Reviews

All Trips

Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 101-110 of 1213 Reviews
FREYA
Westerner 2

Full on, jam packed, full of laughs and adventures!

Reviewed October 2017

Blimey. What an adventure!! Anyone considering this trip needs to book now and go for it. There were so many great moments, I'm not sure where to start!
Our tour leader Tyler was amazing. Such cool dude, even though he was poorly with a cold halfway through and had to miss the ultimate party bus in Vegas! But he made sure he did everything he could to make sure we all got the most out of the trip (illness or no illness). For example, none of our group wanted to go to the San Diego zoo, so he dropped some of us to the beach for surfing (defo recommend surfing here, it was SO much fun!!) and some of us downtown for some exploring.
The van was great, we were a group of 9, which meant we just about had enough extra space to be as comfy as possible for the long drives. Wifi seemed to be unlimited, but slow at times! Loads of charging points, and plenty of essential stops to buy all that yummy American candy haha! We all took turns in sitting up front, playing the tunes, which was great fun.
I wasn't sure how the food situation would work, but it was fine. Everyone gave $10 per day to the tour leader at the beginning and this is used when you all stop off at the supermarket in your teams to buy breakfast, lunch and dinner (teams rotate dinner duties each day). There was leftover in our kitty so all got $5 each at the end, whoop! 2 nights we used the kitty to buy pizza, and the hotel/hostel nights we went out for dinner which was lovely! (not included in the kitty money)
The campsites were fab, one was next to the beautiful Colorado River (where we slept under the stars as it was so hot!), one had a private hot spring hot tub (amazing!) and one by a bay, perfect for swimming. All were absolutely lovely, even if the toilets were a bit gross, but who cares haha! The evening campfires were so magical, all sitting around like a family, with one person on our group playing guitar, so cool! And we got to make S'mores, YUM.
My favourite bits were probably the sunset cruise in San Fran (even though I wasn't initially going to do it because I thought it would be cold and foggy!) but the sunset was absolutely beautiful, and there was food and drink on board, whey! Vegas was the strangest place I've ever been to, but super fun none the less, and singing away in the karaoke bars until 5.30am was such an experience haha! Grand Canyon was incredible. Probably my favourite place of the trip. Myself and 3 others chose to do the Plateau Point trek, the longest of the day treks in the canyon (13 miles). The weather was beautiful, until...we got badly caught in a rain/wind/thunder storm at the bottom of the canyon where a lightening bolt struck the rock we sheltered under!! Crazy, but an adventure...! We walked over 40,000 steps that day.... very proud of #teamlightning! Pizza and sunset over the Canyon that night was well worth it.
Although expensive, it really is worth the money. I had the best time ever, and our group was so lovely, really such wonderful people! No arguments, no fall outs, nothing :)
One little tip, when they recommend pack for all weathers....they mean it! You will go through all sorts of climates and altitudes during the two weeks. Take rain coats, warm clothes, scarves, hats, as well as shorts, sunnies and flip flops!
I've rambled rather a lot in this review...oops! But there is so much to tell! However, I think you should go ahead and book and see for yourselves ;)

FREYA
Westerner 2

Full on, jam packed, full of laughs and adventures!

