Reviews

All Trips

Showing 1-10 of 1062 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Sun, cities, campfires, a canyon, mountains and Mike Tyson

Reviewed October 2016
First time on west coast, even though it was my fifth trek. Can see why our tour leader labelled it “west coast best cost”. Difficult to choose just one highlight, yet again. LA and Hollywood even though it was quite dingy, it was difficult to get round without uber (Three trains to Hollywood) from our starting hotel. Hotel itself was great. Walking Griffin Park to the observatory to see the sign was great. Lake Havasu camping under the stars with an amazing view, Grand Canyon watching the sunset while eating pizza, hiking there was pretty epic to. Las Vegas was an interesting place; party bus was almost as much fun as wondering the strip and casinos and bumping into Mike Tyson. The Golden Nugget Hotel was nice and had a slide though a shark/fish take. Easily impressed. Great hikes and views in Yosemite fresh air, wildlife, and is completely different to any other places on trek and is the best way to come down / recover from Vegas. San Francisco was amazing wondering the pier, strolling across the golden gate bridge, visiting Alcatraz becoming a junior ranger. Playing old school arcade games in the museum. The cable cars and trams are defiantly worth riding for the tourist factor. Area around the hotel was a let down and could have done with a little more time to explore the city. Our tour leader Lizzy was awesome even with the sassiness and puns. Oh so many. Constantly went that extra mile to make sure we got the most out of the trip and saw everything we wanted to. Trek accommodation both camping and hotels was a great balance. All were clean and nice. Can’t recommend this trek enough. Book it. Will not disappoint.
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

Totally amazing didn't want it to end.

Reviewed October 2016
well the west coast didn't disappoint, we started in LA and although the weather was against us for most of the first week we made the most if it. The group was made up of 11 of us. 7 guys and 4 girls and then our tour leader rob. We had amazing hikes in the national parks. Getting to go to Alcatraz was great too. As a group we all worked well together and we had such a laugh. It was an experience I will never forget and I have defiantly made friends for life. This trek was great for smaller driving days and spending two days in most of the parks which was defiantly beneficial to, as we could see lots of things. It was colder than expected especially at night so having a thick sleeping bag was great though we did have Walmart stops to buy more blankets. My most memorable night was when a storm hit in lake Powell and we had to abandon our tents for the night and sleep in the bunkhouse, it was such a fun and unexpected turn. We had all eaten our steak dinners and were full, then only to go running around in the dark, wind and rain to save our things and tents. The group were all quite into taking pictures which worked well as now we can remember it forever!!
Past Trekkers Review
Coast to Coast Express

AMAZING! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!

Reviewed September 2016
So for me this was my 'trial' travel. I've done short city breaks in the past, but recently i have been thinking more and more about just going travelling. I booked this tour in particularly as i thought it was an ideal time, and it encompassed the main sites i wanted to see. I wanted to see how i faired living out of a rucksack, being on the go, budgeting my money, and being with strangers as i am quite shy. I spent a few days in NY beforehand and then the trek started. Do i still want to go travelling? ABSOLUTELY!!! This trek was amazing from beginning to end. It is a complete whirlwind, you never stop, and it is absolutely exhausting, but it is so worth it! Besides, you get to sleep on the bus!! The tour is made up of two separate trips, the freedom trail and the western wonder. Which for us meant that some people left the tour after the east coast, and more joined us on the west. We also changed tour leaders on each side. However this wasn't an issue as many of us continued for the whole trip. I certainly made some friends i hope to travel with again!!! The dynamic of these tours is fab, you travel, eat, sleep, party, and everything else, together! If you are thinking about travelling, but aren't sure where or which tour to do, i cannot recommend this trip, or any trek america trip enough. It has given me the travel bug and i cannot wait to start making my travel plans!!!
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 3

So much to see in just 3 weeks!

