Reviews

Atlantic BLT from New York

(21)
Average Rating:
4.8 out of 5
Showing 1-10 of 21 Reviews
Emma McLuskey
Atlantic BLT from New York

Amazing!

Reviewed January 2017

Went on this tour in October 2016. I was nervous as I had never travelled alone, but that quickly disappeared as our tour group Leader Glen was amazing and everyone got on really from the moment we all met. There is a lot of opportunities to drink on this tour but if you want to there is no pressure to do so. Day 1: You don't see New York so if you want to see New York, I'd fly out a few days before the tour starts. We left the hotel and set off for Philly. our tour guide was from Philly so he knew a lot about the city. we seen Benjamin franklin's grave, the original presidents house, liberty bell independence hall and of course the rocky steps. We went to reading market terminal for lunch which was totally amazing. Have a walk around everywhere before you decide where to eat. After Philly it was time to head to Washington D.C. we got settled into out hostel and then headed out for dinner. After dinner we then did a night tour of D.C which was amazing to see everything. Day 2: We had our free day in Washington. Everyone went off either by themselves or in groups. Me and another girl went back around all the main icons in Washington D.C and then went to the national holocaust museum. At night our tour leader told us he was going to a local restaurant that was amazing and invited us to join him - because it's your free day you don't have to go with the group. We went to Ben's chilli bowl which amazing. The chilli dog and cheese fries where amazing! Day 3: We left Washington, making a quick pit stop at the Martin Luther King Jr memorial and a quick visit to the national space and air museum. We were held up with traffic so we only had about 30 mins to walk in the Apalachian Mountains. Today is really a drive day. we stopped at Walmart to get some snacks and drinks before heading to dinner and then to our motel where we went and played drinking games and had such a laugh in someones room. Day 4-5: on our way to Nashville, we stopped in Knockville - this is not part of the tour, every tour does it differently. We seen a concert in Knockville which was free and we were on the radio. Then we had lunch in Knockville before heading to Nashville. Once in Nashville we headed our hostel. This hostel was amazing. It has a kitchen a snooker table, Foose ball table and a fridge full of beer, juice and water for people there. We didn't line our first night as the saloon was booked out for a private party. Our tour leader made us dinner at the hostel, got changed and headed out. Nashville is so cool. I'm not a big drinker but I still had a great night. The next day was our free day. Again everyone either went their own ways or stay in groups. Me, another girl and another couple had breakfast at another broken egg cafe - amazing pancakes there - and then went to the Johnny cash museum which was amazing. We then went round the shops for souvenirs. We then went back to the hostel, got changed and went line saying with the whole group. Line dancing was so much fun and if your at the wild horse saloon have a cornonita - a margarita and a corona. After line dancing we went to the bridge to watch the sunset and then headed out for dinner. Nobody really felt like going out that night, so went back to the hostel and had a pool competition and bought beer at the hostel. Day 6-7: We left Nashville and headed straight for Memphis. We arrived in Memphis and went straight to Sun Studios. This place was amazing and has a lot of history. After sun studios we headed to a supermarket that also sold hold and cold foot. We grabbed food and headed for Graceland. We had lunch just outside in the picnic area and then headed in. i'm a huge Elvis fan so this was amazing. After Graceland it was time to head to the hotel and head out for dinner. Glen took us to Memphis bbq just beside the national civil rights museum. it was quite far away from the hotel but glen drove us and it was worth it. After dinner no one really felt like going out so went back our hotel and went to someones room to watch the presidential debate. The next day our tour leader drove us all over to the national civil rights museum - it's about a 20 min walk from the hotel. The place was amazing and really opened your eyes. After that we all walked back to our hotel and found that a park nearby was lined with dozens of food trucks. We all picked something different and