Reviewed October 2017

Blimey. What an adventure!! Anyone considering this trip needs to book now and go for it. There were so many great moments, I'm not sure where to start!
Our tour leader Tyler was amazing. Such cool dude, even though he was poorly with a cold halfway through and had to miss the ultimate party bus in Vegas! But he made sure he did everything he could to make sure we all got the most out of the trip (illness or no illness). For example, none of our group wanted to go to the San Diego zoo, so he dropped some of us to the beach for surfing (defo recommend surfing here, it was SO much fun!!) and some of us downtown for some exploring.
The van was great, we were a group of 9, which meant we just about had enough extra space to be as comfy as possible for the long drives. Wifi seemed to be unlimited, but slow at times! Loads of charging points, and plenty of essential stops to buy all that yummy American candy haha! We all took turns in sitting up front, playing the tunes, which was great fun.
I wasn't sure how the food situation would work, but it was fine. Everyone gave $10 per day to the tour leader at the beginning and this is used when you all stop off at the supermarket in your teams to buy breakfast, lunch and dinner (teams rotate dinner duties each day). There was leftover in our kitty so all got $5 each at the end, whoop! 2 nights we used the kitty to buy pizza, and the hotel/hostel nights we went out for dinner which was lovely! (not included in the kitty money)
The campsites were fab, one was next to the beautiful Colorado River (where we slept under the stars as it was so hot!), one had a private hot spring hot tub (amazing!) and one by a bay, perfect for swimming. All were absolutely lovely, even if the toilets were a bit gross, but who cares haha! The evening campfires were so magical, all sitting around like a family, with one person on our group playing guitar, so cool! And we got to make S'mores, YUM.
My favourite bits were probably the sunset cruise in San Fran (even though I wasn't initially going to do it because I thought it would be cold and foggy!) but the sunset was absolutely beautiful, and there was food and drink on board, whey! Vegas was the strangest place I've ever been to, but super fun none the less, and singing away in the karaoke bars until 5.30am was such an experience haha! Grand Canyon was incredible. Probably my favourite place of the trip. Myself and 3 others chose to do the Plateau Point trek, the longest of the day treks in the canyon (13 miles). The weather was beautiful, until...we got badly caught in a rain/wind/thunder storm at the bottom of the canyon where a lightening bolt struck the rock we sheltered under!! Crazy, but an adventure...! We walked over 40,000 steps that day.... very proud of #teamlightning! Pizza and sunset over the Canyon that night was well worth it.
Although expensive, it really is worth the money. I had the best time ever, and our group was so lovely, really such wonderful people! No arguments, no fall outs, nothing :)
One little tip, when they recommend pack for all weathers....they mean it! You will go through all sorts of climates and altitudes during the two weeks. Take rain coats, warm clothes, scarves, hats, as well as shorts, sunnies and flip flops!
I've rambled rather a lot in this review...oops! But there is so much to tell! However, I think you should go ahead and book and see for yourselves ;)

Laura J
Glaciers and Grizzlies Plus

Most amazing, beautiful fun place I have ever been!

Reviewed October 2017

Canada is my favourite place I have ever visited; it's truly beautiful with lots of hidden gems. The mountains never get boring and each lake is amazing to look at , no two are the same and you get to visit some of the best ones- Louise, Emerald, Morraine. We visited lots of places - hot springs, towns, Maligne Canyon, Othello tunnels and on the longer bus rides it was split off with stopoffs to see coool places on the way so it didn't seem a long time. In each place we would get abit of free time to explore so you could always check out the things you wanted to see.

White water rafting and ziplining are amazing and so worth doing and there were lots of opportunities for hiking, shopping and of course nights out if you wanted to. My favourite night out was Banff with karaoke but they were all brilliant. Make sure you try to get involved, we had 44 people on our trip and everyone was really friendly. Alot of days I would literally drift between talking to different people,I was travelling alone but it was easy to mix with everyone. The last evening everyone had pizzas in the olympic plaza in Whistler which was amazing followed by a night out.Great end to the trip.

Our tour leader was called Dustin and he was amazing. He talked to everyone, knew answers to all the questions and was a great laugh. He brought lots of fun to the trip and everyone loved him and our bus drivrR Ian.

The accomodation was pretty good, shared in twos and as a three in Whistler. Most the trip you stay with one roomate, but you can swap, we did as some of us wanted to stay out later some nights than others. It was really warm when we went (trip started 2nd september) i took too much for cold weather though some evenings and early mornings were chilly. I wish i had took a few more shorts and vest tops. Also take some evening options, nothing too dressy, mainly a nice top and shorts or skirt or jeans. I would take things you can wear for different times (day/night) and stuff you can layer up so you aren't filling your case with lots of extras you don't need. We left 9/10ish each morning and most places had laundry though I had enough clothes to last out.

I would advise staying an extra night or two either night of the trip. Some of us met before and visIted the Capilano Suspension Bridge and cycled Stanley Park. It was good to have met some people already before the trip began. I also went whale watching after the trip and saw orcas but i wish i had an extra day or two, Vancouver is amazing and there is load to do. Definately plan before going what you want to do in the time you have and the Suspension bridge you can buy a ticket online which lasts a year! Also from the Accent inn you can get the shuttle bus to the skytrain which was useful for getting around and also to the airport.

