Reviews

Mountie

(31)
Average Rating:
4.8 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 21-30 of 31 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Great sceneries, fun activities with like minded people

Reviewed November 2013

All in all this was a nice experience. To be honest, I was expecting more wildernis, like camping at rivers more like staying on a campground (well, that my idea).

I liked the international group thing though: cooking together and sharing and exchanging thoughts. Also I was expecting more activities incl. in the fixed program. The concept of choosing your activities on a day to day basis is not bad, but I think for the paid price more activities should be included.

Also in my opinion more integrated activities will bring the participants closer together.The tour guide (Nick) did an overall good Job; only the last day was a bit of a downside, as we didn´t really do anything, so you could leave this day out at all.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Amazing scenery, fantastic country, brilliant people.

Reviewed September 2013

This was my second trek with Trek America, and also my favourite. I was very lucky in that the group I was with clicked straight away and it felt as though everyone had known each other for ages from the start. This trek is fantastic, every day there were completely breathtaking views and stunning scenery to take in. Even the drives, some of which are very long, were pleasant enough with the views entertaining us on our way. Be warned - you will take literally hundreds of pictures!

The camp sites we stayed at were all great, with good washroom facilities. Banff and Whistler camp sites in particular were also close to the towns, with good transport available to go and explore if you wanted to. Our trek leader was knowledgeable, fun and friendly but also safety conscious and made every effort to ensure that everyone's needs were met.

The activities on offer were varied and great fun - from white water rafting (a personal favourite) to horse riding, canoeing and aerial tramway rides up mountains to sit and wonder at the country spread out beneath you. Absolutely stunning.

Really recommend this trip, it isn't too long to be camping, there's loads of options to keep yourself entertained and there are a few nights in the local bars and towns too so you aren't entirely isolated (although the one night when you go on the overnight canoe trip and literally are isolated from the rest of the world is completely, utterly beautiful. I've never seen such clear skies full of so many stars in my life before or since).

I want to go back!

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

The Rockies, as they should be seen!

Reviewed September 2013

What an amazing experience!
Canada is simply spectacular and this tour shows some of it off at its very best.
From white water rafting to kayaking and glacier walking, hiking, swimming, horse riding, zip lining and mountain biking.....its all there! This trip is jam packed with excitement and you really get a feel of experiencing something special.
I would recommend this trip to anyone who loves the outdoors and a bit of adrenaline. You wont regret booking :-)

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Amazing!

Reviewed July 2013

It was the best 2 weeks holiday I have ever had, the tour guide was amazing and the group was fantastic. The whole tour was planned very well and the activities were so much fun. Camping is really good fun and sitting by the fire at night with the Rockies in the background is the best camping experience you could ask for.

The views along the way are epic and lots of wildlife and swimming in lakes during the trip.

Wish I could go again!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Exciting Organised Beautiful

Reviewed April 2013

An amazing experience with lots of opportunities for hikking and outdoor activities. A friendly group and organised and efficient tour leader. The scenary is simply beautiful and there is never a dull day. Definatly a tour for those who love the outdoors as there is only one city stop - but what a citty - Vancouver is awesome.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

The most amazing 14 days of my life!!

Reviewed December 2012

This is the second trip that i have done with Trek America and once again, it didnt fail to impress!! I have always wanted to visit Canada, in particular the Canadian Rockies and the Mountie trek is one of the best ways to explore this amazing place in a relatively short space of time.

We started from Seattle. I arrived the day before the trek started and met up with a couple of the people who were also doing this trip, who i had met on the Trek forum. It was great to get to know some of my fellow trekkers before the trip started and spend the day exploring Seattle.

The first day of the Trek had us driving across the border into British Columbia and stocking up on essentials for 2 weeks of camping in the Canadian wilderness. Our first evening was spent chatting around the campfire and getting to know our fellow trek mates, before having the all important BEAR TALK!! Exciting, a little daunting but the talk made sure we all knew what to do if we encountered a bear during our trip. Unfortunately, our group didnt see any bears during the weeks; however, our Trek leader Jay and the other group who were following the same route as us were lucky enough to see bears at the camp site in Whistler towards the end of trip which we were very jealous about!! Oh well, better luck next time and im sure this is a great trip to encounter bears if you're lucky and keep your eyes peeled!!

