Reviews

All Trips

Showing 1-10 of 1072 Reviews
oneandonlyemmaw
Canyon Adventure

National Parks at its Best

Reviewed February 2017
This was my 4th trip with Trek America and most definitely the best! 10 days of being in the great outdoors. Being able to spend so much time in all the national parks, you can really see why west is the best. The Grand Canyon, is such an amazing place, and a great place to get to know your group. If you have the funds, you have to do the helicopter flight. You also get a free day, so you can hike as much or as little as possible. If you have the fitness, you should do the bright angel trail down to plateau point. One of the best things i have ever done. Monument Valley, make sure that you do the optional extra of staying over in the valley. We used blackwater company and had the best campground. Being able to sleep outside, no tent and see the milky way was amazing (even if we did wake up to wild horses) Moab - make sure that you spend time in arches on your first day, as this is the only time that you get there. The hike to delicate arch is definitely one i suggest, being able to just chill out at the top with the view is just amazing The 4x4 adventure - THE BEST THING I HAVE EVER DONE. Being able to go to place in canyonlands that not everyone can access is amazing. Going into the same slot canyon as 127 hours and it is so out of this world. We camped in the middle of no where and once again slept under the stars and saw the milkyway. the best thing ever. Capitol Reef and Bryce - a short but sweet visit to both, but you get a great insight into the feel of the national park Zion - my favorite place in the world. Both the Narrows and Angels Landing are must hikes if you have the time.
Alice
Southern BLT from Los Angeles

Amazing Cities and Incredible National Parks

Reviewed February 2017
After looking at this trek for nearly 6 months, I fully pluck up the courage to book and I am so glad I did. I had an incredible 3 weeks. We had an amazing tour guide called Sam she told us everything we needed to know, kept us in loop, showed us her favourite places and was a laugh to be around. Having a good time on trek really does depend on your group, lucky for me I had a group of 12 who were all lovely and a good laugh to be around. After being back for 5 months I still can't believe how much I saw in a short space of time. I highly recommend this tour to anyone and trek america as a company. I am now planning my trek for this year :) x
Lauren
Grand BLT

Amazing experience, loved all of it, except the accommodation

Reviewed February 2017
This trek was a once in a life time sort of experience. This trek exceeded my expectations in regards to how much i got to see in the time i was there. The only thing that let this trek down was the standards of the accommodations we were staying in. A few of the nights were spent in 'cabins'. These cabins, although sort of a novelty for one night, soon got old when we realised there was no A/C, no wifi, we were being eaten by bugs and the bathrooms were a 10 minute walk away. We also stayed outside of the main areas of the towns we were staying in, which meant more money was spent getting taxis etc. Although i would of loved to have spent more time in some places, and will definitely visit again, i never felt too rushed and saw most of the things on my list before i went. If you want to see a lot of America in a small amount of time this trip is definitely the one for you!
Ellie-Rose Cousins
Coast to Coast South from New York

Eye Opening, Crazy Adventure

Reviewed February 2017
It was the best trip I have ever taken and I'm glad I did this one first. It was a good balance between cities and national parks. We paired up with the Trailblazer group for our trip as they were running along side each other and that was nice as it meant we had a bigger group for the 33 days and it was nice having more people to get to know and have a chat with at the campsites. Some places we didn't have enough time to really see but the ones we did were great and camping made the whole experience better as the group bonded quickly and it allowed us more time to really get a feel for the places we visisited. I was skeptical at first about camping but honestly I wouldn't have had it any other way as some of the sites were amazing and made our down time fun playing games and cooking together it really felt like a group rather than just travellers.
emilyashcroft1_13261
Canyon Adventure

Amazing hikes with incredible views

Reviewed January 2017
The best US trip I've ever been on! Experienced lots of different and incredible views in so many national parks. A night sleeping out in monument valley, with traditional Navajo food after our tour around in the 4x4 . Canyon lands was also a huge highlight of the trip. Exhausting hikes but definitely worth it. Zion was also amazing, especially the hike through the river. Anyone who enjoys hikes with amazing views to take hundreds of photos along the way.
Marie-Luise
Trailblazer from New York

Fantastic, new cultures and a lifetime experience

Reviewed January 2017
Trek America trailblazer is one of the best ways to see America and all the amazing NP. You get very close with other people, who in the start is strangers, but after a few days will they be your best friends. Sleeping in a tent with the same person for 2 months will teach you something about yourself and make you a better person. The food making in the camps make you realise how different food cultures is. You will see amazing cities and beautiful national parks and meet unique persons. Your tourguide is therefore you to give you the best trip and use them for where to go in cities and so. Take all the opportunities you can to make your trip better, so go on all the extra tours you can and there is a lot of free things to do also. DO IT. It will be good for you!
Emma McLuskey
Atlantic BLT from New York

Amazing!

