Reviews

Westerner 3

(30)
Average Rating:
4.8 out of 5
Showing 1-10 of 30 Reviews
CARLY M.
Westerner 3

Amazing experience

Reviewed March 2017

Great trek with great group of people. Amazing trip for national parks.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Totally amazing didn't want it to end.

Reviewed October 2016

well the west coast didn't disappoint, we started in LA and although the weather was against us for most of the first week we made the most if it. The group was made up of 11 of us. 7 guys and 4 girls and then our tour leader rob.
We had amazing hikes in the national parks. Getting to go to Alcatraz was great too.
As a group we all worked well together and we had such a laugh. It was an experience I will never forget and I have defiantly made friends for life.
This trek was great for smaller driving days and spending two days in most of the parks which was defiantly beneficial to, as we could see lots of things.
It was colder than expected especially at night so having a thick sleeping bag was great though we did have Walmart stops to buy more blankets.
My most memorable night was when a storm hit in lake Powell and we had to abandon our tents for the night and sleep in the bunkhouse, it was such a fun and unexpected turn. We had all eaten our steak dinners and were full, then only to go running around in the dark, wind and rain to save our things and tents.
The group were all quite into taking pictures which worked well as now we can remember it forever!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

So much to see in just 3 weeks!

Reviewed September 2016

This trip truly is the best way to see a good mix of National Parks and cities in western USA. I was slightly worried as I had never been camping before, but it was absolutely fine. You get used to setting up camp, cooking together and how everything is packed away really quickly. I went in August/September, bought a sleeping bag from Walmart for $15 and I was never really cold apart from maybe one night. You might want two use sleeping mats however or bring your own! One of the best nights was the campsite in Monument Valley, where we had the most incredible view, not to mention the clearest starry sky and best sunrise I've ever seen!

I would never have been able to visit all the National Parks on my own as easily as I did with Trek America, as everything is just sorted for you. That was one of the best things, as we would arrive somewhere and then our tour leader would explain what the best things to do were, answered any questions and then we were free to explore. Everything was hassle free and was such an easy way to travel. Expect a lot of driving, but it's the only way to cover so many places and we often just fell asleep in the van!

I'm not a very active person and found the hiking challenging but definitely achievable - climbing to the top of Angel's Landing in Zion was such a personal achievement. You can go at your own place and just admire your amazing surroundings. San Francisco and Las Vegas were the best cities and Yosemite's scenery just blew my mind. Also the night spent at the cowboy camp where I did horse riding the next day was a lot of fun too.

My tour leader was just the best at helping us bond as a group and giving us a load of insider information and took care of so much for us. If you want to see both iconic cities and explore National Parks, then book this trip, it will be the best decision you've ever made - you'll see and do much in such a short amount of time.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

fantastic experience

Reviewed July 2016

did the Westerner 4 back in 93 - great tour leader and people on board for the 4 week trip

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Best thing I've ever done!

Reviewed July 2016

Was so nervous to do this trek and to meet everyone but the people on my tour were lovely and we became like a family.
My trek leader was Mark Page. He was the best trek leader we could have hoped for! Mark always went the extra mile for everyone and made everything run so smoothly.
I thought the trek would be rushed and we wouldn't get to see enough of the places that we visited but we did! The time spend in each place is more than enough and you get to see so many amazing things.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Amazing trip- Amazing People- highly recommended

Reviewed April 2016

I have traveled quite extensively but can honestly say this was the best trip I have done. I was conscious of being slightly older (27 at the time) but it made no difference, the group instantly got along.
The actual tour was amazing- the Grand Canyon and Arches National Park were amazing but the balance with cities was great to.
Cannot recommend Trek or this tour enough!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Amazing 3 weeks!!

Reviewed July 2015

This trip was incredible, seen so many different places and met some amazing people. Can't believe how much we did in 3 weeks! Hiking and camping in the national parks was a great experience and I would recommend this trip to anyone!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Best 3 weeks of my life!

Reviewed July 2015

Just go ahead and book this trip it will be the best thing you've done! So many amazing places and things to do. You meet some incredible people and will have an unforgettable 3 weeks! Too many amazing memories and highlights, so many stories. Just do it!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

3000 miles, 380 baby wipes, AMAZING MEMORIES & friends for life!

Reviewed April 2015

I'd now trade a luxury hotel for another 3 weeks camping any day - much to the amusement of my friends and family who consequently think that the real Lauren was abducted by aliens on the trip! For anyone considering the Westerner 3, particularly those worried about camping like I was - just do it!! You will have the time of your life!

There were 14 of us in total aged from 18-30+ and we all got on wonderfully. There is a great balance of amazing cities and beautiful national parks on this trek and the time on the road isn't too bad either as there are only a couple of really long drives (which were well spent singing, laughing and playing every car game imaginable). The hikes are suitable for all abilities and there are loads of optional activities to suit all interests. Highlights for me included white water rafting down the Colorado River, spending a night in a mud hogan followed by watching the sun rise in beautiful Monument Valley, horse riding in the Arizona desert with real cowboys and of course the bright lights of Vegas! Accommodation wise, most of the camp sites were far superior to what I expected, the hostel in San Francisco was as good as hostels get and our hotel in Vegas was top-notch complete with water slide running through a shark tank in the pool area!!

This really is the trip of a lifetime! Beware - you will DEFINITELY want to go back!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Brilliant, Cool, funny, challenging & memorbale expirience

Reviewed November 2014

So glad that I booked this tour. It covered all the things that i really wanted to do on the West Coast. It also pushed me to try out things that I wouldn't of thought about doing if someone was to ask me back home e.g. climbing Angels Landing! Unbelievable Cool! One of favourite things to do was actually sit round our camp fire at night & just chat about the most rediculous of things. It's definitley how you build friendships. This was also a good start to my 3 month travelling trip & gave me more confidence to say to people what I wanted to do & not follow the crowd. It's also enspired me to do more out doorsie stuff & appriciate the landscape that surrounds me. I was never in a million years a hiking person before, but now that I've covered some national parks, I definitley want to start doing this more often at home! I also apprciated the knowledge our tour guide Mark had. We had a mini history lesson everywhere we went, which i really enjoyed.