The rest of the trip was spent travelling from one amazingly beautiful National Park to another- Yoho, Banff, Jasper and Wells Gray Provincial Park. There were plenty of opportunities to get out and explore the amazing locations we were driving through. Check out Emerald Lake and white water rafting on the aptly-named Kicking Horse River in Yoho National Park, hiking at the stunningly beautiful Lake Louise and Edith Cavell Glacier together with a glacier walk on the Athabasca Glacier along the not-to-be-missed Icefields Parkway, on route to Jasper. To break up all the driving, we enjoyed a couple of days in Banff and Jasper where we were free to explore and chill out. Banff is a great town day and night, even outside of the ski season! The included overnight wilderness canoe trip was the perfect way to really get back to nature and enjoy the great outdoors; a great opportunity to kick back and relax on Clearwater Lake and enjoy a night's camping in the woods right on the shore of the lake under the stars.

Following our night on the lake, it was time for a night on a proper ranch where we were able to enjoy some horseback riding before a delicious genuine western BBQ. We then moved on to Whistler where we had the chance to explore the ski resort and some of our group took advantage of the adrenalin junkies in the area and took part in some bungee jumping!!

The trek was rounded off with a free day in Vancouver, one of Canada's greatest cities, with plenty to do and see and a great way to end the trip before heading back to Seattle and saying our goodbyes.

Im really glad that i did this trek, despite being a little nervous as a lone traveller. However, there were other people in my group in the same boat and everyone bonded and made this the greatest 2 weeks of my life. I would definitely recommend this trek to anyone who wants to explore an amazing country in a short space of time. You are taken to all the best places, many off the main tourist track and you will meet some amazing people who will really make your trip. We stayed in some of the best camp sites which balanced good facilties with amazing locations. One of my reasons for choosing this trek was for the hiking opportunities and i was not disappointed!!!

This is one trek which should not be missed!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Awesome sceneries, beautiful trek routes at every stop, five-star campsites!

Reviewed December 2012

The scenery is amazing on this trip! Beautiful mountains and lakes everywhere and different difficulties of trek routes at every stop. There's always something to do, or just laze around in the peaceful campsites. Some wild animals spotted but not as aplenty as Alaska, still amazingly friendly squirrels, deers and elks are easily spotted. The optionals are little bit pricier and some are just not worth to do at all.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Absolutely epic trip, unforgettable impressions

Reviewed December 2012

If you are interested in nature, wildlife, camping and hiking, this is definitely the best trip that you can choose. The landscape was absolutely fantastic with its amazing blue lakes, huge forrests and ice covered mountains. Although we did not see any wolves, we could hear them every night, which was an nicredible experience itself. Besides deer, elk, beaver, porcupine and different kinds of birds we have also seen a black bear eating some berries. The camp grounds are huge and perfectly located with good restrooms.

Summing up it was absolutely epic and I would do it definitely again.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Fan-flippin-tastic!

Reviewed December 2012

I had always wanted to go to Canada, and this tour sounded like a nice taster of what it has to offer. And it certainly didn't disappoint! The Rockies are absolutely incredible- everywhere you look there's amazing scenery, and the people are so friendly. The Icefields trip was amazing, and we loved Banff and its hot springs. Lake Louise is stunning, the hike there was beautiful. (It helps to be fit on this trip though, you get a proper work-out!!) The canoeing across Clearwater Lake was fun, and it was someone's birthday too. The night-time canoeing was something I'd never done before, and that was cool. Then camping on the edge of the lake was exciting. Vancouver at the end was brilliant, such a vibrant city.
Our tour leader was briliant, so laid-back and told us the best places to go and things to do. And our group was fab too!
I highly recommend this tour, especially if you are like I was and hadn't travelled very much before. It's just the right length of time and I didn't bankrupt myself completely!!
The only downside is you will get bitten by the travel bug, and then want to travel EVERYWHERE, especially when you meet so many different people with so many different stories! :D

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Like a gym and a dating agency in one (in a good way)

Reviewed November 2012

Even though the nights were flipping freezing, the mosquitoes at Beaverfoot Lodge ate us to pieces and we had to buy our own beers, the Mountie trek was incredible. We got a hell of a workout walking up mountains and biking around forests, we ate our body weight in toasted marshmallows (well I did) and we spotted a bear on day two, who paraded around for us like it was Canada's Next Top Model. We even had a romance on the trip, which I can personally tell you is still going on now, back home in England/Holland. Will we be witnessing the first Trek America wedding?

I had an amazing time, met fantastic people and got incredible thighs from all the trekking. What more can you ask for?

Loading search bar...