Reviewed January 2017
Went on this tour in October 2016. I was nervous as I had never travelled alone, but that quickly disappeared as our tour group Leader Glen was amazing and everyone got on really from the moment we all met. There is a lot of opportunities to drink on this tour but if you want to there is no pressure to do so. Day 1: You don't see New York so if you want to see New York, I'd fly out a few days before the tour starts. We left the hotel and set off for Philly. our tour guide was from Philly so he knew a lot about the city. we seen Benjamin franklin's grave, the original presidents house, liberty bell independence hall and of course the rocky steps. We went to reading market terminal for lunch which was totally amazing. Have a walk around everywhere before you decide where to eat. After Philly it was time to head to Washington D.C. we got settled into out hostel and then headed out for dinner. After dinner we then did a night tour of D.C which was amazing to see everything. Day 2: We had our free day in Washington. Everyone went off either by themselves or in groups. Me and another girl went back around all the main icons in Washington D.C and then went to the national holocaust museum. At night our tour leader told us he was going to a local restaurant that was amazing and invited us to join him - because it's your free day you don't have to go with the group. We went to Ben's chilli bowl which amazing. The chilli dog and cheese fries where amazing! Day 3: We left Washington, making a quick pit stop at the Martin Luther King Jr memorial and a quick visit to the national space and air museum. We were held up with traffic so we only had about 30 mins to walk in the Apalachian Mountains. Today is really a drive day. we stopped at Walmart to get some snacks and drinks before heading to dinner and then to our motel where we went and played drinking games and had such a laugh in someones room. Day 4-5: on our way to Nashville, we stopped in Knockville - this is not part of the tour, every tour does it differently. We seen a concert in Knockville which was free and we were on the radio. Then we had lunch in Knockville before heading to Nashville. Once in Nashville we headed our hostel. This hostel was amazing. It has a kitchen a snooker table, Foose ball table and a fridge full of beer, juice and water for people there. We didn't line our first night as the saloon was booked out for a private party. Our tour leader made us dinner at the hostel, got changed and headed out. Nashville is so cool. I'm not a big drinker but I still had a great night. The next day was our free day. Again everyone either went their own ways or stay in groups. Me, another girl and another couple had breakfast at another broken egg cafe - amazing pancakes there - and then went to the Johnny cash museum which was amazing. We then went round the shops for souvenirs. We then went back to the hostel, got changed and went line saying with the whole group. Line dancing was so much fun and if your at the wild horse saloon have a cornonita - a margarita and a corona. After line dancing we went to the bridge to watch the sunset and then headed out for dinner. Nobody really felt like going out that night, so went back to the hostel and had a pool competition and bought beer at the hostel. Day 6-7: We left Nashville and headed straight for Memphis. We arrived in Memphis and went straight to Sun Studios. This place was amazing and has a lot of history. After sun studios we headed to a supermarket that also sold hold and cold foot. We grabbed food and headed for Graceland. We had lunch just outside in the picnic area and then headed in. i'm a huge Elvis fan so this was amazing. After Graceland it was time to head to the hotel and head out for dinner. Glen took us to Memphis bbq just beside the national civil rights museum. it was quite far away from the hotel but glen drove us and it was worth it. After dinner no one really felt like going out so went back our hotel and went to someones room to watch the presidential debate. The next day our tour leader drove us all over to the national civil rights museum - it's about a 20 min walk from the hotel. The place was amazing and really opened your eyes. After that we all walked back to our hotel and found that a park nearby was lined with dozens of food trucks. We all picked something different and it was amazing. While we were there, a man was handing out free samples for a cupcake store across the street. We took one just to try and oh my god it was the best cupcake ever. So after a lunch of bbq chicken nachos, we all head to the cupcake store. The owner was lovely and asked was all where we from and had a laugh with us. I had a vanilla cupcake with peanut butter frosting and m&m's. It was the best thing ever. We then headed to the Memphis pyramid. I've never seen anything like this. It's an outdoor sports gear shop but in the shape of pyramid with a hotel, restaurant and alligators in it. It was cool to see.After that some of us were pretty tired and headed back to the hotel before dinner, while the rest went to see the peabody ducks or the rock and soul museum. We all met up in the lobby with Glen and went for dinner. we went to a place not far from the hotel and had featured on Man vs food. The food was again amazing. Day 8-9: We left Nashville and headed for New Orleans. Today is a very long drive day so have a book or good playlist ready. When we arrived New Orleans was so much more prettier than what I expected. Once we got to the hotel, we got changed and headed out. We a specific route as we were going a Ghost tour the next day and we had to see where to meet. We then headed onto bourbon street. I did like bourbon street. All you could smell was Marijuana and people were falling about all over the place. Glen showed us the french quarter and then headed for dinner at Oceana grill which was really good. Shrimp Alfredo was amazing. Glen then also took us to cafe du monte for Beignets. If you don't try these, you are missing out! After this a few of us jumped in a taxi home and the rest stayed out. The next morning, Glen was a going to a sugar plantation and invited us with him. A few of us went with him and i'm glad I did. The house was beautiful but to see the slave quarters was an eye opener. Glen then dropped us at the hotel, then me and other girl went to the voodoo museum and did some shopping before heading back to the hotel to chill before we meet for our ghost tour. The ghost tour was amazing. Nothing jumps out at your or visiting graves. Its all about why people believe the buildings are haunted and some of the stories for really interesting. After our tour, we wait for an hour to get into a restaurant called coops. Am hour seems like a long time but Glen promised us it would be worth it. He was right! The jambalaya was amazing. No one really wanted to go out drinking so we went to cafe du monte for more Beignets and then headed back to the hotel. Day 10: We left New Orleans, stopping at a supermarket to get drinks and snacks for the beach, then heading off to destiny beach. We stopped on the way at Mobile to see the USS Arizona and take a walk on one of the piers. Again not in the tour and guide stops at different places. We got to the beach around 3pm, which gave us enough time to chill and not be to hot. Some stayed on the beach longer and the rest of us went for a game of mini golf nearby. I won! We then headed to our hotel and decided to order in pizza and have it in the hotel area as they have tables, chairs, vending machines and coffee machine. Day 11- 12: We head for Orlando. Today is another really long drive day. We arrived at our hotel around 4pm and this hotel is a resort. Has a pool, pizza hut, buffet and arcade. Half the group stayed at the hotel to relax and the rest of us went with our tour leader for dinner in downtown Disney and did some shopping. The next day was never mixed. Some people went to water parks, some went to different Disney parks and the rest of us went to universal and islands of adventure. i'd been to Universal and the other theme park before and loved it again this time around. Like a big kid! We left the park at 7 and went to margarita ville in city walk which was amazing. Glen picked us up and we all met to have a final drink at the hotel. Day 13: We left Orlando and headed for Miami. We stopped at a little cuban cafe for lunch which was amazing. Glen didn't just drop us at the hotel. He took us on a tour of little havana and the best ice cream shop in Havana. W then went to our hotel and arrived about 4pm. We said goodbye to Glen as he had to go to another city for another tour. The rest of us just chilled and then met up in a restaurant to have a final meal together. Was emotional saying goodbye. Best two weeks of my life!!!
Katie
Deep South BLT

