Reviews

Freedom Trail

(33)
Average Rating:
4.1 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 21-30 of 33 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

A Fantastic Experience!

Reviewed September 2013

This was a fantastic way to see the Northeast of America in a very short period of time, the tour is action packed from start to finish, taking in the historic sights of Washington D.C, Gettysburg and Boston as well as the scenic beauty of Niagara Falls and upstate New York, a perfect mix of cities and country. With the short time frame there is a lot of driving involved and long days, however if you dont like a road trip then this isn't the trip for you! It is worth it! Most days the driving was around 4 hours between places, however between Niagara Falls and 'The Berkshires' the driving can easily be 9 hours depending on stops and traffic.

Each campsite was great, having full toilet and shower facilites, and the campsites at D.C and Niagara even having swimming pools. The hostel in Boston was fantastic (I've stayed in worse hotels), brand new, smack in the middle of downtown and very clean and comfortable. Our tour leader was great and extrememly knowledgable about the different places we visited, giving us a brief outline of the Battle of Gettysburg and the American Civil War (very interesting) and tips in the cities on places to eat and see etc. Camping equipment was great and this was a fantastic and easy way to see the Northeast with a great bunch of people! Best trip ever.

Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

Unforgettable!

Reviewed August 2013

What a way I see a country! Met some of the most amazing people and obtained memories I will cherish forever! :-D

Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

Best Holiday in my life!!!!!!

Reviewed August 2013

I only have to say: that was my best Holiday ever!!

When i have money again, i would do it again, a trekamerica Tour!!

Thank you trek America for this experiences!!

Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

Absolutely Amazing

Reviewed August 2013

WOW!!!

It was brilliant. There was lots to do wish it was longer. The driving wasnt so bad theres a lot of ground to cover in a short amount of time, but the stops, music and laughs along the way break up the drive times.

The campsites were good and the hostel in Boston we stayed in was really nice.

Our tour leader Kristen was brilliant she knew her stuff.

You get the chance to have free time as well to go off and do your own thing and get to explore the area you are in.

Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

FANTASTIC & UNFORGETABLE!

Reviewed August 2013

Washington DC
Bear Country
Niagara Falls
Boston
New York

Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

Great attractions - jam packed tour!

Reviewed June 2013

This is a fast paced trek and you cover large distances in a short period. Some days the driving was 4 hours, others 7hours... but if you have a problem with a road trip then this isn't for you! The attractions and cities were great - with Niagara Falls (Maid of the Mist), Boston and DC being the key highlights. The other stops such as Gettysburg and Berkshires seemed somewhat ancillary to the main parts of the trek (although necessary due to driving times and the travel route). We had a great leader who used the travel time wisely and took advantage of being able to do small detours to see additional attractions (Philadelphia, a random baseball game, Jello museum etc) that weren't listed on the formal itinerary but were great things to do along the way that broke up the travel time. Be prepared to set up and set down your campsite almost every single night as from my experience, there was only one occasion where we stayed two consecutive nights at the same site.

Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

Best decision I've ever made!

Reviewed December 2012

What a great experience! I wanted to see Niagara DC and Boston and I got my wish!

Campsite in Washington was good, did have a pool and hot tub but was raining when we were there, didn't dampen the mood though, it was a great laugh! Lots of time on day two to walk around DC, went to the White House and capital building and lots of the smithsonian museums, air and space was a personal favourite!

Off to Niagara, what a place! You can do your own research on the actual falls but the campsite was amazing in buffalo, down by a lake, we went swimming at sunset, the water was so warm, the view was amazing. Defo a highlight, it was like something you see in the movies! We went to Canada too, people on J-1 visas need passport and paperwork to get in so be careful! I was on a h2B and just needed my passport.

Boston bound and another great campsite along the way, water slightly cooler but more amazing views and what I would consider a bit rougher camping but still comfy, ur so tired from doing so much that any ground is a more than adequate bed!

In Boston, hostel was amazing, I've stayed in hostels in San Diego Dallas Hawaii New York, but this one has been recently refurbished and it shows! Like a luxury hotel!!

Our trek leader was Bree and she was class! Such a laugh and always asked what we wanted to do, joined in with the banter and nights out and drinking and games and everything. Couldn't praise her more really!

If your in two minds about doing this, DO IT!

Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

Over Promised, Under delivered!!!!

Reviewed December 2012

Having returned from a trek (Westener 2 in the previous Oct) I was excited to sign up to another one and head away again! Unfortunately this trip was a TOTAL let down.

The destinations were as I'd expected however (loved Niagara, Washington quite history/politically focused, and Boston was nice had we had any time to really see it). The stops on route were nothing more than stop-overs, getting there too late in the day to even explore camp site and surroundings (on was a NP so that could have been nice). Some of this might have been down to a poor tour leader (disorganised, seemingly uninterested, frequently got lost etc). If we actually got set off on time and didnt have to take hours worth of de-tours due to getting lost there might have been more 'holiday' time! Who knows.

I appreciate with a large itinerery it was always going to be a rush but this was a bit of a joke and had it not have been my holiday might have been funny!

Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

Brilliant Week!

Reviewed December 2012

A great week, exactly as advertised. It was a great chance to meet up and travel with a group of like minded people; and cover a lot of ground in a short period of time.

Each of the campsites was great, as were the locations visited! It is true there is a lot of driving involved, but there is no way around it if you want to visit DC, Niagara and Boston all in one week, and staying in some stunning locations (Allegany State Park, Otis Resevoir (in the Berkshires) and a campsite right on the edge of Lake Ontario) on the in between nights made up for the long drives :) We also always had time to make the most of each site, and enjoyed peddle boating, swimming and hiking.

I felt it complimented my other travels perfectly (I spent a significant amount of time in New York, and also travelled to Florida - all post Summer Camp), and will definitely be returning for another trek in the future!

Past Trekkers Review
Freedom Trail

Rubbish

Reviewed December 2012

Thoroughly disappointed by the trek. Spent up to 10 hours solidly in the van and arrived well into the evening at some campsites and left early the next morning. The tents were old and had holes in, and the van was extremely crowded. Although the tour leader was nice, this didn't make up for the extremely poor trip and bad value for money. Will not be returning!

Loading search bar...