it was amazing. While we were there, a man was handing out free samples for a cupcake store across the street. We took one just to try and oh my god it was the best cupcake ever. So after a lunch of bbq chicken nachos, we all head to the cupcake store. The owner was lovely and asked was all where we from and had a laugh with us. I had a vanilla cupcake with peanut butter frosting and m&m's. It was the best thing ever. We then headed to the Memphis pyramid. I've never seen anything like this. It's an outdoor sports gear shop but in the shape of pyramid with a hotel, restaurant and alligators in it. It was cool to see.After that some of us were pretty tired and headed back to the hotel before dinner, while the rest went to see the peabody ducks or the rock and soul museum. We all met up in the lobby with Glen and went for dinner. we went to a place not far from the hotel and had featured on Man vs food. The food was again amazing. Day 8-9: We left Nashville and headed for New Orleans. Today is a very long drive day so have a book or good playlist ready. When we arrived New Orleans was so much more prettier than what I expected. Once we got to the hotel, we got changed and headed out. We a specific route as we were going a Ghost tour the next day and we had to see where to meet. We then headed onto bourbon street. I did like bourbon street. All you could smell was Marijuana and people were falling about all over the place. Glen showed us the french quarter and then headed for dinner at Oceana grill which was really good. Shrimp Alfredo was amazing. Glen then also took us to cafe du monte for Beignets. If you don't try these, you are missing out! After this a few of us jumped in a taxi home and the rest stayed out. The next morning, Glen was a going to a sugar plantation and invited us with him. A few of us went with him and i'm glad I did. The house was beautiful but to see the slave quarters was an eye opener. Glen then dropped us at the hotel, then me and other girl went to the voodoo museum and did some shopping before heading back to the hotel to chill before we meet for our ghost tour. The ghost tour was amazing. Nothing jumps out at your or visiting graves. Its all about why people believe the buildings are haunted and some of the stories for really interesting. After our tour, we wait for an hour to get into a restaurant called coops. Am hour seems like a long time but Glen promised us it would be worth it. He was right! The jambalaya was amazing. No one really wanted to go out drinking so we went to cafe du monte for more Beignets and then headed back to the hotel. Day 10: We left New Orleans, stopping at a supermarket to get drinks and snacks for the beach, then heading off to destiny beach. We stopped on the way at Mobile to see the USS Arizona and take a walk on one of the piers. Again not in the tour and guide stops at different places. We got to the beach around 3pm, which gave us enough time to chill and not be to hot. Some stayed on the beach longer and the rest of us went for a game of mini golf nearby. I won! We then headed to our hotel and decided to order in pizza and have it in the hotel area as they have tables, chairs, vending machines and coffee machine. Day 11- 12: We head for Orlando. Today is another really long drive day. We arrived at our hotel around 4pm and this hotel is a resort. Has a pool, pizza hut, buffet and arcade. Half the group stayed at the hotel to relax and the rest of us went with our tour leader for dinner in downtown Disney and did some shopping. The next day was never mixed. Some people went to water parks, some went to different Disney parks and the rest of us went to universal and islands of adventure. i'd been to Universal and the other theme park before and loved it again this time around. Like a big kid! We left the park at 7 and went to margarita ville in city walk which was amazing. Glen picked us up and we all met to have a final drink at the hotel. Day 13: We left Orlando and headed for Miami. We stopped at a little cuban cafe for lunch which was amazing. Glen didn't just drop us at the hotel. He took us on a tour of little havana and the best ice cream shop in Havana. W then went to our hotel and arrived about 4pm. We said goodbye to Glen as he had to go to another city for another tour. The rest of us just chilled and then met up in a restaurant to have a final meal together. Was emotional saying goodbye. Best two weeks of my life!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Atlantic BLT from New York