BEST 8 DAYS EVER

Reviewed January 2017
This was my first trip to the USA, and I went with my sister who has done 2 previously and has always raved about it. 3 months later, and I'm still not over it! It's true that your most memorable moments will be the unexpected (usually silly ones). ...Like playing crazy golf in Gatlinburg for a good 3 hours, long after the complex had closed and the lights went off; being chased by zombies and clowns in Birmingham (google Sloss Fright Furnance!); ignoring all the famous Blues bars on Beale street and instead doing the macarena in a crazy 70's disco club... Meeting up with a bunch of strangers can be nerve-wracking, but after a day or so we had already made a tonne of memories, inside jokes and had the odd existential crisis (I'm looking at you, Gary!). Our trek leader, Glen was brilliant. He had a great sense of humour and put up with our weirdness pretty well. The only fault I can find with this trip is that it simply wasn't long enough. I spent one day before the trek started exploring New Orleans, but 9 days wasn't enough. I definitely recommend booking extra time either end - NOLA is the perfect starting point for the trek, there is so much to see and do. I recommend taking a Voodoo tour and partying in the Cats Meow Karaoke bar (try the hurricane). This trip was absolutely incredible, I made brilliant friends and we have spoken nearly every day since we parted ways. I miss you guys!
GEORGIABH.
Southern Sun from New York

Wouldn't change if for the world!

Reviewed January 2017
This trip was such an amazing experience and i would recommend for anyone and everyone to experience it, even if you are travelling by yourself! The trip itinerary is amazing and you get to really experience so many states and different activities (white water rafting, monument valley, line dancing, hiking the grand canyon, swamp tours, philly cheese steaks, venice beach, lake powell etc). However, it could be tough at times with some looooong drives. Although, in order to see so many amazing sights it is neccessary and well worth it. All the van games we played helped us get through the long drives and brought the group closer! This really was one of those 'life changing' experiences for me and my boyfriend. We made so many awesome memories and experienced so many amazing things that it is something we will remember forever! Not to mention, the life long friendships we forged on this trip with some amazing people! Definately do this trip and make sure you camp! It makes the experience so much more special and unique!
ANNA D.
Southern BLT from Los Angeles

Best trip of my life!

Reviewed December 2016
This was the first trip I have ever done with Trek America and my first ever solo adventure. It was honestly the best 4 weeks ever. I saw so many amazing sights, did some amazing things and met the most amazing people! Its been 5 months since I've come home and I still don't stop talking about it.