Reviews

Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

(10)
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5
Showing 1-10 of 10 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

Amazing experience, unfortunately ruined by Tour leader

Reviewed August 2015

Canada is by far the most beautiful country I have been to. Pictures don't even come close to the most amazing scenery you will see on this trip. Breath taking views in every place! This is no restful trip, you are doing something everyday, make sure you bring enough money! Everything is extra and i definitely didn't budget enough. Once in a lifetime trip. Vancouver is a great site with lots of things to see and do, if you like hiking, Stanley park is a fantastic, beautiful and full of wildlife. The kayaking in Tofino is amazing, surrounded by mountains and crystal blue lakes. The Gondola in Whistler is a MUST, make sure you get the chair lift down (glacier express/ solar coaster express) for your best chance of seeing bears! The hot springs were ok, but it was more like a hot swimming pool, although you can not fault the scenery around you!
This trip would have been excellent if our tour leader was more experienced. The lack of knowledge and support meant we did not receive the best for money on a number of occasions. Make sure you bring extra money for food as we were not told that we would be eating out quite a few nights. Its the luck of the draw who you get, we were just unfortunate.

Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

Surfing, hiking, Vancouver for world cup. Glacier walk. Canada Day Parade

Reviewed July 2015

This was my third trek and one of the best. Great trek for people who like to camp and go hiking or love being outdoors. One may even get to see a brown bear wondering down the highway. Great places to hike in whistler, banff and jasper, whether you’re a seasoned hiker or just hike occasionally. They offer amazing views.
So much variety and different things to see or do, like Surfing in Tafino (amazing)and great to sit on the beach there and see the Milky Way. The stampede was fantastic well worth seeing such a great time. Views were fantastic such amazing sights like Petro Lake, Lake Louise. Even able to reach a top of a mountain and just get lost in the stunning view. And a water fall that would rival Niagara Falls for impressiveness.
the tour leader Matt was great. He did his best to keep everyone happy, with several people wanting to do different activities. Even if it was not on the list of activities. (allowing a few of us to go off to a gun range) He also made sure that there was options for dinner for those with different dietary requirements.
There are few words to use that do this trip any justice. But I really recommend this trip to other people, and I would most defiantly do it again with a heart beat.

Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

Fantastic! - words really don't do sites justice!

Reviewed July 2015

This was my third trek and one of the best. Great trek for people who like to camp and go hiking or love being outdoors. One may even get to see a brown bear wondering down the highway. Great places to hike in whistler, banff and jasper, whether you’re a seasoned hiker or just hike occasionally. They offer amazing views.
So much variety and different things to see or do, like Surfing in Tafino (amazing)and great to sit on the beach there and see the Milky Way. The stampede was fantastic well worth seeing such a great time. Views were fantastic such amazing sights like Petro Lake, Lake Louise. Even able to reach a top of a mountain and just get lost in the stunning view. And a water fall that would rival Niagara Falls for impressiveness.
the tour leader Matt was great. He did his best to keep everyone happy, with several people wanting to do different activities. Even if it was not on the list of activities. (allowing a few of us to go off to a gun range) He also made sure that there was options for dinner for those with different dietary requirements.
There are few words to use that do this trip any justice. But I really recommend this trip to other people, and I would most defiantly do it again with a heart beat.

Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

Outstanding scenery, fresh air and good company :)

Reviewed January 2015

My trek in western Canada in 2014 was fantastic. Eleven strangers and one tour-leader meets up in Vancouver... After some awkward silence we greeted each other and went on the road - It's funny how close we became in just a week. We were doing stuff like white water rafting, hiking, spending allot of time in the van on the road together and cooking on the campsites almost every night.
This is a great option to get away from home by yourself and meet other like minded people. We where six different nationalities in the group with different background and travel experiences.
So you can learn allot about other cultures and about yourself.

I had a great trip, met some really nice people and it's definitely not the last time i visit Canada. We had some bad luck with the weather, but also some perfect sunny days.
Canadians are some of the most kind people you can meet. And brits are some of the most fun people to travel with ;)

Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

Absolutely incredible! Unforgettable experience of a lifetime!