Cities, Beaches, Line Dancing, Elvis!

Reviewed August 2016

I had such a good time on my trek, I did not want to come home! In my opinion, the accommodation gets better as you go along the tour :)

Day 1 and 2: First stop on the trip was a few hours in Philadelphia - the drive here from Newark isn't too far, and it is nice to have a break here, however, I was glad I had been there before as we didn't really see anything? 2 hours is not enough in a city like Philly.

Then about 4 hours later we arrived in Washington DC which I loved. We were in a hostel in DC, and it was quite small, but central and a bed to sleep in. The National Mall was only about a 10-15 min walk away, and if you can get there before 8am when its nice and empty, it is 100% worth doing because it gets so busy! I got there at 7am and it was perfect because no one is around :) Make sure you see all of the National Mall!

day 3: Appalachian Mountains - it was such a long drive so be ready for it! But the scenery is lovely :) You stay in a motel there in a very rural area.

day 4 and 5: Off to Nashville! On the way we walked part of the Viriginia Creeper Trail which was nice to do and we saw some deer! Then we stayed in a hostel in Nashville that was really close to Broadway. Make sure you go line dancing in Nashville, its so much fun! Then on the "free day" I went with a few others to the Jack Daniels distillery in Lynchburg which was awesome!

day 6 and 7: then from Nashville it was off to Memphis! This is a nice short drive (by short, I mean only about 3-4 hours). We went to Graceland which I enjoyed a lot more than I thought I would! then off for dinner at Beale street. Then the next day we went to see the Peabody ducks (make sure you see them... ask your tour guide!) and went to sun studios, and then in the evening went to a baseball game which was so much fun! Definitely worth doing if you can.

Day 8 and 9: A huge drive through Mississippi to New Orleans! We all wanted to do the swamp tour, so we did this on our way into the city. We saw alligators which was cool, and then once in the city we went out for a meal and drinks on Bourbon Street! On the free day, I just had a wander around the French Quarter and we went on a Mississippi boat in the evening. I was quite let down with the boat really - the views from it were lovely at sunset, but it was quite expensive and we had paid extra for dinner, but the dinner was a really low key buffet so I'd avoid that. Overall I didn't really like New Orleans - Bourbon street was very brash and I just didn't feel safe there, but I'm glad I've been.

day 10: then another long drive to Destin Beach! Its a shame that the drive is so long so you only get about 2 hours on the beach in the evening - id have liked another day there so you can actually relax. Otherwise it just feels like a stop off in between New Orleans and Orlando.

day 11 and 12: another huge drive to Orlando! The hotel here had a pool, and seen as we didn't get there until about 7, we all just went swimming. Then on the theme park day I went to Universal which was great.

day 13: last day! about a 4 hour drive down to Miami - we got there about 2, so I spent the afternoon by myself on South Beach as other people were in different hotels, but in the evening we all met up for a final meal and drinks and an emotional goodbye!

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Obviously, there were high and low points, but it was so good and I genuinely didn't want to come home!

Past Trekkers Review
Atlantic BLT from New York

Hot, interesting and enjoyable

Reviewed July 2016

This was my second trip and I had a good time. Going in July it was HOT! The further south we went but it was bearable. I found it interesting exploring the cities and what they had to offer. There was lots of museums in Washington and Nashville to see and Memphis has Graceland. I didn't personally like New Orleans, the French Quarter was interesting but I didn't feel safe and it smelt funny. My favourite part was definitely the stops in Florida!! The day after my trek finished a fellow trekker and I went and watched the sunrise on Maimi beach which was stunning and I'd suggest doing.

I'd say this trip is for people who enjoy cities and going out drinking in the evening.

Past Trekkers Review
Atlantic BLT from New York

Amazing! Unexpected! 11 States! Love the East/South :-)

Reviewed December 2015

This was actually my 2nd trip with Trek america, in March this year I actually did the Westerner2BLT which i absolutely loved, and found myself very fortunate to be able to do the Atlantic BLT in October.I was apprehensive about doing another, would it be as good/how would this group be- turns out i didnt need to worry - it was an amazing trip.
I couldn't say if one was better than the other as they were completely different- i loved them equally as much.
The accommodation again was really good for budget lodging, however i would say that it would have been better if the Orlando hotel was more central rather than out by the airport.

Day 1- We all met at the Crowne Plaza in Newark before starting our trip to Washington DC. We made a stop in Philadelphia - obviously running the 'rocky steps' at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, seeing Independence Hall and Liberty Bell.
Lunch time- what else would you have for lunch...a Philly Cheesesteak. We went to the Reading Food Terminal- so many food outlets to pick from - we chose Carmens- a long queue but worth it.
Arriving in DC around 5pmish after tea, our tour leader Seth took us on a moonlight walk around the National Mall. This was a highlight of the trip for me, was really special to see all the iconic building's/memorial's lit up.

