Reviews

Best of the East

(36)
Average Rating:
4.7 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 11-20 of 36 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Truly Amazing

Reviewed September 2014

I'm not great at leaving reviews but here is it:-

This was my very first Trek and it won't be my last! I had an amazing two weeks with a great group of people.
Our tour leader Catie was the best, she got joined us on some of the activities such as the white water rafting by the way people white water rafting is a must on this trip!
I must say Nashville was one of the best places I visited, If you love live music you will truly fall in love with this place.

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

The best time of my life

Reviewed July 2014

I have done the Southern Sun tour a year previous to this so I knew to have high expectations. This tour was AMAZING. Our leader was the coolest person ever (Lauren Stanwyck) and took us to unbelievable places.

Highlights to me where white water rafting the new river in West Virginia, hiking and swimming under a waterfall in the Great Smoky Mountains Tennessee, and just relaxing around a fire, making smores with some great friends.

This tour is for the nature/ outdoors/ adventure lover, and it is just the best thing you will ever do!!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Best three weeks ever, can't wait to go back!

Reviewed July 2014

This was my second trip with Trek America; the first being the Cross Country BLT. I chose the Best of the East trip because it revisited a couple of my favourite places from the BLT (D.C. and Nashville) plus it had almost all the places I wanted to see in the East. I was a bit hesitant about camping at first but I worried for nothing, the camping was really fun, and definitely helps you bond more with your group quicker. Plus more time for s'mores!

The Best of the East really hits all the highlights in North East USA. You even get a quick trip to Canada when you visit Niagara Falls! Having the tour begin and end in New York City is great too as you can book extra days before and/or after the trip for exploring the city. I made the mistake of not doing this when I started the BLT in New York so I gave myself five days after the trip, moving to a NYC hotel after the second night. The gateway hotel is about a 40 minute train journey into NYC. The trip doesn't spend any time in NYC so make sure you book an extra couple of days if you do want to visit.

The optional and included activities on the trip are great. I hiked a small part of the Appalachian Trial, went white water rafting, zip lining and horseback riding - and that was just in the space of three days! Maid of the Mist was so much fun, amazing to see the Falls up so close. Tip: you do get wet so be careful taking a camera! Our bike tour in Chicago was cancelled due to a serious thunderstorm but they kindly rearranged it for the next morning. I didn't personally do this one even though it was an included activity but everyone on my trip that did said how great it was so I'd recommend that.

Our tour leader, Mary Rae, was incredible. I don't think our group could ever praise her enough. The trip would definitely not have been the same without her constant upbeat and positive energy! We were only her 2nd group and we really threw a lot at her but she handled it expertly! So if you get Mary Rae as a tour guide for a trip, trust me, you're in good hands! She paid attention to each group member's interests and tried to accommodate any requests we had for certain sights or attractions. I asked at the beginning of the trek if we would get a chance to see a sports game so she arranged for us to see the White Sox in Chicago. We had a Colts fan on board so we stopped off at their home stadium in Indianapolis. Being interested in American History meant that one of my trip highlights was a spontaneous trip to Hogdenville, Lincoln's hometown, which we wouldn't have even known was so close to our route if we hadn't of needed to detour because of a traffic jam. It's these little things that make Trek America trips so special - you can do five Best of the East trips and every single one will be different!

If you're hesitant about spending two weeks with a group of strangers - don't be! After a couple of days you're all like one big family. We've only been back three weeks and we're already planning our reunion! I'd definitely recommend trying to find your fellow trekkers before starting, be it on Facebook or the trek forums. We had a Facebook group going more than six months before our trip and that definitely helped break the ice, and it's great for getting advice about what to take, etc.

In summary, if you're thinking about doing Best of the East, just book it. I can promise you it'll be one of the best experiences ever.

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Great variety, great destinations and great folk!

Reviewed July 2014

This was my third Trek camping trip so I knew what to expect and this trip lived up to my expectations. My first two treks were on the west coast, more based around National Parks and had greater potential for hiking as a result. This one is more city-based with some more limited hiking opportunities. I like my hiking, but in spite of this I enjoyed all of the cities we visited and the mix of the two will suit most people. Personally I would have liked more time to hike in Shenandoah National Park (Appalacian Trail) and Great Smokey Mountains, but the trip would need to be at least a couple of days longer to make this possible. The camp sites were all really good and a few had swimming pools. As with all of these trips, having a good group of people to travel with can make or break a trip. In the three Trek trips I've now done, I can honestly say that I've got on well with everyone. Everyone I've met on these trips is there to have fun and experience new things, but also contribute to the team effort cooking/washing up/cleaning the van on the excellent rota system, and generally help others out. Our leader - Mary Rae also did us proud - thank you so much!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

AMAZING

Reviewed July 2014

This was my first Trek America trip and it will not be may last!