Reviewed March 2014

Conveniently, two of my trek mates (Kathleen and Martina) have already left a review, so have summed most of it up.

That being said - this was THE best trip of my life. I've been to a fair few others places in the world but this was my first trek and it most definitely won't be the last!

Friends for life were formed here over an unforgettable 19 days of stunning scenery, awesome people, good food, good drink and overall words really don't do it justice!

The only downside being, it's going to be hard to find another trek to top this one!

Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

Not something to be missed - just book it!

Reviewed September 2013

I have no idea where to start this review on my trek in Canada. It was my 2nd tour with trek and it completely exceeded all of my expectations and more! I can not put into words how beautiful Canada is and how amazing the hikes are in the national park. As ever my group were awesome and we had a great time. Anybody thinking about booking this should just do it!

Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

3 weeks full of variety

Reviewed August 2013

Although some of our group could have done with more hiking tours, it was the perfect mixture for me. A couple of hikes - yes - but not too many and not too difficult ones (but you can always choose more strenuous hikes if you want to). There were so many other exciting activities on our schedule. Here are my favourite ones:

- Our first hike in Banff up Sulphur Mountain with a breathtaking view
- The rodeo at the Calgary Stampede (make sure to get tickets for the evening show, too!)
- The walk on Athabasca Glacier was a unique experience (bring some warm clothes :)
- The overnight canoe trip (be prepared to paddle a lot and find yourself at a very basic campsite - as close to nature as it can get, but this was my favourite camping night ;)
- The peak-to-peak gondola and ziplining in Whistler (a real challenge if you're afraid of heigths like me!)
- Granville Island in Vancouver (go there when hungry ...)
- The whale watching tour (besides whales we saw sea otters, black bears, a wolf, seals and eagles!), surfing lesson and sunset on Vancouver Island

As you can see, pretty much the complete itinerary is on my list of top places or activities. Our trek leader Codey made a great effort to make all the things happen our team wanted to do - no matter if it was an additional bear watching tour, deep sea fishing or relaxing at an indoor pool. With his stories, his experience and commitment he made this tour unique - thank you!

Most people in our group were on the same wavelength and made it easy to get along with each other. We had people from all over Europe and Australia with us. There were two groups going parallely because the Stampede tour is the most popular, obviously. To maintain the small group feel, we were departing separately and travelling as just one vehicle. Sometimes we met the others at the campgrounds or for going out.

It was a great experience that influenced my attitude towards life and made me see things from a different angle.

I would do it again instantly. ;)

Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

Awesome never to forget experience!

Reviewed August 2013

This was my 1st Trek and it sure won't be my last! I experienced an amazing 20 days in British Columbia and made many new international friends. Our Trek-leader Codey managed to align 13 strangers and moulded us into a group. The Canadian scenery is overwhelming, especially the Rockies: they just never seem to end! Sun and snow on the same day, it is possible :-)
We had a couple of long drives which are - let's be fair - not the most fun part of a trip but hey, you've got to get from point A to point B right? But when you get to a campground with nice showers and possibly a hot tub all of that is forgotten :-)
Camping material is good, although I'm not sure if the tents would survive multiple thunderstorms and/or showers.. Hence the dry bags :-)
Cooking material is good too, but extra large well drying tea towels for the dishes would come in handy - no use trying to dry your plates and stuff with soggy small towels.

All in all, there is so much to be told about this Trek but the most important message is: just do it! You're a single traveller and not sure if you should book this? No problem whatsoever, 99% of our group was a single traveller. You're all in the same boat with the same goal, so no need to worry.

Awesome scenery, great friends, good food and drinks, ...
Thanks Trek for an amazing vacation!

Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

amazing and wonderful experience!

Reviewed December 2012

I have had an amazing trip! Visited some amazing/ wonderful highlights, that I will never forget!
I really recommend this trip to other people!

Past Trekkers Review
Canadian Parks West from Vancouver

Only Fun in this one - All parks in 1 trip

Reviewed December 2012

Best Trek ever! This was my first Trek and still one the best! Still in touch with some people, friends forever ! It is an amazing trip. It has all the important national parks in it and some of the best scenic drives around, in the Canadian Rockies. Good trek for people who like to camp and do a good hike in the morning.