowe and enjoyed some great food,drinks and company. After Stowe we headed to our final destination of the journey BOSTON!!!! Or bean town of youre local. We got to our hostel which was newly refurbished and had won awards since 2012. We got sorted and headed to the duck bus tour that Garth had sorted for us, it's a great little tour and you get to see all that Boston has to offer. After the duck bus tour we met up with Garth who booked us a table at the legendary "cheese cake factory "!!!!! This place was insane and the food!! Well it was superb and yet again was an excellent night with incredible people. Day two in Boston started with a tour round Harvard and a free afternoon sightseeing and shopping before having our last meal together. The last meal was held at "dicks last resort"! But don't let the name foul you and I'm not going to ruin it for people and tell you about it but I will say this, you won't find a better place to have an amazing time with amazing people and have such a laugh! You just need to go! Plus the food was decent too. The last day we packed up and headed back to Newark stopping of in new haven and having a wonder round Yale university and the the final stretch down the I95 back to were our tour began. It was a journey that started and finished with barrels of laughter with amazing people and an amazing tour guide who quite simply couldn't of done any more to make this trip more memorable. "You the man Garth you the man" you're adventure starts here press the book now button!!! You won't regret it. Thank you trek america.

Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

Short but sweet - a must do!

Reviewed August 2014

I have been to the US and Western Canada previously and this was also my second trek, so I had high hopes for another amazing trip - and so it was!!

I mainly picked this trip as I had yet to visit any of the destinations listed in the itinerary (except New York - the meeting place) and I was only able to get a short amount of time off work this time round.

My trek group was lovely, my tour guide was amazing, the trek van was comfy and fully equipped with wifi, charging docks, mini bus games and decorations! As it was a BLT, we stayed mainly in hostels, which were all very decent, clean and cosy. For 2 nights we stayed in a huge house, where we were able to cook a group meal as well as have a house party! This is something I hope to see a lot more of in future treks, as it also made the group bond even more.

The only negative point I have to say is there is a lot of driving involved on this tour, so you can't do everything that you may wish to do. My group made the long journeys fun by playing games and listening to music and there were some activities I wish I could have done e.g. The kayaking in Stowe, which we were unable to do because of the weather. But every negative has a positive - it means I'll be re-visiting some places in the future!

Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

A little bit of Everything!

Reviewed July 2014

Although Buffalo just a stopover the Anchor Bar is a must if your a chicken wing fanatic like myself! The fact
you get to see some of America and Canada is just amazing! This trip is an exciting taster into the NorthEast with opportunity to visit different terrains - built up sea side city of Toronto to quaint grass covered hills in Vermont! Got so much from this trip! Met the most amazing people and got to experience some crazy but awesome things in stunning places! So yeah do this trip, you won't regret it Xx

Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed June 2014

Brilliant, I would recommend this trip to anyone. One of my highlights was going to o'noir restaurant in Montreal.
Great people and all of us made friends for life.

Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

Trip of a lifetime!

Reviewed June 2014

It was my first time doing anything like this and I know everyone must say the same thing afterwards but there really was no need to be nervous. From flying out to the States and arriving in the gateway hotel, meeting my fellow travellers to ending the trip back in New York a week later and everything in between, the trip was a once in a lifetime experience that I would do over and over again! The tour leader, Elise, was always up for a laugh, there when you needed her but also able to give you independence to go off and enjoy the cities we visited. I had so much fun and met a great group of people that I'm still in contact with. Its a long 10 days but worth every minute. Not only do you get to see so many great cities, you have little stops on the travelling days where you do extra activities that really help to break up the drives. Recommend to anyone thats wanted to do it for a while, if you have the money what are you waiting for!

Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

A fab trip that was festive and not short of snow!

Reviewed May 2014

This trip was was my second trek and completely different to the sunny westerner 2 BLT I have also done. It was a great 9 days doing a loop of New England a taster of Canada, and packed a lot into those few days. I did this trek on my own and was in an entire group of girls, plus a female trek leader called Whitney who was brilliant. We stayed in hostels everywhere except in Stowe where we stayed in the sweetest guest house that had a log fire and was decorated ready for Christmas. I highly recommend this trip. I'm sure it would be a very different experience at a different time of year but mine was in December and was fabulous. If you would like more info on each stop, check out my blog posts : )

Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

A once in a lifetime experience!

Reviewed December 2013

This was my first ever Trek America trip and although I was slightly nervous about travelling all the way to America alone and spending 9 days with people I didn't know, I really needn't have worried at all. Arriving at the gateway hotel the night before I met another trekker who after a short introduction it became apparent we lived in the same county back at home!
Our tour leader was absolutely brilliant and made the trip an amazing experience which I will never forget. The group got to know each other very quickly and it was as if we had known each other for years after only a few days of travelling.
This was fantastic trip with some very memorable experiences and like all holidays came to an end too quickly! It was a good 'taster' of what the trek america tours are like and already I want to book myself on another trip in 2014.

Past Trekkers Review
Northeastern BLT

Most fun way to see an incredible area.

Reviewed November 2013

Every day of the trek had great experiences, interesting sights and fun nights out. Visiting such a place with other like-minded people is the most fun and enjoyable way to travel.

Loading search bar...