Reviews

All Trips

Showing 1-10 of 1082 Reviews
Northern Trail from Los Angeles

Incredible Adventure I'll never forget

Reviewed May 2017

It has been a few weeks since I arrived home from my 3rd Trek and I have to say it was my favorite. Don our leader was just incredible nothing was too much effort and he went out of his way to make it enjoyable. I managed to tick a number of things off my bucket list which I didn't think i'd be able to do. The first; being surrounded by snow in America and secondly staying in log cabins. We were given the option of upgrading on a number of the nights and we jumped at the chance as it was freezing. The places you visit on this Trek are just breathtaking. The first highlight (2nd day in) was the sunset cruise in San Francisco that will stay with me for a while just breathtaking. Even though it was hard hiking to Upper Yosemite Falls is a must the views make it worth it.. you feel on top of the world. I will also never forget hiking in the snow in Grand Teton National Park there are too many to mention I will be here all day! That is what I love about Trek... you do things you would never dream of doing. Like I said this is my third trek and the things I have learnt about myself and the confidence I have got from going with Trek America is incredible I have to thank them. If you are not sure whether to book a trek please just book it... you will not regret it. After finishing this review I am about to start researching my 4th!

Sim Sui
Mountain Trail

Great nature

Reviewed May 2017

This trip is less focused on cities and I saw amazing nature and wildlife (the latter in Yellowstone). My personal highlights were Yellowstone NP, Arches National Park and the Grand Canyon. I really enjoyed the walks we went for in the different places.

Sim Sui
Westerner 2

Great time on the west side

Reviewed May 2017

This was the first time I visited the west coast of the US. The trip offers and amazing mix of country side and cities and you will see many highlights of this part of the country. My favorites were Yosemite National Park, the Grand Canyon and San Diego.

Sim Sui
Best of the East

Great East coast experience

Reviewed May 2017

This was very first trip with TrekAmerica and the first time I visited the US. The trip had a great mix of nature and cities and I can warmly recommend it to everybody. My personal highlights were Chicago and water rafting. Shenandoah and the Great Smoky Monuntains were beautiful.

Jazzie Roy
Costa Rica BLT

Most amazing experience of my life!

Reviewed May 2017

The perfect blend of adrenaline, hiking, wildlife and relaxation. It was as if someone reached into my head and designed the perfect trip for me. The group size was perfect and our Tour Guide and Driver were amazing, they had so much knowledge to share about everywhere we travelled. The best part was that I didn't once feel like a tourist, we may have been shown a slightly glamorised version of Costa Rica but it was still the real deal. I would recommend this trip to anyone who's even slightly thinking about going. I promise it's so worth it.

Robyn Lyons
Atlantic Dream

Unforgettable experience

Reviewed April 2017

I did the Atlantic dream August 2016 and had an amazing time.
It was my first time traveling alone and couldn't have felt more safe. I met one of the girls for the trek in the pre hotel and instantly felt comfortable.
When the trek started everyone was so kind and our tour guid was supper helpful

Lucy Morley
Hawaii Big Island

A great opportunity to visit Hawaii as a lone traveller

Reviewed April 2017

I have just arrived back (and have gotten over my jet lag enough to write this) from the Hawaii Big Island tour. This was my 2nd Trek America tour (the first being the Southern Sun from LA back in 2011). I booked this tour because I really needed a holiday and wanted to venture to somewhere I had not been before. I was also limited with the time I was able to get off work and so this tour fitted in nicely along with a couple of days either side to relax. If this is your first Trek America, note that tours can be busy with lots of travelling and activities, if you want to relax don't do it (or have extra time before/after the trip to do this)!

We started the tour in Kona where I met the rest of the group - only 5 of us and our tour leader (but there could be up to 13 people per group) - we were given a run down of what the 8 days would include along with what to expect. We were told at this point that our itinerary would be slightly different to that on the website due to a couple of the campsites being closed for refurbishment, this meant staying in new campsites for Trek America and we were told to keep our minds open in regards to what they would be like (I think we all feared the worst) but in the end they were not as bad as we had feared - in fact we all recommended them, so maybe you'll be staying there when you go! And so we began our trip anti-clockwise around the island. I don't want to give too much away but here are my positive and negatives of the trip:

Trip Positives:
- Very little driving - maximum 3/4hrs per day and this was usually separated by stops at various sites.
- Lots of different sights to be seen - Hawaii is a very diverse island. You'll be travelling through grasslands, rainforest and lava - its pretty impressive how much the climate changes in a couple of miles!
- Lots of included activities - we were able to go snorkeling, go on a 4x4 ride, do some hiking and sunbathing.
- Opportunity to do a helicopter flight over the volcano - only myself and another member did this but it was worth every penny (or should I say cent!) - definitely a top highlight of the trip for me.
- You need to keep your eyes on the ocean whenever you can - lots of turtles and dolphins to be seen
- A great mix of camping and hotels - note that the hotels are not hotels they include cabins in the Volcanoes National Park (it felt like you were in a hotel room) and a Hostel in Hilo.

Trip Negatives:
- We were not offered as many optional extra activities as I would have liked
- Campsites were very basic - cold showers (often which were outside) or none at all (it was not as bad as it sounds - everyone is in the same boat and it really makes you appreciate the shower when you next have one!)
- Too much free time towards the end of the trip with little to do around the campsites - the campsites were generally very secluded and so did not have much to do on our free days (note that the campsites we stayed in were different to those intended) - with this being the case we managed to find things to do and there was rarely a dull moment.

Laura
Southern Sun from New York

Best time ever! What an adventure!

Reviewed April 2017

I loved the Southern Sun tour! It was one of the most popular treks for a reason! There is so much to do and see and somehow we managed to fit it all in in 3 weeks! Every place is amazing and everywhere and everything exceeded my expectations. I especially loved Monument Valley, the Grand Canyon, Texas, Vegas and basically everywhere else too. I made some really amazing friends (who I am still in touch with now) and have so many fun and happy memories from this trip. I actually extended my trip as I did not want to go home, plus I have just booked another trek for this summer!
My trek leader Peter O'Donnell was brilliant and definitely made sure we all had an amazing experience, going out of his way for all of us!
Definitely recommend this trip to all!

CARLY M.
Westerner 3

Amazing experience

Reviewed March 2017

Great trek with great group of people. Amazing trip for national parks.

DARYL M.
Western Wonder from Los Angeles

Amazing tour with amazing people!

Reviewed March 2017

Got to see some amazing places, our tour guide was the best, made some great friends and memories! Honestly we all loved this tour!

-Got to Fly over the Grand Canyon.
-Went Skinny Dipping
-Experienced Vegas (Unlimited: buffets, nightlife and excitement)
-Fired a SMG and Sniper Rifle
-Trekked in Yosemite
-Visited Route 66
-Crossed the Golden Gate Bridge

San Fransisco is one of my favourite cities I've visited, would recommend.