Reviewed September 2016
This trip truly is the best way to see a good mix of National Parks and cities in western USA. I was slightly worried as I had never been camping before, but it was absolutely fine. You get used to setting up camp, cooking together and how everything is packed away really quickly. I went in August/September, bought a sleeping bag from Walmart for $15 and I was never really cold apart from maybe one night. You might want two use sleeping mats however or bring your own! One of the best nights was the campsite in Monument Valley, where we had the most incredible view, not to mention the clearest starry sky and best sunrise I've ever seen! I would never have been able to visit all the National Parks on my own as easily as I did with Trek America, as everything is just sorted for you. That was one of the best things, as we would arrive somewhere and then our tour leader would explain what the best things to do were, answered any questions and then we were free to explore. Everything was hassle free and was such an easy way to travel. Expect a lot of driving, but it's the only way to cover so many places and we often just fell asleep in the van! I'm not a very active person and found the hiking challenging but definitely achievable - climbing to the top of Angel's Landing in Zion was such a personal achievement. You can go at your own place and just admire your amazing surroundings. San Francisco and Las Vegas were the best cities and Yosemite's scenery just blew my mind. Also the night spent at the cowboy camp where I did horse riding the next day was a lot of fun too. My tour leader was just the best at helping us bond as a group and giving us a load of insider information and took care of so much for us. If you want to see both iconic cities and explore National Parks, then book this trip, it will be the best decision you've ever made - you'll see and do much in such a short amount of time.
Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Totally amazing.

Reviewed September 2016
This was my first Trek America, it won't be the last. The blue Lakes, bear sighting and the mountains were amazing. Everything was well organised. The tour leader was fantastic she made it even more of a great experience. The group were amazing everyone got on. I did not want the trip to end.
Past Trekkers Review
Coast to Coast South from New York

Without a doubt the most amazing thing I've ever done!!

Reviewed September 2016
I had researched and was obsessed with Trek America for about two years prior to actually doing anything about it. I think I've watched every YouTube video and read every blog there is. Like most reviews on here they all say 'just do it'. Honestly, it was the best advice. January this year I just did it and booked my first trek, Coast to Coast South. Straight away I was filled with excitement and nerves. Before I knew it, June was upon us and off I went. Honestly, one of my biggest worries was that I'm overweight. Was I gonna fit in with everybody? Was I gonna be judged? Would I be able to join in on all the hikes involved? Hands on heart my weight wasn't an issue. I fitted right in. I wasn't judged. I did every hike, although slower than others haha. I had never camped before this trek, but it was all just amazing. Seriously, get out of your comfort zone and go live life!! Response from TrekAmerica: Thank you for the great feedback in regards to the tour. It’s great that after all the research, planning and worry you found this trip to be the most amazing thing you have ever done. We will liaise with you personally about your insurance issues. Generally, the specialist provider we use is very good I can only think that the claims handler (separate organization) has let you down. We will be in touch.
Past Trekkers Review
New York to Niagara Falls Mini

great way to see Niagara falls through New York state

Reviewed September 2016
Starting at Hilton Newark Hotel in New Jersey, it took about 6 hours to drive (with stops) to Niagara Falls, NY. You drive over the Niagara River twice to get to the city of Niagara Falls and to the Sheraton Hotel which is located right on the river, which poses for a great view if you're staying that side of the hotel or when having breakfast in the restaurant of the hotel. In the evening we were given the opportunity to explore the American side of the falls or to cross rainbow bridge across the border to Canada. We chose to check out the falls from the Canadian side and eat at the Hard Rock cafe in Canada. Take your passport to cross the border and make sure you have 50 cents to return to America! We returned back to America to check out the falls at night and watch the firework display that happens 3 times a week in August. The next morning we went on the Maid of the Mist boat tour that takes you right up to the falls. Expect to get wet, rain ponchos are provided! Luckily it wasn't too windy on the day so we didn't get that wet! We had a chance to explore Niagara Falls before we head off to Waterloo/Geneva NY. We arrived in the town of Geneva and we given the opportunity to go to a winery or check out Geneva, it was a really hot sunny day so we chilled by Seneca Lake. We stayed at the Holiday Inn at Waterloo, NY. Later in the evening we were given the opportunity to visit the historic small town of Seneca Falls (this town was the basis for the town of Bedford Falls in the film 'It's a wonderful life!') It was also the birthplace for women's rights! So a small quaint town historic town, worth a visit if you're interested! The following day we visited Woodbury Outlet Mall just outside of New York City. Be prepared for a a huge shopping mall! So grab a map and decide what shops you want to visit! Before returning to the Hilton Newark hotel for the end of the trek, we visited Liberty State Park, NJ and took in the sites of New York City. If you take a walk around you can see the statue of Liberty! Overall, the trek packs a lot in, in a short space of time! Definitely worth doing if you are keen to see Niagara Falls. Our tour guide Josh was enthusiastic and keen to tell us a lot of facts about the different places we visited!
Past Trekkers Review
New York to Niagara Falls Mini