Day 2- Free day in Washington DC- some people headed to the museums/bike rides, personally i wanted to see as much of the city as i could, so i did an open top bus tour. Really loved the history/buildings of the city. I was fortunate to be in DC on a day the White House has their garden tour (only happens twice a year), was amazing to be see close to the White House.

Day 3- This was a really long drive day, but our tour leader made sure we had plenty of breaks along the way. Started the day at the Air & Space museum in Virginia- getting to see an actual space shuttle and concorde. Although the itinerary mentions the Appalachian Mountains- entry to the Shenandoah National Park wasn't included in the trek- we all paid an extra $7 to be able to go for a little walk in the national park- was too cold for a hike- we did get to see deer. Beautiful scenery.
Spending the night in Wytheville was really just a stop off between DC and Nashville- not alot to do, but did go to a quaint restaurant with some real 'mama's home cooking' type of food.

Day 4- Up bright and early to head to Nashville. A famous drink of Tennessee is Moonshine, so we went to the Thunder Road Distillery to do some sampling.
Arriving in Nashville around 3.30pmish- headed to the Country Music Hall of Fame...well we are in Nashville after all.
Even during the day- live music is playing from all the bars on Broadway.
Food that night was at a place call Acme Feed & Seed- ridiculously fast service, big portions, great food- try the beef brisket.
We spent the night at the Honky Tonk Central- even if you're not a massive country music fan at the start of the night, i bet you'll be converted by the end of the night. I didn't want to leave- was a great laugh, great music, a bit of line dancing thrown in too.
Was a shame we only had the one afternoon/night in Nashville, there was so much to see (the trip will include 2 nights in Nashville in 2016).

Day 5&6 -Time to move through Tennessee, and to Memphis this time. First stop was Graceland, I wasn't too sure what to expect not being a huge Elvis fan, however, it is such a cool place to see, and i feel fortunate now to have been there. Spending the night on Beale Street, reminded me of the atmosphere of Broadway in Nashville, live music playing in every bar. We paid $3 cover to get into BB Kings, and that was easily my favourite bar that we went to.
On the free day before we did our own thing, we went to Sun Studios to see where Elvis and many others, got there break and recorded there. Some of us then went on to the Memphis Rock and Soul museum, before taking in more live music on Beale Street. I also had my favourite food of the trip at the Blues City Cafe- memphis soul stew- OMG!!
If you haven't heard of the peabody ducks- go to the Peabody hotel at 11am and 5pm- extremely bizarre, but worth seeing.

Day 7&8- A place to see on my bucket list was New Orleans. I have to say i was disappointed with Bourbon Street- it really wasn't expecting, a bit brash with pop/chart music playing. The french quarter in general was beautiful, and the buildings amazing. The riverboat jazz cruise was really good, and glad i did this.
With the free day- i again wanted to see as much of the city as possible, so i did another bus sightseeing tour (you can get tickets through the hotel).
There was big queues, however its worth the wait to get Beignets at the world famous Cafe Du Monde.
If you want to experience jazz/funk music- Frenchman Street is the place to be. This is what i thought of when i think of New Orleans. We were fortunate to hear a great band at the Blue Nile.
Also, Po'Boys are the food of choice here- track one down.

Day 9&10- On the way to Panama City beach, most of the group did the Alligator swamp tour- and all seemed to love it. Didnt get to the hotel til late that night, so only had time for tea and a few drinks.
We all really appreciated the chilled day at the beach- which i must say had the finest sand i had ever seen, and the hot tub at the hotel at the end of the day was immense.

Day 11&12- Another long drive to get to Orlando, surprising as its the same state. Tea that night was Disney Springs. The main day at the park- we all went to Universal Studios, getting the park-to-park ticket for $149- alot of money, but it was worth it. Due to the time of the year, it wasn't that busy, longest queue was 30 mins if that day. We managed to see both parks and get on all the rides we wanted to.

