Reviews

Best of the East

(36)
Average Rating:
4.7 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 21-30 of 36 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

A brilliant mix of cities & countryside, camping & hosteling

Reviewed October 2013

I did this trek because it started and finished in New York, so it fitted in perfectly with my travel plans (and if you're coming from Europe, it's cheaper and easier than having to fly out west). I'm big into the scenic/rural stuff, so this was a great trek to do. It covers a little bit of everything, and really sums up the east coast well - you'll hit about 13 states, and it's great to head into some of the southern states too! A must is the white water rafting - ignore the extra cost, just do it!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

A Must Do

Reviewed September 2013

A very well organised trek that also allowed for flexibility to make it personal. You see so many places in such a short amount of time. The places you see are first class and also ionic landmarks. Towards the end of the trek the driving time increases and stops are less frequent but on the most part the stops are equally spread. A warning though. there is a lot of driving so remember a pillow! If you want to see the same places but are considering doing it on your own, maybe to save money, I would recommend this trek. I was considering doing this, but having a local expert, driver, team leader, camping equipment, new friends, organiser and a van, are all priceless additions you get from the trek and your guide. Thus making it hassle free travelling, allowing you just to sit back and fully enjoy the places.

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

A life changing experience with memories I will cherish forever!!

Reviewed September 2013

I would recommend this trip to anyone!! I felt very nervous about travelling on my own but met the most amazing people on my tour. We were a small group of 8 who soon became like family. We were of a variety of ages and nationalities but gelled and enjoyed each others company.

I Loved camping in so many different states and visiting some lovely people. I would never have seen and done what I did If I hadn't have gone with trek . My group was pretty chilled out and worked well as a group helping each other out with the duties. We chilled in the evenings and enjoyed visiting places in the day.

Our tour guided Daniel Moore was first class , so knowledge and nothing was ever too much trouble . He made the whole trip a great success and would love him to be my tour guide again as he looked after us so well and ensured that we had a great time.

I would thoroughly recommend this company to anyone and if you are unsure in any way don't be, you will never regret it!! It was a great way to see America and really cost effective . The camping was great fun and I loved going back to the simple things in life!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Amazing trek. Entertaining leader. Lifelong Friends. Beautiful sceneries. Best Memories!

Reviewed April 2013

I would recommend this trek to anyone thinking about exploring America. Although you do not get to spend a lot of time in each place (but what can you expect from covering so many places in only 14 days), every place has something different to offer and as each day goes by, more and more memories are made. Personally, I do not like travelling as I suffer with travel sickness, but along with dosing up with travel sickness tablets, the excitement to be moving on to more amazing places kept this under control. Whether it was chilling by the pool in the Great Smokey Mountains, hiking through nation parks, cycling through Chicago, sailing through Niagara Falls, Horse Riding in Tennessee or even shopping in Walmart these were the best days I have ever spent! Even while I was getting eaten alive by the bugs and had my first ever nose bleed from being so high up I was having the time of my life!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Great tour, best time of my life.

Reviewed February 2013

If anyone is reading this and thinking of booking the Best Of The East - Do it!! Its is such a great tour covering plenty of cities, states & national parks. Like Trek America says on the website, "no tour is the same" we visited Indianapolis, Indiana to watch a baseball game which was cool, a few nights later we got to walk through to the Canadian border for a few pints in the Hard Rock Cafe ;) With a great view of the iluminated Niagara Falls of course. Almost forgot the tour of the Jim Beam Distillery in Clermont, Kentucky.
None of these mini "adventures" were scheduled on the itinerary which was a nice suprise when we found out.

I enjoyed this so much I have booked another tour on the Pacific Coast later this year!!

Happy Trekking!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

One of the Best Experiences of my Life

Reviewed January 2013

I was attracted to this trek because of its balance between countryside and city. Hitting some of the biggest cities in the northeast - Chicago, Washington, Nashville, New York - was interspersed with true camping experiences in some very memorable places, such as the Great Smoky Mountains, Shenandoah National Park and Lake Ontario.

The people I met on this trek, I am still in contact with to this day. The photos and videos we collected only help to reinforce the wonderful memories we created together. The tour guide for our trek was very knowledgeable, and had a great sense of fun and adventure that rippled throughout the whole group. With many of us residing in the UK, we have had the opportunity to meet up at home and reminisce our adventure. This trek rounded off my first ever visit to the USA, and did it with style.

This is the perfect trek for those that would like a balance between culture and countryside, between mountains and plains, between skyscrapers and wildlife. Leave your inhibitions at home, and bring your instinct for adventure, because this trek with truly take your breath away. And you'll make lifelong friends and memories in the process.

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Once in a lifetime - Amazing

Reviewed December 2012

Saw the fact you could review treks on here, and I just wanted to say how amazing my experience was. I booked on this trek as an individual however I discovered that people I met out in the states were also on this trek so that meant I had the re-assurance of knowing people on my trek, however I made friends very quickly with the rest of my group. The locations we visited were amazing and I'd have to say the best stop on the tour was Nashville, such an amazing unique city and you really do have to experience it for yourself to understand. The camping tutorials on the first day were very straightforward and a few days in we were all able to assemble/disassemble our tents with ease. I think what makes trek so special is the staff it employs, in our case, Michael Uttley our guide was fantastic, was essentially one of us during our trek, only downside for him was that he did all the driving, that said he always maintained a professional approach during our time with him, but he is one of the main reasons I will be doing a trek AGAIN next summer and if I had a preference I would personally request him because he was fantastic.

Two weeks was more than enough for this trek though I wouldn't of minded more time in Nashville as opposed to a couple of the other stops.

Overall 10/10

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Ful of adventures and memories!

Reviewed December 2012

This trek was amazing. Yes; there was a lot of driving, but in order to see so many places you need to travel very much :) I'm happy I went. We were lucky with the weather - only one day of rain, and our tour guide was amazing :) a little crowded in the van, but it went ok. Can't wait for my next trip with Trek America (don't know which one yet though) :)

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

best group holiday experience ever

Reviewed December 2012

I was apprehensive about booking a camping group holiday....not exactly being the outdoor type. This quickly turned into the best holiday ever..even if it did rain a few days. Met some great people, some great new experiences that you couldn't get anywhere else. Would easily recommend this trip to anyone. So if you are thinking of doing it...the DO IT!!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Brilliant experience.

Reviewed December 2012

Such a great way to see so many amazing places in two weeks. The highlight has to be the bars in Nashville and bike trip in Chicago and then meeting back up in New York afterwards. The best way to see the real America, particularly in the national parks, rather than just the tourist spots. Definitely do the whitewater rafting - amazing! Surprisingly I loved the campsites as well! It makes you feel like your really part of America rather than in just a touristy hotel. Everyone was so friendly and our tour leader was awesome.

Loading search bar...