Unfortunately we did not see any bears, i don't think the forest fires helped but we saw elk a few times which was cool and chipmunks, pikas and mountain goats and some people saw a racoon and eagle. Don't expect to see bears or moose, the trip should probably change its name as we got told by quite alot of canadians we would be very lucky if we actually saw any .

I would say definately hike up to the tea house at Lake Louise, the view is amazing and do white water rafting and ziplining.

I would recommend this trip to anyone, it's totally fantastic. Travelling solo was fine, i was really scared before going but it was alot easier than i thought it would be. Everyone was really friendly, and there were about five couples and few group of friends but most people were solo. The rockies are spectacular you cannot beat them . Definately book this it is an awsome trip you won't regret. I would 100% go on another trek but Canada will be hard to top!

SOFIE M.
Southern Sun from New York

A freaking amazing roadtrip that I will never forget!!!

Reviewed October 2017

If you are thinking about going this trip, stop thinking and just book it! It might be a lot of money, you might need to work extra hard and save up for a long time but it is totally worth it! I would do the trip all over again if I could! This trip will be an experience of you life time trust me! You start in New York, you go to Philly, you get to see all the monuments and famous buildings in Washington DC, white water rafting in Appalachian Mountains, you get to line dance in amazing Nashville, walk around in Memphis, eat some southern food in New Orleans, eat a hell lot of meat in Texas and you get to keep Austin weird! And to not even talk about running where Forrest Gump ran and sleep under the stars in Monument Valley and after you wake up from your night under the stars you get to watch the sunset over Grand Canyon! From the great Grand Canyon you go creek walking in Zion National Park an hike the Angels Landing trail. And from Zion you go to the weirdest place on earth, Las Vegas! And as you know, what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas! And then after three weeks on the road you finally make your way to the Hollywood sign in Los Angeles! Even though this is the end of an amazing trip and you might be very sad that it's over, you will still have all amazing memories and a bunch of new friends! There is no way to describe how awesome this trip is, you just have to experience it your self! So all I can say is, just go! There is no way in the world that you will regret it! The only thing you will regret is if you don't go and then you see what an amazing time everyone else had! If you want to you can watch my video 'Trek America - Southern Sun Road Trip 2017' https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0YZDwzVAhA&t=5s

Northern Trail from New York

Ironic

Reviewed October 2017

I really like the Northern Trail as you get to see more National Parks than the cities in the north! Mostly it was sunny with few clouds while travelling and only had like 2-3 days of rain while travelling! Visited Canada for couple of hours while touring in Niagara Falls in the US side! Tour leader was brilliant! Yellowstone is worth to see.

Vicki Johnson
San Francisco to Yosemite Mini

A great escape from the city to the mountains!

Reviewed September 2017

After 2 weeks spent in and around San Francisco it was so lovely to get out into the hills. We had a full mini-bus of people from all over the world and all ages. Everyone was easy to get on with. You head straight out to Tahoe from San Fran arriving there for a picnic lunch by the lake - beautiful views. Our guide then gave us 2 options for a walk during the afternoon. We had a couple of hours so opted for a hike to Eagle Lake (well worth it). Then it was straight to the campsite near Zephyr Cove to learn how to pitch our tents and set up camp. No-one on my trip wanted to do the boat trip so instead we all had a BBQ by the lake and watched the stunning sunset. It was a short but sweet visit to Tahoe - I now want to go back for longer. The next morning it's a long, but scenic drive to Yosemite. We arrived early afternoon and had about 3 hours to explore. We walked to Yosemite Falls and then Mirror Lake. Others hiked up to Vernal Falls. Then a drive to the campsite where we made Fajitas and Smores for tea! The next morning we had time to visit the Giant Sequoia grove, have a couple of photo stops and then head back to San Fran. Another long trip with an In &Out Burger stop off! This trip doesn't give you long in each place but is still well worth doing as it's just so great to escape the city and see more of what California has to offer. Our guide was fantastic and I'll definitely be doing another trek in the future :-)

JESSICA
Westerner 3

This trip will be the highlight of your travels!

Reviewed September 2017

If you're even slightly interested in seeing the West Coast's National Parks, book yourself on this trip immediately! It has such a great mix of parks, cities, and small town stop-offs along the way. Nothing felt rushed, although I could have easily spent way more time in some places, it always felt like we had a good amount of time to see not just the 'highlights' but a bit more.