Day 13- The shortest drive of the trip from Orlando to Miami- got there for about 2pm (earlier than brochure says). We weren't ready for the trip to end, so we went down to Ocean drive for some food and drinks miami style!! absolutely massive portions!! Loved the bars Clevelander and Mango's. Miami is expensive, so have some money left at the end of your trip. I loved this place, and highly recommend a couple of extra days here- even just to chill on miami/south beach. I wish i had longer than just a couple of extra days.

I had an incredible 2 weeks, and really wasn't ready for the trip to end. This trip really has everything, amazing cities, great music, brilliant food, chill time on the beach, and being a big kid at the theme parks. I couldn't rate this trek highly enough, and would do it all again tomorrow. Already planning on going back to some of these cities again!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Atlantic BLT from New York

Music, friends, food and ducks!

Reviewed September 2015

From the first day there was hardly any awkward conversations. Instead, immediately we became friends! Tammy our tour leader was the BEST! On this tour you will see amazing highlights from DC to Orlando. We even went to this Foamhenge thing in the middle of nowhere! No, not Stonehenge. Not only that, we saw ducks come down in a lift and walk on a red carpet! I can definitly say I've made memories and friends for life!

http://rebeccamaude.weebly.com

Past Trekkers Review
Atlantic BLT from New York

Best time!!!

Reviewed September 2015

If your thinking of doing this trek...do it!!!
I honestly had the most amazing time of my life! The trek itself was incredible we saw some of the best places to see in America...Nashville, Memphis, New Orleans. Not only this but I got to spend two weeks with some amazing people that will remain friends for life.
So as I said at the start of this if your thinking of doing this trek......DO IT!!

Past Trekkers Review
Atlantic BLT from New York

An unforgetable trip with the most amazing people!

Reviewed April 2015

This trip will forever be engraved in my mind. I went to some of the most fantastic places that I never dreamed of visiting and saw some fascinating landmarks that have been added to my collection of photographs. I met the most amazing people, and feel honoured to have shared the experience with them all. I couldn't of been happier with my trip :)!

Past Trekkers Review
Atlantic BLT from New York

Amazing Trek!

Reviewed November 2014

This trek was some of the best weeks of my life. I couldn't of asked for a better group, or trek leader. the places we visited were amazing. Memphis and Nashville were awesome and there not places youd visit on a general holiday. so worth extending the trip before and after. I had 2 nights in New York first and 2 nights to chill in Miami after. Completely amazing and booked another 2 treks for next year :)

Past Trekkers Review
Atlantic BLT from New York

Awesome trip

Reviewed November 2014

Unsure where I should start!!!!!!

This was my second trip and right from the outset we saw lots of amazing sights from the liberty hall tour, to an unscheduled visit to then rocky steps and statue in Philadelphia to the illuminations in Washington D.C. To the stark contrast of crab tree falls, which was amazing.

The further south we traveled the warmer it got. Nashville, Memphis, and New Orleans were all mind blowing in there own ways, difficult to choose between. The accommodation was ok with a mixture of hostels and hotels along the way. Our leader Mike picked different restaurants each night, each specialising in different food. And even went to the trouble of producing a fact sheet with places to eat, see and drink for most stops for our free days.

If you want a tour that shows you the best of each city in a short space of time this tour is for you!

Past Trekkers Review
Atlantic BLT from New York

One epic adventure over 13 states

Reviewed November 2014

Unsure where I should start!!!!!!

Right from the outset we saw lots of amazing sights from the liberty hall tour, to an unscheduled visit to then rocky steps and statue in Philadelphia to the illuminations in Washington D.C. To the stark contrast of crab tree falls, which was amazing.

The further south we traveled the warmer it got. Nashville, Memphis, and New Orleans were all mind blowing in there own ways, difficult to choose between. The accommodation was ok with a mixture of hostels and hotels along the way. Our leader Mike picked different restaurants each night, each specialising in different food. And even went to the trouble of producing a fact sheet with places to eat, see and drink for most stops for our free days.

If you want a tour that shows you the best of each city in a short space of time this tour is for you!