great way to see Niagara falls through New York state

Reviewed September 2016
Starting at Hilton Newark Hotel in New Jersey, it took about 6 hours to drive (with stops) to Niagara Falls, NY. You drive over the Niagara River twice to get to the city of Niagara Falls and to the Sheraton Hotel which is located right on the river, which poses for a great view if you're staying that side of the hotel or when having breakfast in the restaurant of the hotel. In the evening we were given the opportunity to explore the American side of the falls or to cross rainbow bridge across the border to Canada. We chose to check out the falls from the Canadian side and eat at the Hard Rock cafe in Canada. Take your passport to cross the border and make sure you have 50 cents to return to America! We returned back to America to check out the falls at night and watch the firework display that happens 3 times a week in August. The next morning we went on the Maid of the Mist boat tour that takes you right up to the falls. Expect to get wet, rain ponchos are provided! Luckily it wasn't too windy on the day so we didn't get that wet! We had a chance to explore Niagara Falls before we head off to Waterloo/Geneva NY. We arrived in the town of Geneva and we given the opportunity to go to a winery or check out Geneva, it was a really hot sunny day so we chilled by Seneca Lake. We stayed at the Holiday Inn at Waterloo, NY. Later in the evening we were given the opportunity to visit the historic small town of Seneca Falls (this town was the basis for the town of Bedford Falls in the film 'It's a wonderful life!') It was also the birthplace for women's rights! So a small quaint town historic town, worth a visit if you're interested! The following day we visited Woodbury Outlet Mall just outside of New York City. Be prepared for a a huge shopping mall! So grab a map and decide what shops you want to visit! Before returning to the Hilton Newark hotel for the end of the trek, we visited Liberty State Park, NJ and took in the sites of New York City. If you take a walk around you can see the statue of Liberty! Overall, the trek packs a lot in, in a short space of time! Definitely worth doing if you are keen to see Niagara Falls. Our tour guide Josh was enthusiastic and keen to tell us a lot of facts about the different places we visited!
Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Hit and miss

Reviewed September 2016
I'd already been out travelling alone for a couple of weeks before I joined the trek. The majority of the people in my group had come with friends so it was just awkward and there was a language barrier between myself and the few other people who had travelled alone. The first day was supposed to be a tour of San Francisco but it was actually a drive over the Golden Gate Bridge to get to the campsite. If you hadn't spent any time in the city before the tour I think you'd be really disappointed with this and that maybe the trek shouldn't be advertised as having a day in San Francisco because it's just not true. We also stopped somewhere in Yosemite to walk to where the are sequoias which was nice. The camp site was fine, we were lucky and got a new set of camping equipment. Day 2 was spent in Yosemite which was beautiful but really awkward trying to get involved in groups of long time friends. Day 3 was the drive to Las Vegas. Obviously no one had slept well in the tents but one member of the group decided that no one was allowed to sleep on the bus and was completely unreasonable about turning the music down. The van then ran out of petrol in the middle of death valley even though we had had a rest stop at a gas station maybe 45 minutes before. Just generally a crap day. The hotel you get to stay in in Vegas is really nice and not a hostel as I was expecting. There was a party bus that night with another trek group. Day 4 was a free day in Vegas which I hired a car for and was great. I decided to leave the trek take the car for the rest of my time away. Overall I think group travel is too hit and miss to be worth the money. I think you'd have a really good time if you weren't booked into a group which was mainly people who had come together or if you came with your own friends. It was really awkward being the hanger on to groups of friends who had known each other for years but this wouldn't happen if there was actually as many people travelling alone as they make out. The places you get to see are absolutely amazing but as you don't know what kind of group you're going to get it just isn't worth the money. You can hire a car and get a satnav and hostels for much less and not have to awkwardly linger around people you have no reason to include you.
Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from Los Angeles

amazing experience!

Reviewed September 2016
I`ve never experienced more than in those three weeks. From unique landscapes to big cities, we could see everything. Sometimes we had long days of travel, sitting in the van for a long time, but I can`t complain on that, because I knew in advance what I am going to see. I really enjoyed being to all the great nationalparks as well as going out in the big cities ( Nashville, New Orleans...Jazz it up!!!) . One of my most favorite things was the Amarillo STEAK-CHALLENGE, where our fabulous tour guide, Chadwick Kieser, managed to eat a 72oz steak!!! in less than an hour. My tops are the tour through Monument Valley and the white water raft- I would totally recommend doing the Southern Sun and I am sure that I`ll come back for another tour once....I am not done with exploring the US yet.