The hikes were incredible, nothing can prepare you for the beauty you will see. We always had recommendations from our trip leader for which hikes were great to do in a day, which was always helpful if you weren't sure what you wanted to do.

The camping was great, tents super easy to put up/pack down. Cooking meals together and sitting around a campfire means you make better connections with the other people on your trip, instead of all disappearing into your hotel rooms.

Our trip leader Jen is the ultimate MVP. She is down to earth, helpful yet encouraged everyone to dig in and get out of their comfort zones. Special mention to the fact she drove that silly stretch of road between the Grand Canyon campground, and the helicopters, back and forth six times to make sure we made it on a flight. It must have been so frustrating but she was very upbeat and never made us feel guilty for doing so. She was always genuinely searching for ways to make our experience incredible.

Toni-Louise Turner
Los Angeles to Grand Canyon Mini

Unforgettable

Reviewed September 2017

After finishing 10 weeks working at an american summer camp over on the East coast with a week to do some sightseeing I wanted to see the West coast before having to go home. So when I saw this trek and what it had to offer; ticking off the top places on my bucket list, I knew this would be the perfect trip. The group I travelled with were great and our trek leader Emily was friendly, approachable and full of knowledge, cannot say one bad word about her.

I have never been a massive camping person so was a bit sceptical about camping for 2 nights, but I have to say it wasn't as too bad and was actually quite fun. The first stop over was at Lake Havasu and WOW what a beautiful camp site we stayed at. Right next to the waters edge (perfect for a cool down), camping under the stars.

We then hit Grand Canyon and words can honestly not describe how AMAZING it is. It honestly looked like a backdrop when looking out from the rim. Our trek guide highlighted some areas around the national park, told us a time and place to meet (to set up camp) and left us all to explore. After exploring and setting up camp our trek leader then took us up to a spot on the GC rim to eat pizza and watch the sunset.

Last stop over was Las Vegas; not going to lie I wasn't too fussed about it at first but Emily told me about everything that Las Vegas had to offer (other than drinking and gambling) and on arrival till the time we left I was memorised by it all. Our hotel was AWESOME; great location, clean, big rooms, lots to offer and a stunning pool (with a water slide that goes through a shark/fish tank). The party bus was so much FUN and stopped off and the famous wedding chapel and sign.

I had the best time on the trip and made so many unforgettable memories. Can't believe all the things we did and saw in just the 4 days we had!

BENJAMIN C.
Westerner 3

An incredible adventure that I'm so glad I did.

Reviewed September 2017

This trek had a great variety, from cities like San Francisco and Las Vegas to a variety of national parks such as Yosemite and Zion. I was new to hiking but found each hike to be an incredible experience. I saw sights that no camera would do justice for and pushed myself further than I could have imagined. Climbing Angel's Landing in Zion especially was an unforgettable moment and a real highlight of the journey. You're given free rein to explore the cities at your leisure (although you get good advice from your tour leader on where to go) and you and your trek friends will get into all kinds of adventures together. You will find yourself coming back home with a lot of stories to tell.

Our tour leader was Jen who always looked out for us and went out of her way to set up some amazing surprises for us. She was really knowledgeable and knew a lot about the history of each of our destinations. She was also really great about my allergies, whenever our group had a pizza night or ate out at a restaurant she would always make sure I had a gluten free option sorted. There were a lot of fun and interesting stops off the beaten path and we saw some incredible wildlife at all of the national parks such as chipmunks and elk (and briefly on one of the drives, a bear!)

Saying that I recommend this trip would be a huge understatement. If you're in need of an adventure this trek will not disappoint!

Becky Robinson
Westerner 3

The perfect way to see the west, stress free!

Reviewed September 2017

This was my first trek and it exceeded all expectations! Jen, our tour leader, was incredible - she did so much for us and could probably drive the van and trailer with her eyes closed if she wanted! I was amazed with every place we visited and each day got increasingly better. I made some awesome buddies from all over the world and had so much fun hiking, exploring cities, cooking and camping with them all. The time we spent at each place was just right and I felt like I got to see everything I wanted to, and more! Hiking Angel's Landing in Zion was incredible and staying in Monument Valley was a crazy experience, I would definitely do it all over again.

Loading search bar...