Everything about this trip was amazing, we had a great bunch off people and an amazing tour guide Mary-rae!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Amazing value, loads to see, great tour leader, definitely recommend!

Reviewed July 2014

It was my first time to the USA and I'm so happy that I went with Trek America! Had an amazing time and wouldn't change a thing. There was so much to see and do so it was great value for money. Also shared my trip with twelve other great people and an amazing tour leader. I fully recommend this touring you're having doubts about booking, I'm now planning my second trip with Trek!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

13 nights with 13 legends

Reviewed July 2014

You only have to scan over the reviews to realise what a special tour operator Trek America is. And no matter how good you think it is going to be, it will exceed your expectations.

I've been to the States on many occasions on family vacations but you stay in one location and see pretty much everything there, even the boring stuff. Trek America take you to the necessities, the places you need to see. For example, on the first day of Best of the East you will travel to Philadelphia where you will get off the bus to run up the 'Rocky' steps, then go see the Liberty Bell and then on to get a Philly Cheese Steak sandwich. And that's it, Philadelphia done. For a 14 day trip you see a hell of a lot in a hell of a lot of places. Every day is a new adventure, and the beauty of the trip is that you get to spend it with up to 13 other people who are all there for the same thing. The first day is always going to be a tad awkward, asking everyone the same questions but by the end of it you're a family, using each other as cushions, passing food around and doing washing together. In my groups case, we were like a family after a matter of days! I think I prefer my fellow Trekkers to my actual family!

In a nutshell, if you're thinking of doing a Trek, DO IT. And try and pick a Trek with camping. The camping helps with bonding and makes you value beds so much more. Have fun on your future Trek!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Incredible Two Weeks - Great People, Great Experiences'

Reviewed July 2014

This was my first time to the USA and I'm so glad I decided to do Trek America. I had an amazing two weeks and enjoyed every minute of my trip! This tour covers so many amazing places and sights, some of my highlights included seeing Washington DC and the view from the top of the Washington Monument, seeing 4 black bears in the Smokey Mountains, White Water Rafting on the New River and sailing on the Maid Of The Mist. We had a fantastic group, everyone got on well. But most of all, our tour leader Mary Rae Staples was just awesome, always upbeat, enthusiastic and always willing to help! - even taking a detour to find a doctor to look at blisters on my feet after all the walking! And this was only her second trip, such a great guide! I'm already looking at booking my next Trek!

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

best holiday ever

Reviewed July 2014

This was my second trek so I wasn't as nervous as on my first one, this one was camping so different to what I'm used to buy it was amazing. I keep telling myself I want to see Europe and Asia but I keep coming back to America it's such an amazing and diverse country and you get to see so much on a trek.

Anyway to best of the east! I had the most amazing time and after being home 3 days I already know what one I want to do next!
Every day was fun even if it was a van appreciation day, we all got on really well as a group so it didn't matter where we were! West Virginia is now my favourite place and I will definitely be going back, white water rating and zip lining there were so much fun :) I have so many memories from this trip that I will never forget!

Our tour leader Mary Rae was amazing she tried so hard for us all and was enthusiastic all the time even in "biting" times ;) and to think we were only her 2nd group! Amazing amazing amazing :)

Past Trekkers Review
Best of the East

Breathtaking

Reviewed May 2014

Best of the East in 2009 was my first time to the US, it made me fall in love with this part of North America and have been back every year since. The Trek was just wonderful we were made up of solo travelers except 2 friends from Perth in Australia. As soon as we met the night before we set of we knew that we were in for one heck of a great time. The Appalachin mountains are just breathtaking along with Kentucky. Shelli our tour guide was amazing she went above and beyond for us. This was also a great time of the year as it was not too hot and trust me it get's hot in NYC, DC and Chicago in the summer.

This trek is a wonderful way to see the what the eastern states have to offer. Book it and you wont be disappointed!!

Loading search bar...